Charley Member Since 2012 Feb 1, 2012 #1 Our vet told us to only skip insulin if Bg is less than 100. Just poked and Charley's Bg is 129. Vet said go ahead and I'm thinking no way, he'll hypo. Thoughts? Bg was 350 at 5:30 this morning after one day of insulin. Help!
Our vet told us to only skip insulin if Bg is less than 100. Just poked and Charley's Bg is 129. Vet said go ahead and I'm thinking no way, he'll hypo. Thoughts? Bg was 350 at 5:30 this morning after one day of insulin. Help!
Sue and Oliver (GA) Member Since 2009 Feb 1, 2012 #2 I would not shoot a new diabetic under 200. Don't feed, test again in 20 minutes. If over 200, get some advice on a reduced dose.
I would not shoot a new diabetic under 200. Don't feed, test again in 20 minutes. If over 200, get some advice on a reduced dose.
Ann & Scatcats Member Since 2009 Feb 1, 2012 #3 And our vets at the hospital say don't shoot if under 180 ... I can't help you with Prozinc, but try to holla for others that can!
And our vets at the hospital say don't shoot if under 180 ... I can't help you with Prozinc, but try to holla for others that can!
Sue and Oliver (GA) Member Since 2009 Feb 1, 2012 #4 Advice is for ProZinc. No insulin under 200 until you have a spreadsheet with lots of numbers and can predict what might happen.
Advice is for ProZinc. No insulin under 200 until you have a spreadsheet with lots of numbers and can predict what might happen.