(Prozinc)Any Cats getting 2.5u, 2x daily or more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Benny

Member
Hi,

I'm curious Does anyone dose/shoot there cat with more than 2.5.of prozinc or more 2x daily?
I might be headed in that direction with my cat and wanted to find out how common it is.

Would Lantus last longer thru the day?

Thanks,Chuck
 
Look for "Robbie's Mom" posts. Robbie was on 5u or higher at times. Yes some kitties have been as high in dose as Bennie, or higher. Bob went up to 4u x2 per day.

Kim gave Kitty three shots a day, and they were not tiny doses..

Her username is KSE.

Carl
 
Hey Carl, Thanks for responding to my post again.I'm getting a bit worried with Bennys high BG numbers at this point.
I have to figure out what to do real soon.

Thanks for all your Help. Chuck
 
Hi Chuck,

You've gotten ahead of yourself on your ss, today is the 14th. Happy Valentines day.

I don't think you need to go higher in dose. Just looking at the last few days he is getting a good response. The day before yesterday were bounce numbers, you can't really do much about that and the bounce will clear on it's own in a few cycles. Yesterday morning AMPS was 458, 1 unit, he dropped all day long to PMPS 300, 1.5 units.

My 2 cents, I would have stayed with the 1 unit last night on the 300 to see where he leveled off at. It could be that with the 1.5u he kept dropping and went lower than he liked again and is now in another bounce and you will have to wait it out.
 
Hi Chuck -

I'm Lu-Ann and my boy Grayson started out on ProZinc. We were one of the higher dosers when here, on as much as 6u TID back in April/May of last year. That was right before I learned that Grayson had Acromegaly and was insulin resistant. I had to wait a few weeks before he was able to make the insulin change (because of the Acro).

I looked over your spreadsheet. One thought I had, is that some kitties take as much as 5-7 days to respond to a dose change. Seems like you dropped back from 2u to 1.5 on 2/6 for 2 cycles. Then again from 2.5 to 1 to 1.5 in just a few cycles. You very well may need more insulin, but I'd be inclined to do a slow gradual climb, starting at 1 where Robin suggested. I know it's hard to do that when you're seeing so many reds, but going slow would be best, to ensure that you're not increasing dose based on bounces.

Grayson didn't really bounce much... he was usually flat as a pancake. We were lucky to see a 50 or 75 point range max (starting from reds and upper pinks) throughout the cycle. And his other conditions dictated much of what I tried, so this is definitely a "do as I say, not as I did" piece of advice. Grayson is one of those extra unique kitties that have this other condition, of which feline diabetes is a symptom.

Wishing you guys success in finding what works best for your little one. I'll pop in occasionally and check on you.

Lu-Ann

Kim's Kitty was on 3-3.5u TID. In her case, the insulin was completely gone out of her system after 8 hours. When they tried her on BID dosing, she skyrocketed, only to come right back down to "normal" when she did TID again.

Once you reach
 
HI Lu-Ann, others have given me similar advice but I'm a bit of a hardhead and became impatient.
I started Bennys dosing over yesterday Thurs.2/14/13. I started benny at 1.5 u. 2x a day.We shall see what happens this time(Poor Cat).
thanks for responding to my post.I wanted to chat with someone who has had experience with prozinc at higher doses.alot of the dosing articles mention doses at (.5-2.5 )so I was curious about cats on a higher dose.

Chuck
 
Good Morning ~O) . My name is Kat & my sweet sugar-boy is Gobbles. I don't know much about ProZinc, but Gobbles is on Lantus, which is given every 12 hours and is known for its ability to produce beautiful flat cycles. We follow the Tight Regulation Protocol and I'm very happy with it. His numbers are starting to come down and his bounces are slowly beginning to last less cycles. He was diagnosed 11/17/12 and has had a lot of red and black numbers and is quite the little bouncer--loves his trampoline!

I don't know the cost of ProZinc, but I get Gobbles' Lantus (pen-style) for just $25 and the pens can last for well over one month.

How's your sugar-boy feeling today? By looking at his SS, I can see that he's been pretty much feeling in the dumps. How old is he? When was his dx? Does he have any other health problems and/or on any meds? confused_cat
 
Hi Bowhuntress,

I was thinking about switching over to lantus if this prozinc doesn't work.I did notice a pattern when the prozinc is at its peak 5-7 hrs. later .It seems to me that the prozinc dosen't last long and Bennys numbers start to rise so by the time he is ready for his next dose 12 hrs later...his BG number is very high again.
I'm thinking the Lantus would probably resolve that(duration) problem.I will have to read more about the lantus though.I do like the Idea of dosing with the pen .
Benny was diagnosed Dec.2010/Jan 2011.I didn't know it at the time, but the vet I was taking Benny to were not giving him the proper care for his diabetes... so he has never been regulated.This is really the first time he has been consistantly tested and dosed.
Benny is about 7-10 yrs. old so they say, I found him in 2007. Benny has had kidney infections in the past, so he may have some damage from that... I'm not sure.

Thanks for responding to my post. Chuck
 
mmjr33 said:
Hi Bowhuntress,

I was thinking about switching over to lantus if this prozinc doesn't work.I did notice a pattern when the prozinc is at its peak 5-7 hrs. later .It seems to me that the prozinc dosen't last long and Bennys numbers start to rise so by the time he is ready for his next dose 12 hrs later...his BG number is very high again.
I'm thinking the Lantus would probably resolve that(duration) problem.I will have to read more about the lantus though.I do like the Idea of dosing with the pen .
Benny was diagnosed Dec.2010/Jan 2011.I didn't know at the time that the vets I was taking Benny to were not giving him the proper care for his diabetes so he has never been regulated.This is really the first time he has been consistantly tested and dosed.
Benny is about 7-10 yrs. old so they say, I found him in 2007. Benny has had kidney infections in the past, so he may have some damage from that... I'm not sure.

Thanks for responding to my post. Chuck
Sure; I'm trying to "give back" with the amount of education I've received here, and also to make some new friends! I thought I read somewhere that ProZinc is somewhat harsh. I was hesitant (and somewhat scared) to start Gobbles on the Lantus & Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol, as well as doing lots of testing. I have since gained an understanding of the TRP and the need for testing. Thanks to others here pushing me to do testing, I now have a "history" of Gobbles' patterns. And keeping notes has helped me immensely. If you haven't already read it, here is the Lantus & Levemir TRP: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581. Also: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm.

Just curious--how long has Benny been on ProZinc?

Have you considered a new vet? When was the last time Benny had complete bloodwork, including BUN & creatinine? Here's a copy & paste of some information I found for you re: kidney testing:

Ask your veterinarian to do a major renal panel if you think your cat has CRF symptoms. If your cat is age seven or older, have your veterinarian check for CRF during the cat's annual exams. A Complete Blood Count (CBC) examines red and white blood cells and a Blood Chemistry Test checks electrolytes, BUN, creatinine, cholesterol, glucose, liver enzymes, etc. Together, these two tests, along with a urinalysis, will provide enough information for the veterinarian to determine if your cat is in CRF.

Creatinine and BUN are the two most important elements of the blood test for cats with CRF. When these are elevated and the urine is dilute, there is a very real possibility that the cat is in CRF. When the creatinine and BUN are elevated, it is likely that approximately 70% of kidney function is already gone. Since low normal potassium levels, dental disease and high blood pressure are now suspected to be linked to the development of CRF, it is advisable to have these conditions checked, too.


I see that you're taking a proactive course in Benny's treatment--that's awesome and I'm sure, with your help and the guidance of experienced CG's here, Benny will get better :-D Kudos to you, Chuck! Please do push yourself to get some good testing; I would strongly advise to do a curve for at least one cycle. I know it feels like you're torturing your cat with all the testing, but it will be for his own good. Like I tell Gobbles, "this hurts me more than it hurts you".

If you take a look at Gobbles' SS, you'll see some similarities with Benny's numbers (though do not pay attention to Gobbles' numbers before 1/8/13 because I had found my meter was reading very low and on that date, switched to the Relion Prime--which reads very close to my vet's meter; the vet tests his meter vs. mine during Gobbles' visits).

Please keep me informed :mrgreen: And thank you for taking Benny's FD care into your own hands; you are doing him a world of good :RAHCAT
 
Dear Kat,

It's wonderful that Lantus is working for Gobbles. I like the idea that the "best insulin for your cat is the one that works for him" And that certainly can vary with each cat. It may be that Benny will do better on another insulin, but I am hoping, Chuck, that you will start posting on the PZI forum daily and let us work with your dosing and numbers before you quit with a vial that isn't empty. If you look at MimiLoki's recent thread about giving up, she is doing much better by the end of the thread. It takes regular testing and responding to the numbers to see how (and if) the insulin is working. And getting input on the data regularly really helps.

Kat, ProZinc is not a harsh insulin. It is very mild and flexible. There are harsh insulins (Canninsulin and Humulin) but ProZinc is one of the suggested mild, longer lasting insulin on the site.
 
Hello again, Thanks again Kat,Sue & Oliver.

I'm taking in everyones advice and want to do the right thing for my Cat.6 weeks ago BG testing on a regular basis didn't seem possible... so we are making progress.
Just becoming a little impatient with the BG numbers as you can see,but I will stick to the program and all the great advice.

Benny had bloodwork done about 3 weeks ago.I will have find the results and look them over again.The results were pretty good.The vet said he had checked for kidney issues... so I went along with his advice at that time.I will have to recheck the results.
The tight protcol testing is going to be tough to do because of my work schedule.The only reason I'm getting so many tests in now is because my schedule is very flexible this time of year.In a couple of weeks I will only be able to test Benny about 3 times a day.I live by myself right now and I dont know anyone else that would be able to test Him.

Finding a vet has been tough.We have been to 5 different regular vets so far in 2 yrs... not including the specialists.When Benny was not getting any better i stumbled across this site and relized that the vets didn't know how to treat These Sugar Cats.They are however very good at collecting their money.

Chuck
 
Looking at your spreadsheet, Chuck, I think I would increase the dose to 1.75 or 2.0 You have been at 1.5 a couple cycles and although the yellow midcycle numbers are a definite improvement, the preshots are high. This could be that the insulin is not lasting long enough, but I think it is just as likely that it is just not enough insulin. Slowly increasing like you are doing lets you know that it isn't that you have skipped over an "ideal" dose, but that he needs a little more insulin. Our usual suggestion is to keep a new dose for several cycles and if you aren't seeing enough improvement, increase by a small amount. (We do the .25 increases with U100 needles and a conversion chart since ProZinc is a U40 insulin) But you are seeing high enough numbers that a .5 increase seems fine to me.

Just for reference. A regulated cat is in the 200+s at preshot and below 100 at nadir (but not below 40) A cat is considered in remission when for 2 weeks they have ranged from 40 -120 (without insulin) with the majority of the time in double digits. So those ranges are what you are shooting for. You are getting close to a 50% drop from preshot to nadir so it's clear the insulin is working. His numbers are just a little high overall.

Have we sure shared the PZI document with you? It's large and has a lot of links so it is heavy reading, but does have lots of good info. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 It might also be helpful for you to read the Remission thread above. Reading and looking at those spreadsheets give you a good idea of how the insulin has worked for others.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Kat, ProZinc is not a harsh insulin. It is very mild and flexible. There are harsh insulins (Canninsulin and Humulin) but ProZinc is one of the suggested mild, longer lasting insulin on the site.
Hi Sue! Like I had posted earlier, " I thought I read somewhere that ProZinc is somewhat harsh."...I wasn't sure..which is why I worded it that way. But I learned something and now know that it isn't, but Canninsulin & Humulin are :smile:
 
mmjr33 said:
The tight protcol testing is going to be tough to do because of my work schedule.The only reason I'm getting so many tests in now is because my schedule is very flexible this time of year.In a couple of weeks I will only be able to test Benny about 3 times a day. relized that the vets didn't know how to treat These Sugar Cats.They are however very good at collecting their money.

Chuck
I'm glad you're able to get some testing in; awesome! I know that the decision to try to follow the TRP is a big leap, indeed...though there's a good chance that once you collect enough data (tests) that 3x a day MAY be sufficient...hard to say at this point in time. With regard to vets being able to treat sugar-cats: the way I look at it is that vets are like MD's or DO's (other than except for the one species that MD's & D0's have--us humans--the vets have several species)--they are "general" doctors and most are not specialists...so for example, if I am having heart problems, my MD would refer me to a cardiologist...if I was having eye problems....I'd go to an eye doctor....if I was having back problems (and I do)...I see a neuro surgeon.... I hope I am making sense :)

Nevertheless, again I applaud you for becoming Benny's "specialist"!
 
This is a peer reviewed board, Chuck. None of us are vets; we are all speaking from our own experiences. So I may have this idea and someone else may think something else. You do need to get feedback and then decide what makes sense to you. You are the one with the needle; he is your cat. I want people to speak up if they think I am not giving good advice or if they would do something differently. (That is why I mentioned that ProZinc is not a harsh insulin, Kat. It wasn't to be critical. For every person who responds to this post, there are 30 who lurk and read it. I didn't want a newbie whose vet had just prescribed ProZinc to be scared because they read it might be a harsh insulin.)

I do tend to be a more conservative advice giver. I would rather err on the side of caution because I don't want to hurt anyone's cat. Others may be more agressive with dosing and they can certainly be right. Others could even be more conservative than I am. The hard thing about ProZinc is that there is no set protcol. No one can say, if you get Y number, then do X. We give you what we think; you decide. The nice thing about ProZinc is that it is a forgiving insulin. If you give too little or too much, it is gone in 12 hours and you can do something different the next cycle. You can dose a little early or a little late and not worry about draining a shed.
 
Hi Sue,

I don't want you to think your advice in particular was conflicting.I guess I didn't word that post quite right.
For me advice or posts/articles I have read over all sometimes seem conflicting. Everyone as I said before has been great with their help and advice.Its like... I get two really logical great opinions on what to do with a particular situation.Yeah your right I'm shooting the needle and because I really dont know what I'm doing yet I feel like I might be doing something wrong... when really I dont know and I just have to try it out. wow ( who's on first)
I like a consertive point of view, I would prefer that when it comes to something as serious as trying to treat our diabetic cats on our own.Oh well sorry if I offended you or anyone else and I hope you continue to help me out.

Chuck
 
No, no, you didn't offend me at all. I remember how scary it was to be getting advice from people over the Internet. But it turned out great for me and my cat, so I have stayed around to "pay it forward"

You will find, reading posts, that advice for ProZinc is different than advice given for Lantus or Levemir. They are different insulins and they are dosed differently. If you post on Health, be sure to mention that you are using ProZinc.
 
Hi Chuck, I don't think anyone is offended. But we do need to keep the information given out right. Prozinc is not a harsh insulin, it is very flexible as far as schedules go and you get to start over every 12 hours as Sue was saying. Every insulin has it's attributes, you just need to decide which one fits your lifestyle and your cats needs. Some insulins work great for one cat and not so well for another.

You might get conflicting advise at times because just like every cat is different, every sugar dance is different so everyones experience is different. But that is the beauty of a peer reviewed board, you will get many thoughts and suggestions and then you get to decide which ones will work for you. Also by having a peer reviewed board if I misread your spreadsheet and give you bad advise someone else will be along soon to correct me, as I would expect them to.

Look at peoples spreadsheets to see what their journey looks like. Look at spreadsheets for those who have gone OTJ to see what that looks like. They are all different but also have alot of similarities.

Whatever you choose to do, we all will support your decisions.
 
One of the problems with advice is each cat is different. My Payne used to get 4u three times a day. It has been over two ears since her Dx and we have reduced some but are still shooting 3x day pzi.

I take advice given to me in the context of the persons cat. Has the cat ever gone DKA? for me that is important since we have 4x. Does that persons cat throw off ketones? My Payne does. It is more than dosage, it is the total cat.

You look for people that are most like you and your cat. In the end it is up to you to decide what makes sense for you and maybe try that. But 5u a day is not a lot of insulin for SOME cats. At one point Payne needed 12-15u a day, and then she started to heal.
Nancy and Payne
 
HI,

I didn't know that you could change the dose of prozinc so soon.I thought that I had to wait about 5-7 days at least before I could increase the dose if needed. The other question was about using a higher dose of prozinc. I wasn't sure if using a larger dose of prozinc was safe even though that dose may result in better BG numbers.

Ok changing my signature to... BlockHead and My cat Benny.
 
This is not an easy sugar dance to learn, Chuck. The more you post and get replies and the more data you get and analyze, the more confident you become.

When he is getting good numbers, waiting 3-5 cycles or even days can be a good idea because you don't want him to throw a low number as he is settling in. A low number is much more likely when he is starting at a 200 preshot, so you are more cautious. My humble opinion is that, if he is in high numbers, you shouldn't let him sit there too long. He has a ways to drop, so upping the dose at this point should not suddenly throw him into numbers that are too low.

Some people on ProZinc use a sliding scale, changing the dose with the number. It works for some cats but not for others. But you wouldn't try that until you have a lot of data that would help you predict how he might react to a given dose. Some cats need a week to "settle in". Bookworm (Lisa's Cassie)is one of those. He bounces around with a new dose for about a week before he settles in.
 
nancy and payne said:
One of the problems with advice is each cat is different. ...You look for people that are most like you and your cat. In the end it is up to you to decide what makes sense for you and maybe try that. But 5u a day is not a lot of insulin for SOME cats. At one point Payne needed 12-15u a day, and then she started to heal.
Nancy and Payne

Hi Nancy - long time no see!

Chuck - Nancy has made a really important point. Some cats do well on ProZinc. Some do better on Lantus or Levemir. Having been on two of these, I'd like to address your schedule. Not only did ProZinc offer me flexibility, but there are others here who have used different dosing, because it worked best for their kitty. One cat went lower at night, so they shot a higher dose during the day/lower at night. Another shot at 14 hours and 10 hours instead of 12/12. Some of us, including Nancy, shoot or shot TID. In some cases, I could vary my dose based on how long before I'd be able to test or shoot again. And as Sue pointed out, some people shoot a sliding scale.

With Lev, however, I stay MUCH more consistent, because of the shed (think of it as a reserve tank). 10 min off schedule - okay; 30 minutes is the max off schedule that I'll intentially do, barring no drastic issue that causes me to delay more.

The knowledge/data that you gain from testing (as frequently as you can) provides you a good sense of how YOUR cat responds. That really helps to have those numbers in your toolbox to help you decide how to address dosing things in the future.

The other thing I want to point out, is the shape of the curve. If you are charting curves (and there are diagrams somewhere - I'm not sure exactly where), the ProZinc curve looks like the smile of a smiley face. It drops about the middle of the 12 hr cycle, usually about 50-60% of the preshot number, then gradually comes back up. The "L" insulins are less pronounced. From what I understand, Lantus peaks early. Levemir doesnt kick in right away - for Grayson, onset is usually about 4 hours. His nadir is usually between +9 and +10, sometimes later. His curve, if plotted, is much shallower on Lev.

As I said previously, you may need to increase your dose, but it's good to do so gradually and give the dose plenty of time to settle in. I would pay close attention to those with years of ProZinc experience who are guiding you. Just as, after being here for 5 months, I started at square one again on Lev. They are totally different in their chemical makeup and how they affect each kitty.

Lu-Ann
 
Just for the record, I assumed Chuck had been using prozinc for some time, because he is registered as "Member since: January 9th, 2012" and he had a ? regarding Lantus in his first post. I had innocently asked him how long he had been using prozinc..... I hope it all works out for you & your kitty, Chuck. Good luck and hopefully, he'll be OTJ soon :-D
 
Great discussion going on here today! One thing I read and wanted to comment on:

I do like the Idea of dosing with the pen.

LANTUS - We use the pens like the vials - we can't use the pen needles as they don't dose accurately enough, can vary by as much as a quarter of a unit. Some only DOSE a quarter of a unit...I adjust literally by drops. Don't jump on that 'ease of use' as a reason to change.

One other thing I'd like to add that caused me confusion when we were new - I didn't know the difference in all the insulins available and their differences of both use and dosing. I'd read X then I'd read Y then I'd read Z then I'd pull out my hair 'cos they contradicted each other! :? Took me a long time to figure out I needed to identify the INSULIN being discussed to stay 'unconfused'....

HUGS!!!
 
Hello again everybody, thanks for the info.I'm slowly but surely catching on.I have got quite a bit of testing under my belt now for the spreadsheet.Even though Bennys numbers are still to high,when you look at the S.S You can actually see the timeline and effects of the prozinc on him.
OK well...The info. that I have learned here today about the prozinc and other insulins helps alot with dosing now.Got the BG testing down.Got my spreadsheet up and running with help of course.Moving right along here.Just hope and pray I can help my poor cat feel better.

Thanks again,Chuck
 
I wanted to chime in on a couple things.

Nancy made a fantastic point about every cat is a unique case, and to look for cats that react to insulin like Bennie does. See what worked or didn't work on their spreadsheets, and you can get ideas from that data.

Insulin type IS critical. Lantus and Lev sort of work the same way, but neither act like Prozinc. I've watched cats change from one type to another and do really well while others didn't.

You'll also find a bit of bias, whether it's about insulin type, doses, how long to hold a dose, or carb content in food, because it's only natural that people think that what works well for their cat will work well for others.

For instance, I am not a big believer in holding doses for any length of time, or for adjusting in really small increments. (And that ONLY applies to "P" type insulin. It would never work with an L type.) That's because I didn't do that with Bob. He got a different dose almost every shot for ten weeks, and the smallest adjustment increment I ever made was .25u, Some days he got 1u in the AM, and 3u in the PM. I don't think he ever got the same dose for more than two days running. It worked great for him. It wouldn't work well for other cats.

The best tool at your disposal is your spreadsheet. "Know Thy Cat" is the best advice I have ever read here.

Carl
 
HI Carl,

Thanks for the advice.I'm glad to learn that the prozinc has that much dosing flexibility .I can see when dosing Benny day to day or morning to evening that the dose would almost have to be different in one day just to keep his numbers down.

Chuck
 
Yes, that would be a sliding scale:-)
And it does involve a lot of spreadsheet study, and experimentation.
Carl
 
Hi Chuck,

Checked out Benny's ss. I like the blues in last night's cycle. Wonder if he went lower later? The high amps this morning is very likely a bounce from last night's number so don't get discouraged. (there is a scientific explanation but in general terms, a bounce is when the body senses a lower number than it has seen in a while and releases extra glucose. That makes the next number - or sometimes even cycle - after a low number, higher.)

Any data you can get will give you an idea about whether he is a cat that bounces at the next preshot or whether he has a higher flatter cycle after or if he does both. Once you see that pattern, it makes dosing easier after the next bounce.
 
Hi Sue,

Like you said,Benny bounced this morning .I came home for lunch so i tested him again.His numbers were still high.
I tried to stay up as long as I could last night.I was hoping to get a few more tests done.I wanted to see if Benny's numbers were going to drop any more... but it got to late.
My work schedule is going to keep me from testing Benny most of day now.I will only be able to test him about half as much asI have the last couple weeks.Work is close... so I can get home if I really need to.

Thanks for looking at Bennys numbers Sue... I appreciate your help and advice.

Chuck
 
Looks like he might be one who is going to be flat and high the day after low numbers. The idea is that his body will eventually stop being surprised by the low numbers and stop releasing the extra glucose. I would stick with your dose this pm. (If your numbers were super low, we would look at reducing the dose) The blues were lower than he was used to, but they were nice safe blues that we want to encourage.

Do you feel like you are understanding more about the process and how the insulin works? You seem to be more confident about this sugar dance. I hope so!
 
Hi Sue,

It was encouraging to see the lower numbers last night.For a while there i thought that maybe the prozinc may not work for Benny.time will tell I guess.
Yes I'm slowly but surely catching on.I have been impatient at times(many times) with the slow progress and lack of knowledge that I have.Benny is really not in very good shape and I think I was rushing things along in hopes that benny would feel better sooner.Still have along way to go.

Chuck
 
It's a marathon not a sprint, sad but so true.

I get the impatient part, when I first got here I stomped around yelling "I want him regulated and I want it now" cat(2)_steam

Regulation came, just not that week.
 
Just think of all the time our cats devote to us that we take for granted.Cheering us up when were feeling down,keeping us company, etc. Doe's anyone ever think that they(our cats) may have something better to do with there time.Chase other cats around the neighborhood,mouse hunting,clawing up the furniture etc. but no instead they choose to hangout with us...amazing.
My first cat lived to be 18 yrs old.Never had to take her to the vet until the last 2 weeks of her life.
She was with me thru thick and thin for 18 yrs.

Chuck
 
Aww, I know, mine too. Mine are all from the same litter that were born in my dresser drawer, they will be 17 in April.

When I sit on the sofa cross legged, within minutes I have a cat on each knee like sphinxes (sp?). I'd love to get a picture and name it "I'm a Pharroh". :lol:
 
I would love to see that picture Robin! :lol:

Glad Benny is doing better. I can assure you that it gets easier on us too. Just remember, Rome wasn't built in a day! This thing came on over time, and it's not gonna go away quickly. My goal was to manage it - and I was grateful that it was something diagnose-able and treatable. Other things not always so much, but this is one that we can.
 
Looks like a nice cycle today - one of the first normal looking one with decent preshots. Wonder if he hit the blues at nadir and that is why the red tonight?
 
Hi Chuck -

Looks like you've gone from reds & pinks w/ sporadic yellows, to a string of yellows and a string of pinks - NO reds! You might be approaching your dose... and he may just need to settle in some as you proceed. Looking good - definitely something to smile about! :-D ;-)
 
Hi , Grayson & Lu

We shall see.I hope were getting close.testing the heck out of Benny.
Sad but kinda of funny,Benny comes to me for his testing now when he hears the BG tester beep.He is like OK lets get this done and then give me my snack.amazing what food bribery will do.
I'm still worried about his health over all...He still isn't feeling well.

Thanks for stopping in. Chuck
 
Have you had him checked out in general by the vet, Chuck? Teeth, kidneys, infection of some sort etc. I do wonder if there could some underlying condition that is complicating the whole diabetes picture.
 
HI Sue,

I have been telling the vets for the past year there is something else going on with Benny.
Lastest bloodwork( 1 month ago) didn't show anything unusual.So I just assumed he was sick and acting funny because of being diabetic and unregulated.I asked about a MRI for Benny to check out his brain function, but it costs $3000.00.
 
What things are you noticing? You may want to do a post in health with the symptoms, duration, etc and see if anyone has experienced anything like it. There's a lot of things that seem to go hand in hand with FD, and there's a TON of experience here to draw from. At least if you put it out there, you may get some direction of what other things to look for, or another board that deals specifically with those sorts of issues.

We see them every day. We notice 9or so it seems) every little nuance. Sometimes, they go into the vet and either act normal, or we don't communicate well what we're seeing, or the vet does their thing and misses something.

I vote for putting more eyes on him.

Lu-Ann
 
Hi Lu-Ann,


I agree with your advice .I have explained some of symptoms that benny is having in past posts.
but I will start a new post this week.
I really hope that there is nothing else wrong with Benny, because I really can't afford to take him to the vet anymore.
His vet bills were in the thousands over the last year,around $4800.00 or more... I stopped counting.
I can barely keep up with his diabetic supplies.

Chuck
 
It would be nice if they could talk. No obvious teeth problems - drooling, trouble eating? Is his tummy sore when you touch it? Normal (for a diabetic) peeing and pooping?

Your 3 units took him down a bunch and gave you some nice yellows. I am assuming the high pmps last night was probably a bounce. It will be interesting to see what the 3 units will bring over the next few cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top