This may help you a bit. When you have those lower pre-shots. Both Krystie and Kerri. Written for a different insulin, but the concept is the same.
"Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?
Everyone focuses on the +6 spot check to find the cat’s nadir, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle. The +10s and +11s and +1s and +2s are often the “neglected spot checks,” but they can be almost as important as the nadir.
Why the +1s and +2s? Let’s say you have a lower than usual pre-shot. If you have collected the data to know what usually happens after you shoot and how long it usually takes for the insulin to start having an effect (onset), you may see that shooting low is actually very safe for your cat. If your cat typically rises through +1 and +2 before the insulin starts to work between +2 and +3, then you can feel comfortable knowing that your cat will actually be much higher before the insulin starts to work. If your cat typically has little to no food spike or an early onset, then you may need to be more conservative with low pre-shots.
You are not shooting the number your cat is at now – you are shooting the number your cat will be at when the insulin kicks in. You need to know what that number will be. You are then using the lag time (aka
overlap and
carryover) to your advantage. " "Know thy cat."
"Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual pre-shot. If your pre-shot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a pre-shot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot. "
There is more, but lets start with this. Let me know if you need clarification.
This is so helpful. I’m saving this to refer back.
I got my times confused, as I usually shoot by 7, and with my indecision I shot at 7:30., sooooo my +2 was actually a +1.5

I even set an alarm, but the alarm in my brain override it. I have another alarm set to wake me up for the +6 though. That one should at least be the correct time. Yeesh...