Re: Protocall???
Mary, I suggest all newbies print out the stickies and put them in a binder... I know it took me what felt like FOREVER to feel like I understood what was going on.
The protocol we follow has tight regulation as it's ultimate goal (note that while it is called the "tight regulation protcol," tight regulation is an outcome, not a method):
These are the categories of regulation taken from the stickies:
Not treated --[blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
Treated but not regulated --[often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated --[generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated --[generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated--[generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized --[60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
Cats have a unique ability compared to other animals (including humans!) in that their pancreas can heal and they can go into remission. For the pancreas to do so, numbers need to be in the normal range of 50-120 on a human meter, so while the initial goal is to get nadirs under 200 (the point at which sugar is spilling into the kidneys and damaging them... what we refer to as the renal threshhold, which also happens to be the point at which risk of DKA goes down pretty dramatically), the ultimate goal is for a cat to spend as much time per day as possible in the "normal" range of 50-120, or to use the lingo, to be "tightly regulated." You want to be aggressive as your schedule and lifestyle allow early in the game, as the chances are much higher for kitties the closer they are to diagnosis. Though, we have had our share of longtimers here achieve remission!
Even if remission never happens, keeping your cat in the "normal" range by regulating with insulin allows their bodies to function as normally as possible, and is a healthy place for a cat to be!
The key is having as much data as possible. We want to be able to predict, to the best of our ability, how our cats will react to the insulin. Without data to support our dosing decisions, we could be putting our cats in danger. As you get more data, you then have the information you need to shoot progressively lower numbers. For example, I will routinely shoot a 60 for Willie because I know that, in general, he's going to rise a bit and we won't go into dangerous numbers. I would never recommend a newbie do that. Even with a great deal of data, I still have a "do not shoot" threshhold. You'll get there as well!
Please keep asking questions as you have them! We've all been through the steep learning curve here!