Probably fur shot; BG risen from 138 to 174 in +2. Give .25 lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel's mommie

Member Since 2017
Hello! I noticed Angel's fur was smelling of Lantus, and suspect I gave him a full/partial fur shot this evening :( (I was trying to avoid a scruff shot, and shoot on the side, but he moved). I know it says not to give another shot in case of a fur shot, but wanted to ask...do you think it would be okay to give him just .25? His BG has risen from 138 to 174 in +2 :(. Thank you.

I'm going to be desperately trying TR as need to visit mom in India this summer. Am trying to collect data at this point and also try to keep him well regulated before actually beginning hardcore TR.
 
Last edited:
I know it says not to give another shot in case of a fur shot, but wanted to ask...do you think it would be okay to give him just .25?
No, it's never a good idea to give a second shot, even if you are sure the first shot missed. Some insulin might have gotten in, and you risk an overdose. We have a saying here: better too high for a day than too low for a minute.
 
Welcome. I'm glad you asked about shooting after a fur shot. Several times was sure I'd given one and hadn't. Your ss says she shot .25 after all. If not please change it. If you did shoot again, even a reduced amount, I wouldn't do that again. It's just not safe.
 
Welcome. I'm glad you asked about shooting after a fur shot. Several times was sure I'd given one and hadn't. Your ss says she shot .25 after all. If not please change it. If you did shoot again, even a reduced amount, I wouldn't do that again. It's just not safe.
Thank you, tiffmaxee. <hangs head> I justified it by thinking I hadn't given him a full 1 unit in the first place and his numbers had risen within an hour...But Tricia and you were right as I see by this morning's numbers. I did get up a few times at night to check on him and he seemed okay.
I truly appreciate how much you all care. I think I'll continue with 1 or <1 (which basically means 1 with an air bubble) for a few days and then ask for advice again.
 
The numbers I see are totally safe thankfully. Normal BG is 50-120. Max never showed any signs when he dropped too low except for sometimes he was very vocal in asking for food. You can't always tell by looking at them.
 
The numbers I see are totally safe thankfully. Normal BG is 50-120. Max never showed any signs when he dropped too low except for sometimes he was very vocal in asking for food. You can't always tell by looking at them.
Yes, thank goodness the numbers are okay. On one occasion I noticed that Angel started exhibiting symptoms at 40 -- he's been symptomless at even 44, argh, once...and I hastily gave him high carb gravy food, which luckily stopped an actual hypo! Not that I want to take any chances with that. I've had to miss work on two separate occasions 'cos he was having a hypo and there's no way I was leaving him alone (this was before I began home testing). I've got about 4 months of data before this SS; before I joined this group I didn't really know what I was doing, but now I'm hoping to go about things in a very controlled, deliberate way. He'd gone into remission two years ago (went off it 'cos of steroids for IBD/pancreatitis), so I'm hoping to get him OTJ again. But not at the expense of risking hypos, although I do have practice dealing with those.
Thank you, tiffmaxee!!!
 
Last edited:
The numbers I see are totally safe thankfully. Normal BG is 50-120. Max never showed any signs when he dropped too low except for sometimes he was very vocal in asking for food. You can't always tell by looking at them.

I guess it would be useful to add some of that past data to the SS, right?
 
Hey there! And Welcome. It's never a good idea to give another shot after a suspected fur shot. There were times when I smelled insulin strongly and was sure I did a FS and the cycle moved down nicely.

And the + 2 you got today was a typical food hike.
 
Hey there! And Welcome. It's never a good idea to give another shot after a suspected fur shot. There were times when I smelled insulin strongly and was sure I did a FS and the cycle moved down nicely.

And the + 2 you got today was a typical food hike.
Thanks, Bobbie and Bubba. I think I'm going to stick to scruff shots -- unless I begin noticing that the insulin does not seem to be taking effect. For some reason I seem to have trouble with side-shots (they hurt him and he moves), which then causes all this confusion.
 
Just a thought since you shot an additional 0.25 at 1.45am last, this mornings regular shot was only about 9 1/2 hrs after that additional 0.25, so you may get some interaction between last nights extra shot and this morning as they are less than 12 hours apart.
I would recommend you get a +1 and +2 this morning if you can just in case.

For some reason I seem to have trouble with side-shots (they hurt him and he moves), w
you may be catching some muscle, try to make sure you tent the skin so you are giving the shot subcutaneously, with George, I found that he was less fidgety when he had his head in his bowl and he was busy scoffing.
 
Thanks, Bobbie and Bubba. I think I'm going to stick to scruff shots -- unless I begin noticing that the insulin does not seem to be taking effect. For some reason I seem to have trouble with side-shots (they hurt him and he moves), which then causes all this confusion.
I couldn't do side shots very well. I found between the shoulders the easiest.
 
That's quite a significant drop by +3, just over 50pts lower than amps, as he has probably just about had onset of the shot he may well drop further today.

If it were me I would give him a LC snack at +3 and check him again at +4. You may well find Angel sees some green this cycle. (antijinx)
 
Just a thought since you shot an additional 0.25 at 1.45am last, this mornings regular shot was only about 9 1/2 hrs after that additional 0.25, so you may get some interaction between last nights extra shot and this morning as they are less than 12 hours apart.
I would recommend you get a +1 and +2 this morning if you can just in case.


you may be catching some muscle, try to make sure you tent the skin so you are giving the shot subcutaneously, with George, I found that he was less fidgety when he had his head in his bowl and he was busy scoffing.

Ah, only saw your post at +3 (he's 112 at +3). Thank you for your advice, Gill and George. Angel doesn't like my shooting anywhere except the scruff when he's eating - and even then he stops, but goes on since it doesn't hurt. I need to work on my technique for non-scruff. He actually loves being tested, would you believe it? Associates coming to sit on the sofa to be tested with kisses and pets and a treat (not that he's EVER short on kisses and pets the rest of the time, lol). On the sofa is where he is most relaxed, so maybe I'll try shooting while he's there. Also he's a bit smooshed between me and the sofa arm, so less chances of him moving about :cat:.
 
That's quite a significant drop by +3, just over 50pts lower than amps, as he has probably just about had onset of the shot he may well drop further today.

If it were me I would give him a LC snack at +3 and check him again at +4. You may well find Angel sees some green this cycle. (antijinx)
Will do! That'll be a good thing, right? (sorry for being dense about the antijinx, lol).
 
Ah, only saw your post at +3 (he's 112 at +3). Thank you for your advice, Gill and George. Angel doesn't like my shooting anywhere except the scruff when he's eating - and even then he stops, but goes on since it doesn't hurt. I need to work on my technique for non-scruff. He actually loves being tested, would you believe it? Associates coming to sit on the sofa to be tested with kisses and pets and a treat (not that he's EVER short on kisses and pets the rest of the time, lol). On the sofa is where he is most relaxed, so maybe I'll try shooting while he's there. Also he's a bit smooshed between me and the sofa arm, so less chances of him moving about :cat:.
No harm done he's safe enough at +3, but I think you may need to be watchful for the next few hours.

I used to test George on the sofa too, I would rattle the strips and he would hop on my lap, and assume the position LOL.
I tried giving him the shot on the sofa too, but it was a disaster for us, the head in the bowl technique worked best for us, he's a bit of a foodie, nothing puts him off his snacks. LOL
 
Will do! That'll be a good thing, right? (sorry for being dense about the antijinx, lol).
Green is good, so long as you have it under control, and it's over 68 on the alphatrak.

If it's only just gone +3 then try giving him a low carb snack( a teaspoon or two of his regular LC food), the idea is to try and get him to surf (get his BG to level off), he's still a way of peak insulin action, so you may still see some downward movement in numbers, the food can help counter that.
 
No harm done he's safe enough at +3, but I think you may need to be watchful for the next few hours.

I used to test George on the sofa too, I would rattle the strips and he would hop on my lap, and assume the position LOL.
I tried giving him the shot on the sofa too, but it was a disaster for us, the head in the bowl technique worked best for us, he's a bit of a foodie, nothing puts him off his snacks. LOL
It's unbelievable what sweeties they can be, isn't it, about the testing? I couldn't even IMAGINE testing a year ago -- but then finally decided to Just Do It after seeing this wonderful site (bless you all, seriously!). I went through a bazillion videos/sites on the internet teaching you how to test, and so many talked about their cat purring through it all, actually coming voluntarily for the test etc. and for gosh sakes, that it actually made the bond between you stronger -- and I frankly thought this was a little exaggerated and wish-fulfill-y, but no! I can't believe Angel does all that -- literally asks to be tested (loves the treat and kisses and focused attention, lol), purrs through it all including my sometimes multiple pricks and messes-up. I so want new folk who are hesitant to know all this :). That you truly can do it, and it truly does make the bond between you stronger! The key -- as so many point out -- is to stay unfrazzled and calm and loving, no matter what.
 
Last edited:
Green is good, so long as you have it under control, and it's over 68 on the alphatrak.

If it's only just gone +3 then try giving him a low carb snack( a teaspoon or two of his regular LC food), the idea is to try and get him to surf (get his BG to level off), he's still a way of peak insulin action, so you may still see some downward movement in numbers, the food can help counter that.
Will do, Gill and George. So appreciate your (all) taking the trouble to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top