ProZinc Dosing Advice - Bouncing?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Bearcat86, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Bearcat86

Bearcat86 Member

Hello,

This is my first time posting, first off let me just say thank you for all of the support you provide!! I've been feeling so stressed and overwhelmed trying to figure out how to care for my furry boy and it's been a rough ride so far. Finding this forum has made me feel so much more informed and empowered, now I actually have hope that I might be able to get a handle on this complicated disease and get Bear's quality of life back to normal!

Bear was diagnosed in April, we started with the hands off "wait and see" approach recommended by my vet (now former vet...) and gave him 2U 2x a day. When we didn't see clinical improvements after a few weeks, we upped him to 3U based on vet recommendation. Bear is a pretty anxious kitty and he gets very stressed out anytime he has his routine disrupted - going to the vet usually requires a full day of recovery. For this reason, we didn't want to do a BG curve at the vet, but were discouraged from home testing because we were told it might ruin our relationship with our cat... :facepalm: Long story short, we found a different vet that recommended trying the FreeStyle Libre to get a better sense of his sugar cycles. Unfortunately we had to postpone placing the FS monitor until we returned from a 10 day trip abroad. While we were gone, Bear got so stressed that he made himself sick - bouts of diarrhea, puking up his food, lethargic, dehydrated - he went to the emergency vet for fluids but after running a full blood panel they didn't find anything else obviously wrong with him. So we came home to a sick cat with full blown neuropathy in his back paws and starting in his front paws - so traumatic for all of us. :(