nancy and payne said:
One of the problems with advice is each cat is different. ...You look for people that are most like you and your cat. In the end it is up to you to decide what makes sense for you and maybe try that. But 5u a day is not a lot of insulin for SOME cats. At one point Payne needed 12-15u a day, and then she started to heal.
Nancy and Payne
Hi Nancy - long time no see!
Chuck - Nancy has made a really important point. Some cats do well on ProZinc. Some do better on Lantus or Levemir. Having been on two of these, I'd like to address your schedule. Not only did ProZinc offer me flexibility, but there are others here who have used different dosing, because it worked best for their kitty. One cat went lower at night, so they shot a higher dose during the day/lower at night. Another shot at 14 hours and 10 hours instead of 12/12. Some of us, including Nancy, shoot or shot TID. In some cases, I could vary my dose based on how long before I'd be able to test or shoot again. And as Sue pointed out, some people shoot a sliding scale.
With Lev, however, I stay MUCH more consistent, because of the shed (think of it as a reserve tank). 10 min off schedule - okay; 30 minutes is the max off schedule that I'll intentially do, barring no drastic issue that causes me to delay more.
The knowledge/data that you gain from testing (as frequently as you can) provides you a good sense of how YOUR cat responds. That really helps to have those numbers in your toolbox to help you decide how to address dosing things in the future.
The other thing I want to point out, is the shape of the curve. If you are charting curves (and there are diagrams somewhere - I'm not sure exactly where), the ProZinc curve looks like the smile of a smiley face. It drops about the middle of the 12 hr cycle, usually about 50-60% of the preshot number, then gradually comes back up. The "L" insulins are less pronounced. From what I understand, Lantus peaks early. Levemir doesnt kick in right away - for Grayson, onset is usually about 4 hours. His nadir is usually between +9 and +10, sometimes later. His curve, if plotted, is much shallower on Lev.
As I said previously, you may need to increase your dose, but it's good to do so gradually and give the dose plenty of time to settle in. I would pay close attention to those with years of ProZinc experience who are guiding you. Just as, after being here for 5 months, I started at square one again on Lev. They are totally different in their chemical makeup and how they affect each kitty.
Lu-Ann