ProZinc Expiration dates Concerns

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I have a bottle of ProZinc I am using right now, and the prescription tells me to use by 08/20/24, however the bottle tells me lot number expiration date 06/25
The un-opened bottle on the Script says expiration date to use by 12/24, however the bottle says lot number expiration date 12/25
Which is the correct date to stop using this Insulin.:confused::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I have a bottle of ProZinc I am using right now, and the prescription tells me to use by 08/20/24, however the bottle tells me lot number expiration date 06/25
The un-opened bottle on the Script says expiration date to use by 12/24, however the bottle says lot number expiration date 12/25
Which is the correct date to stop using this Insulin.:confused::bighug::cat::cat:

The instructions say to use within 60 days of first use. The expiration date refers to an unopened vial. Once you puncture the vial, it is to be used within 60 days. We had a lot left after 60 days, but we got a new vial just to make sure of potency.
Hope that helps answer your question!
 
The instructions say to use within 60 days of first use. The expiration date refers to an unopened vial. Once you puncture the vial, it is to be used within 60 days. We had a lot left after 60 days, but we got a new vial just to make sure of potency.
Hope that helps answer your question!
WOW! then that means the bottle I am using is old, or does not have the same potency, no wonder when I just increased Corky's dose I did not get the response he should've had because once AMPS/PMPs on +4 he would've been in low mid greens , the bottle prescription label says to use by 8/24
 
WOW! then that means the bottle I am using is old, or does not have the same potency, no wonder when I just increased Corky's dose I did not get the response he should've had because once AMPS/PMPs on +4 he would've been in low mid greens , the bottle prescription label says to use by 8/24

Look at your vial. Mine says “Use within 60 days of first puncture”.
 
WOW! then that means the bottle I am using is old, or does not have the same potency, no wonder when I just increased Corky's dose I did not get the response he should've had because once AMPS/PMPs on +4 he would've been in low mid greens , the bottle prescription label says to use by 8/24
upload_2024-6-8_21-12-8.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-6-8_21-12-8.jpeg
    upload_2024-6-8_21-12-8.jpeg
    82.8 KB · Views: 750
As a comparison, the manufacturer states that Lantus/glargine should be used within 30 days of opening the container. Most of us have used our insulin far longer. I would typically get close to 90 days of use out of a pen with no change in potency. The reason for the cut off for use is that the manufacturers don't assess the insulin past whatever the "use by" instructions state.
 
I never used Prozinc.

From:
INSULIN CARE AND SYRINGE INFO Proper Handling and Drawing
How do you know when your insulin is no longer good?
  • When you lose regulation for no reason. Note that a new vial of PZ can seem to be a little more potent at first so be sure to test frequently for the first couple of cycles after starting a new vial.
  • If you see any hint of "floaties"/"tiny particles"... discard the insulin.
  • If insulin changes color or if rubber stopper is cracked... replace insulin immediately.
  • If the insulin has frozen, it's no longer good.
How long will my insulin last?
  • As long as properly cared for, a vial of PZ can potentially last up to six months. If regulation is lost before then or the insulin changes color or develops particles, a new vial should be started.
  • Unopened PZ is good until the expiration date stamped on the box if refrigerated and handled properly.
 
When is the next test?
@Juliet - could you please take a look at Corky's spreadsheet? It's a great cycle so far and hoping the next test has a similar number or slightly higher.
 
Since Corky was carbed up (he was likely going to go up on his own), you can go to bed now, Maria.
Don't be disappointed if you see yellow in the morning. Corky usually hits yellow after green.\
g'nite.
 
Since Corky was carbed up (he was likely going to go up on his own), you can go to bed now, Maria.
Don't be disappointed if you see yellow in the morning. Corky usually hits yellow after green.\
g'nite.

Good morning! you predicted well for this morning. Also, I woke up late this morning I did not even hear the alarm, so Corky's (AMPS) shot was at +1, so my guilt is on, but he hit a blue on +5 which is a good thing, hopefully we'll see more greens even if late tonight Hope your allergies are better ;):bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
So are you going to get a new vial of ProZinc? Was that your conclusion? Some people have ised theirs for six months with no problems while I have worked with others who have seen a modest improvement with replacing their ProZinc every two or three months. @Linda and Newman how often do you replace Newman’s ProZinc?
 
And Maria, those numbers last night in the 84/85 range were so perfect. Just what I like to see. Tell me you didn’t use high carb on him? Please? When you see an 84 followed by an 85 in the next hour that tells you he’s very stable and you have no worries.
 
And Maria, those numbers last night in the 84/85 range were so perfect. Just what I like to see. Tell me you didn’t use high carb on him? Please? When you see an 84 followed by an 85 in the next hour that tells you he’s very stable and you have no worries.
I was very happy to see those green as well I did give 1/2 tsp of Florentine Pate, I believe it's only 5%, he has not done too bad today either especially that his AMPS was @ 6:50AM I totally did not hear the alarm, I was frantic when I woke up, but he's ok I did his PMPS at the regular time 6:00 PM, I hope that was ok. I think we must just see a green after 10:00PM tonight, what is a good BG number on greens I can go to sleep feeling that Corky is safe?:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
what is a good BG number on greens I can go to sleep feeling that Corky is safe?
Well it looks like he was blue at 10 pm tonight But as for what a safe number is — it depends on if he’s rising or flat or going down and you have to take into consideration the hour and when his nadir is. But if he’s stable in upper greens like last night, I wouldn’t worry. You got two hourly tests that were flat so he was safe.
 
Well it looks like he was blue at 10 pm tonight But as for what a safe number is — it depends on if he’s rising or flat or going down and you have to take into consideration the hour and when his nadir is. But if he’s stable in upper greens like last night, I wouldn’t worry. You got two hourly tests that were flat so he was safe.

Good morning, after all this time being here I
didn't know or perhaps when I was terrified, did not hear, or listen that it was ok, it wasr great.- because I would see green that some nights I didn't sleep because of those BG's, I am sure you have noticed I don't panic
or start posting Help Emergency and all those,??POSTS!!, now I look forward to greens even though I do worry when I see green below 90 just before bedtime
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat::bighug::joyful:
 

Attachments

  • bighug.gif
    bighug.gif
    3.4 KB · Views: 126
The Continuing Saga of Corky the Cat… LOL

I am very cut and dry with forum titles …. Corky, Week of June 10. But then I was trained on the LLB forum where we make a new thread every day that we post and the format is date, cat name, BG numbers by the hour.
 
The Continuing Saga of Corky the Cat… LOL

I am very cut and dry with forum titles …. Corky, Week of June 10. But then I was trained on the LLB forum where we make a new thread every day that we post and the format is date, cat name, BG numbers by the hour.
The Continuing Saga of Corky the Cat… LOL

I am very cut and dry with forum titles …. Corky, Week of June 10. But then I was trained on the LLB forum where we make a new thread every day that we post and the format is date, cat name, BG numbers by the hour.
So… Corky Week of June 10 it is!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top