Projectile vomiting with food appetite?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheresaJ860

Member
OK, I need some advice or reassurance, please.

Christians PMPS was 414, I fed him, gave him his insulin, went to bed, leaving him frozen wet food instead of the small amt of the new NV dry I left the night before.

He woke me up this morning, meow meow, feed me feed me. It was still to early for his insulin, so I tested him +10=323. Gave him a small amount of canned wellness chicken.

He is doing much better, acting more like himself, eyes seem brighter, talking more, asking to go out.

As we were waiting for his AM routine, he spontaneously projectile vomited across the living room, quanity was significant. He continued to vomit small amounts for another minute or two.

Since it was within 30 minutes of his routine, I tested him, AMPS=359, feed him his friskies pate' and shoot his PZI. He seems fine, but mom isn't! nailbite_smile I'll get another ketone test later today, yesterday it remained difficult to determine if it was negative or trace.

Anyone have a suggestion on what could have caused him to vomit like that, while he continues to act fine, and obviously be hungry still?

Thank you for your patience with me!
A nervous Theresa and brighter Chrisitan
 
Theresa,
If he does not do it again...it may be a random thing and let it go. If he continue's to vomit today, well you just cannot have that. The fact that he remains hungry kind of rules out nausea I think, do you have pepcid A/C ? If so cut one in half for him.
 
Thank you Lori.

No the only thing I have is the pink liquid peptobismal (sp?)

Am watching his breathing closely, as he is asthmatic, sigh, I need to also learn about his asthma.

Thank you Lori, very much.
 
my tom has asthma too, and has done the projectile vomit thing. i think all cats do it sooner or later....don't we humans do it too at least once in life?
 
excellent point Lori!

How can you tell when Tom's asthma is acting up? Aside from Christians infrequent obvious attack, I notice his breathing is just more "pronounced" I'm not sure if I'd call it labored or not.

Thank you!
 
tom actually starts what i had always thought was an attempt to cough up a hairball. only a hair ball was never coughed up.
then i saw some utube video's of cats having an asthma attack and THAT is exactly what tom does.
he lowers his head below his body and coughs...alot. i always just gently pet him, very gently and try to keep him calm. sometimes it could go on for nearly a minute...
 
Yes, that is just what Christian does! Do you think they have a hard time breathing normally on occassion? The vet noticed he did not inhale very deeply.

Edit to giggle at typo in Topic, was meant to be good, not food!
 
Theresa, I do think Tom has some wheezzing going on most of the time. When I put my ear to his body I can always hear him breath...hear a rumble.
However it has never stopped him from being the ubber hunting outdoorsman he is.
I suppose one day he may need an inhaler....just not yet.
 
Thank you Lori, for two things, your reassurance, and support, as well as mentioning Tom likes to go out!

I think he is depressed I won't let him out, maybe I should today? I just want to control his enviroment while he is unregulated.

Your thoughts?

Thank you so much!
 
Well Theresa, I am a renegade of sorts, with believeing in an innie/outtie way of life.
It is really your call.
How close does Christian stay to home? Has he given you any scares?
Do you always sort of know where he is?
Also, I'd look at your ss to see if you are in any hypo range of wanting to keep kitty close.
I have never kept Tom in.
I mean, he is ALWAYS in by dusk...and he can come and go during the day as he has his own door.
 
Lori, Tom is very lucky! Christian would love his own door!

Yes,he usually stays in the back yard, he has several fav hiding places.

Scares? Oh yes! (One of the reasons I tell him I'm to afraid to let him out.)
He was severely injured last December when attacked by a wild animal, was missing for two nights, three days, found him because I left no stone, neighbor's yard, deck or porch unsearched. He was in the hospital a week, which was the same week my hubby had open heart surgery! Was not a good experience at all.

He remained an indoor only kitty until June. Only other scare was when he got into the barn and couldn't get out. (Old house, not a working barn, more like a former carriage house.) I discovered him when the sliding heavy wooden door was pounding, opened it, and he ran out.

Recently before dx, he just hung out in the back yard. I think I will let him after his +2 test this afternoon. So far he hasn't vomited again.

Thank you so much Lori, you've been wonderful this morning!
Theresa and Christian
 
Ms. Theresa J
My Sugar Bean must have her outside time everyday! Sometimes it is 20 min or more, depends on how long mommy wants to be out there as well.
She never goes out alone as she would escape at the drop of a hat! She is a city girl that thinks she is all that! I just moved from her original home that she grew up in, but still did not let her out without being with her. My backyard is fenced and it helps keep her where she belongs.
I think if I took that away, she would become severely depressed. She bugs the you know what out of me until she gets to go out....she chases the bugs, eats the grass and plays 'you better stay out of my yard'.
Wishing you luck with outside time and for his tummy to get better!
 
Bandit projectile vomits every now and then, usually right after eating because he ate too fast or decided to run around the house like a crazy cat. If Christian is acting normal and he doesn't do it continuously I wouldn't worry about it.
 
Thank you Julia! I have to tell you, he ate the frozen food, frozen! He is not a graser, he has become a goobler!

Thank you for your advice!
 
One other indication one of my asthma cats gives me (lucky me, I have two now!): When he is starting toward problems, he gets really horrible breath. When he is having no problems, his breath is fine. At first I thought it must be teeth needing cleaning, but not so, and the nasty odor comes and goes pretty quickly.
 
If Christian has really bad asthma attacks, I know we have several on the board that use inhalers for them...I know one is Flovent, and something else which I can't think of at the moment, but they use an Aerokat that is a little mask that goes over their face to administer the medicine. You could probably start a thread asking about options for a diabetic with Asthma and get tons of help.

Onyx one of my GAs use to projectile vomit, on anything beef, turns out he was allergic to it. So if Christian repeats the vomiting, might want to watch what foods seem to cause it.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: Projectile vomiting with good appetite?

Jean and Mel, thank you so much!

I don't think he has an allergy, maybe he isn't digesting the newer foods with the same ease, he is addicted to friskies pate, mixed grill, and poultry platter. He has been really enjoying the EVO, but started to have issues with messes in the litter box. I had read on another thread that if that happens, go back to the friskies for a while, and that has apparently helped the problem.

Since he hasn't done it again, and it came right after a long night (for him) of not having much to eat for hours, I do think he gobbled the wellness chicken I gave him really quick. He also must have drank a great deal of water.

I was hoping freezing his food would let him have something through the night, but that doesn't seem to be working, he ate it frozen! That probably didn't help his tummy.

I'll admit, I had to stop and calm myself down when it happened. He has always been a cat that can look fine, while not fine, until it is an emergency. In fact, if he himself had not insisted one day that I follow him to his litter box, and honestly put his paw down near freshly pee'd urine and show me that the wall of the litter box was blood! I wouldn't have known he was in serious trouble. The Vet couldn't believe that was how I found out. But it was! (He had already had three bouts of blockages and crystals.) Sure enough, he was a very sick kitty!

If you read his story on the first post I made, I think he has always had asthma, even before he let us adopt him. (Or he adopted us.)
I always clear the dog away from him, and gently pet him, and occassionally pat him very gently like burping a baby. He often comes to me just before an attack.

The Vet told me about the inhaler, (I have so many asthmatics in my family, I'm familiar.) She said we should get him regulated before going to the inhaler.

I will post a topic on asthma and FD, thank you for your suggestions.

The wonderful people on this board have made such a difference for Christian and I!
Thank you!
 
Wellness can be a little rich on their tummies, you could also try mixing it with his Friskies to kind 'cut' it for awhile.

What I have done in the past with freezing mine's food, is I freeze part of it, then 'frost' it like a cupcake with fresh food, so they have something to eat right away, and then nibble at the frozen part as it thaws. As Maxwell has never met a can of catfood he didn't like. :lol: And I think if I would let him he would eat it can and all..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, what a great idea! Thank you so much! Yes, I think Christian would do the same, can, bowl.

He was eatting the dogs food as well, we now have a very spoiled dog, (who am I kidding, she was always spoiled! They both are!) As I feed her while sitting on the couch with her so she eats her food, and Christian (she was eating his food!) Now has a perch to eat up on.

Thank you again!!! dancing_cat
 
Oh I know nothing about spoiled...lol...

Ms. Musette believes it is beneath her to eat like a commoner on the floor, afterall she is a Princess! So this is where she has chosen to dine...lol

188.jpg


Why eat on the floor when you can be served in bed, at your own private table. :roll: Next she will be demanding a crystal bowl and candlelight...

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Yup. Bandit's a gobbler and will sit there and and gnaw at frozen food until it's gone. That's why I got the auto feeder...I posted a link to the one I have in your previous thread. There are simpler and cheaper ones out there like this one: http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-2-Mea...?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1313179678&sr=1-5, or this one: http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Mea...?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1313181117&sr=1-1

Bandit thinks he's a raccoon, though, and destroyed three other types of auto feeders trying to get to the food before I found the one we have now--which he can't rip apart. So if Christian is very mischievous, you might want to get the one I have.

The one I have also has the option to record a voice message, so I really like that it plays my "here kitty kitty!" dinner cry when it releases the food.
 
Oh that is priceless! Yes indeed, they choose what they want to do, and then insist we follow their rules!

(On a side note, Christian's numbers today are amazing me! -2(aka +10)=323, AMPS=359, +2=301, +4=330, +6=268!!!, considering a week ago he was well up in the 500's, all I can say is THANK YOU FDMB! YOU ARE ALL AWESOME!
 
Indeed! I brought it back this evening, glad my pet store lets you return opened food. So the 268 would be his nadir? His +8 was 336, however, he was stalking something for a while in the back yard just before I took that. He seems so happy that he went outside like normal today. He came in for every test with the shake of the treats.

I'm still shaking my head in amazement at all the awesome people and advice on this board! I was originally told to keep him on a high fiber diet, and that his science diet was fine. Now don't get me wrong, I actually like our vet's office very much, and have found them to take good care of our pets.

I'm just disappointed, the mark-ups are extreme, sighs, no sense in focusing on those things. I'm just so happy to have found this board!
 
Yes, the +6 268 would be his nadir. That is the point where the insulin has reached peak effectiveness, after which his BG will start rising again towards his next shot time at +12. An ideal "curve" would look like a smiley, with nadir being at the lowest point in the curve. Real world curves aren't always like that. For instance, he was at 301, went up a bit to 330, then dropped back down. If he had food between the 301 and 330, he'd get a little boost of glucose. Also, meters can have a variance of 20% from one reading to the next and those two numbers are within that margin of error. Looking forward to seeing what he does for the rest of the cycle.

Don't sweat the vet. Many vets don't have a great deal of experience with diabetic cats. My vet has been in practice for 30 years and she only sees around 3 cases a year. Not only did I learn a great deal during my dance with Bob, but so did she. The good news is that you no longer have to rely on your vet for everything concerning your dance with Christian. You found this place!

It is quite an incredible place, isn't it?

Carl in SC
 
My Minibeast had asthma. There are two types of inhaled meds:

- steroids which reduce inflammation (but are localized in effect and don't really affect the bg)

- rescue inhaler for opening the lung passageways if they suddenly spasm closed. This can happen very unexpectedly.

Even if your cat doesn't need the steroids yet, it would be really good thing to have the rescue inhaler on hand for an emergency. It costs about $10.

laur
 
Thank you Carl and Laur,

Yes, I feed him small amounts aproximately every 2 to 2.5 hours, he usually finishes a 5.5 can through out the day. My husband is creating a spread sheet for me. I have viewed a number of the SS on posters signatures, and can see how very valuable it is to have for the vet.

Carl, here are all his numbers from yesterday: AMPS 359, +2=301, +4=330, +6=268, +8=336, +10=425, PMPS=350 (+10=426)
Today: AMPS=391, +2=318, +4=277, +6=294, +8=375, +10=366, PMPS=422 (Think I furshot him! nailbite_smile
(I'll edit this as I can through the day, or this evening.)

Hmmm, Laur the vet said the steriods would be contraindicated due to the FD. She did discuss the rescue inhaler, and said at the next visit we would discuss getting that. Did you get yours from a vet? I'm rather freaked out at the markup of supplies.

Well, today is a rough day, dog seems to have some kind of rash that is driving her banana's, :YMSIGH: so we are off to the pet store. Not to mention, I have to get my chores done! :roll:
 
Theresa,
Great job so far! Keep testing when you can, and as soon as the spreadsheet is ready, see if you can add it to your user profile signature so that everyone can see it and help you make sense of it.

For now, I would gather a few days worth of data, and keep with the current 1u BID dosage. Once you have a few days of numbers, you should start to see patterns in his curves. The patterns, at this point, are more important than the numbers. Once he has a nice regular curve, you can think about adjusting his dose in small increments. The idea is to start low (which you are already doing) and go slow (increase or decrease in 1/2 unit a day dosages, and hold that dose for several days.)

When you get to the point where you feel his dose may need adjustments, the best thing to do is to post questions in the PZI Insulin Support Group forum, where you'll get feedback from people using that specific type of insulin. Lots of good and knowledgable people over there!

Keep on dancing!
Carl
 
Thank you Carl, just sent you another PM, and edited earlier post with today's numbers.

I can't wait to have enough data to plot a curve, thankfully, I have an engineer DH!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top