Probably going to skip tonight's shoot too

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennRoss86

Member Since 2018
Hey!

Grey's been low enough at night that I've skipped the last two. I've got the next two days off, so work won't be interfering with shoot times, but it's more like it's his BG that's green at night.

Thoughts?

@Chris & China, I would love for you to look at his numbers and let me know what you think I should do for tonight if he's green for his PMPS again.

Thanks!
 
Let's see where he is then....the hours between now and then can make a big difference.

But just in case I'm not around, if he's still green, I'd probably go ahead and skip again.

You may need to try doing a smaller dose like .1 if he continues to have Pre-shots that are lower but not quite low enough (I do think he's going to need a little more support with insulin, but he's looking SO much better! I doubt if he's going to stay on it long)
.1 unit.PNG
 
Hey there! Ultimately, you want to shoot every 12 hours, so if Grey is giving you some un -shootable PM pre-shots, I agree with Chris that I would try a 0.1 dose. Before going off insulin completely, we like to see kitties go from .25 to 0.1 and then sometimes to a drop.

He is looking really good and could be the poster boy for a cat that switches from high carb dry to a wet diet under 10% carbs.
 
I'm another vote for lowering Grey's dose so you can shoot BID. The idea is to give his pancreas as much support as possible before an OTJ trial. The support will help to insure a successful trial.

I can't imagine how Gray was on 9u of insulin. Geez......
 
Let's see where he is then....the hours between now and then can make a big difference.

But just in case I'm not around, if he's still green, I'd probably go ahead and skip again.

You may need to try doing a smaller dose like .1 if he continues to have Pre-shots that are lower but not quite low enough (I do think he's going to need a little more support with insulin, but he's looking SO much better! I doubt if he's going to stay on it long)
View attachment 36145

Thank you so much! I still need to pick up those 1/2 unit syringes but it has been a crazy weekend at work!
 
Hey there! Ultimately, you want to shoot every 12 hours, so if Grey is giving you some un -shootable PM pre-shots, I agree with Chris that I would try a 0.1 dose. Before going off insulin completely, we like to see kitties go from .25 to 0.1 and then sometimes to a drop.

He is looking really good and could be the poster boy for a cat that switches from high carb dry to a wet diet under 10% carbs.


Thank you so much!! What a handsome boy Bubba is also!! I agree that Grey is the perfect example of a species appropriate diet, and I cannot wait to hear from his vet when she finally goes over his spreadsheet.

I did dose him at 0.1 tonight, so I've set an alarm for a +3 check just in case I fall asleep.
 
I'm another vote for lowering Grey's dose so you can shoot BID. The idea is to give his pancreas as much support as possible before an OTJ trial. The support will help to insure a successful trial.

I can't imagine how Gray was on 9u of insulin. Geez......

Thank you so much! I'm starting to understand this with every reply, so you all are amazing. The 9U was my fault, I should've started researching earlier about his diet. But, we're here now, and he's doing much better. I just looked at your SS for Gabby and just burst into tears at the end. It's the worst part of having a pet, and I'm sure she knew how much she was cared for. Grey and I will be furever grateful we've entered this FD realm :cat::bighug:
 
Gabby was a very special girl. Thank you for your very kind words. There's a link in my signature (Gabby's Legacy) to my last condo and my tribute to her and how much she taught me. Her tribute video is the first post and my post is #7.

And no, the 9u wasn't your fault. Your vet didn't inform you about the importance of diet. I hope your vet is appropriately flabbergasted when you share how well Grey is doing.
 
Gabby was a very special girl. Thank you for your very kind words. There's a link in my signature (Gabby's Legacy) to my last condo and my tribute to her and how much she taught me. Her tribute video is the first post and my post is #7.

And no, the 9u wasn't your fault. Your vet didn't inform you about the importance of diet. I hope your vet is appropriately flabbergasted when you share how well Grey is doing.

I finally just got her on the phone and she said she's very happy with everything I've done, and that it doesn't matter what I'm feeding him as long as it's working. And I told her that prescription food is terrible, but I didn't want to just berate her for anything. She said if he stays blue/green for two months without coming out then she wants him to come in for a Fructosamine check. She also said that she wishes everyone would do this at home, because it's so much easier on our babies. So I made sure she knew about this forum and that Grey has support from all over the world now!! <3 :)
 
Totally unnecessary waste of money

Did you give .25 again this morning instead of the .1?

Yes, I did and plan to do .1 again tonight - I'm about to do a +9 in a few minutes

Augh, there was so much I wanted to say to her, but just kept my mouth shut. I'd like to talk to her in person and explain that his next several checkups should be free. And that she's keeping her diabetic patients ill by advising them to eat that crap food.
 
Yes, I did and plan to do .1 again tonight - I'm about to do a +9 in a few minutes

Augh, there was so much I wanted to say to her, but just kept my mouth shut. I'd like to talk to her in person and explain that his next several checkups should be free. And that she's keeping her diabetic patients ill by advising them to eat that crap food.

His AMPS was 105 and his +6 was 70 and +9 was 85 -his PMPS will be at 23:00 - he's been following me around for the last few minutes so I know he's hungry, he's eating right now. His appetite is great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top