Pro Zinc or Novolin N

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy&Tommy

Member Since 2013
Would you give me the pros and cons on changing to Novolin N from Pro Zinc? I'm considering the change after the bottle is empty. Thanks!!
 
Novolin/Humulin lasts 6-8 hours per shot, leaving 4-6 hours without insulin ... unless you want to shoot every 8 hours.

It drops the cat fast and hard and wears off quickly.

I wouldn't switch to it.
 
I agree with BJ. Pro zinc is milder and lasts longer than N. It is much easier to regulate with. Wondering why you are considering a change. Your kitty seems to be doing very well on PZI. At one unit or less, it should last a long time.
 
Needed some good reasons to show my DH. He wants all of this to cost less. I'm seeing the benefits for Prozinc for Tommy and want to continue with it. Funny thing is when I asked him if all this would be worth it if his dog had diabetes, he answered truthfully - yes. I can get Prozinc from my vet for $90 and a pharmacy next to the vet for $85. I just need lots of cons! Thanks!
 
I agree with BJ & Sue.

Also....the prices you gave for ProZinc are at least $25 LESS than what vets in my area of PA charge for it.
 
Awesome. Thanks for your input. I will stay with ProZinc. I know that this is only three opinions but I really believe in all you guys and advice!!
 
I just posted the readings through this morning. I will be testing in about an hour, and will add that to the ss. Tommy is doing great! He has his old spark back, and his coat is softer and thicker. Still a few flakes, but what a difference this has made to his life. He is good about the pokes as long as I get them done quickly. If I miss and have to poke a second time he tries to get away.(I probably would too!) I know he doesn't hold it against me as he later snuggles up to me. Let me know what you think about his numbers and my thoughts/comments. Again, thanks!
 
Looks like one unit gives you preshots too low to shoot and then he jumps back up. What would you think about reducing the dose a smidge?
 
Funny thing is when I asked him if all this would be worth it if his dog had diabetes, he answered truthfully - yes.

The ironic thing is that if it was his dog that had diabetes, the N would be the better choice. Prozinc was developed to be used specifically on cats and doesn't work too well for dogs. The difference between the two species is that dogs metabolize insulin about twice half as fast as cats do. So an insulin like N would last long enough for a dog. Prozinc would last too long. It was the short duration, in cats, with N, and Caninsulin/vetsulin, that led to the invention of PZI/Prozinc.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Looks like one unit gives you preshots too low to shoot and then he jumps back up. What would you think about reducing the dose a smidge?
His AMPS was 377 and his PMPS was 289. I just came online and read the post so I had already given him 1u as I will be home tonight and will do a +4 test. I could try .5u in the morning if he is around 200. I would be able to do another +3 or +4 test tomorrow.

I have ordered U40 syringes, 3/10cc to go with the ProZinc as I have decided to go with that insulin. As far as the cost of ProZinc, I'm realizing with the small doses this vial will last way more than a month, which then lowers the projected "monthly" cost factor.
 
If stored & handled properly, one vial can last up to 6 months, depending on dose size. I've used every vial to the last drop, and I've had several last a full 6 months (but Cass has never been on a big dose).
 
Thank you for sharing that! That is awesome. I've been very careful with it and will be very excited if it even lasts half that long. All I need now is a way to reuse those nasty test strips! LOL. I go through many each day whether it's because of multiple tests or multiple failures. Good thing they only cost $9. :razz:
 
You might want to set the alarm and get a +6. He might go down low. If you can't, leave out another snack. And yes, probably a bounce in the am. Still would reduce a little, unless you can monitor carefully. Maybe not .5 but a skinny one unit ?- pull up one unit and squirt out a smidge.

This is also an opportunity to be -- if you can monitor. The one unit loks like it may give you a good nadir, if you can be around to steer it up with food.
 
I will set out a little more food for tonight. I am nursing a sprained knee and a meniscal tear. :YMSIGH: Pain meds tonight will knock me out. I will be able to test more tomorrow. Thanks for the advice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top