Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +9/438-ok to shoot early?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! What's going on?

Hi Emily,
Just wondering are you stalling and planning on shooting? Typically, one wouldn't feed before shot time if kitty is in the 50s.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! What's going on?

I'm not experienced enough to advise but hopefully someone else more experienced will stop by soon. It looks like Prince cleared a bounce. How much have you fed? I would advise that you not feed anything more right now.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! What's going on?

if you've not shot, change you post to reflect AMBG and add Stalling, Shoot? and the time. How much past the shot time are you? 30 minutes? An hour?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! What's going on?

Just wondering are you stalling and planning on shooting? Typically, one wouldn't feed before shot time if kitty is in the 50s.

With Prince, I test, feed, and then shoot, all within about 20 minutes. Isn't that what I am supposed to do? I have the emergency hypoglycemic instructions on my cupboard and it says with low numbers/no symptoms, try to get cat to eat. Why would I restrict food? Maybe I am missing something?

I am not planning on shooting unless someone advises me otherwise; I would be afraid he would drop to 0!

Please advise!
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

When the kitty is low we hold off on feeding and test to see if the BG is going up or continuing to drop. How much have you fed? I would continue to stall. Please read the sticky on dealing with low preshots, it explains what you should do.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

With a BG in the 50s before shot time we'd want to not feed and test often so we can catch the rise as soon as it happens and then shoot. What # would you be comfortable shooting?
Sorry to ask again, but how much have you fed?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

You don't want the BG to be influenced by food and that's why you don't feed. You want to be sure Prince is rising on his own. How long has it been since you tested?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

I'm sorry-I forgot about that sticky. I went into automatic panic mode and fed him b/c I wanted his BG to rise. Silly, I'm sorry. He ate about 1/2 what he usually eats. I've been testing every 15 minutes, and he is rising. His usual dose is 2.5. I am here all day, so I would be comfortable shooting. Should I go for 2.0, or his regular dose?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

You can read the sticky later. I'm here for you at least for the next few hours. So, if you'll answer my questions I can help you decide what to do. Is that ok?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

If you've already fed, you'll be shooting a food influenced #, which wouldn't be a correct #. If you're stalling, you would need to not feed anything, and allow the shed to drain a bit, and test every 15-30 to see if the # is rising.

Here's the info on stalling, and shooting low #s:

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if the cat is less than 50 then usually the best option is to wait until they are above 50 to shoot. While you’re waiting, the shed is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.
If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Hope that helps. :-D
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

MrZ said:
You can read the sticky later. I'm here for you at least for the next few hours. So, if you'll answer my questions I can help you decide what to do. Is that ok?

Of course, but I feel bad that I messed it up.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

How much have you fed? I don't know what is his usual.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Don't feel bad. You did great by not shooting and asking for advice instead. It's all Part of the learning process. the most important thing is that you didn't do anything to put Prince in danger.

How long has it been since you fed?
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

He got just over a little 4 oz this morning, and maybe ate about 2 oz about 1 hour ago, at his regular meal time. He is acting normal and happy; no symptoms.

I am still trying to figure out what is the right food for him, and exactly how much he needs. When he was diagnosed, I switched all of my cats (4 total) to all wet food diet. The problem is, two of my cats are grazers and one of them is underweight. I try to make sure Prince doesn't go eat some of their food later, but it can be hard to monitor if I'm not here. I try to restrict him to a specific amount 2 times a day, but he may be sneaking some of theirs at times. I know this is bad, but I don't know how to make it okay for all 4 of them.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

I do have to get ready for work soon, so I unfortunately can't stick around too long. But, that is a low AMPS! Since you haven't shot anything nearly that low, but you are home and comfortable with the thought of shooting and testing, I might be inclined to shoot a BCS, which is a reduced dose for just this one shot (like you did the other night). If you do shoot at all, be sure to get a +1 and +2 to see how Prince is responding. You'll have to continue testing after that as well, but those early tests should help give you a feel for what is going on. I may have missed this...you also have high carb food and/or karo on hand as well, right?

Don't worry about feeding...as everyone said, you're not supposed to feed when stalling, but feeding a low number like that is an understandable instinct!
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

You'll have to continue testing after that as well, but those early tests should help give you a feel for what is going on. I may have missed this...you also have high carb food and/or karo on hand as well, right?

Thank you, yes, I have both high carb food (a good selection) and karo syrup on the counter, ready to go if needed. I have the emergency hypo instructions plastered on the cupboard. I know what to do with that situation, but I completely forgot about not feeding with a low pre-shot number. You guys are amazing, but don't need to stay. I will be home to monitor as often as needed; I just don't know how much to shoot (it will be an hour after usual shot time in a few minutes).
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

It's a tough call...Prince kept it fairly flat (until he bounced) when you shot lower the other day. You want to be sure he stays safe....if it were me, I'd probably shoot around 1.75. There are others with more experience in reading SSs though, so if they suggest a different dose, go with that. You sound very confident and well-prepared, so that is awesome!!
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Figuring out the right food, and how much to give is all part of learning feline diabetes. I, too, have 4 cats, and 3 of them are on wet and dry (about equal amounts, but I tend to give them more wet during the day). I feed them all at the same time that Blackie gets fed, and since Blackie will sneak contraband whenever she can, I can't leave anything out for the rest of them. The extra times that the others get fed is about mid day when they'll get some wet food, and then a snack a couple hours after their +1 meal, or before I go to bed. A feeding schedule may help your situation, and it's worth a try. :-D
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Emily, Amy has a lot more experience than I do and has advised that you could consider giving a BCS. I'm not sure what I would do because of the food given. I measure Zeke's food in teaspoons and tablespoons so honestly I don't know how much 2 oz of food is. I see Prince is up to 75 at +05, correct? How long are you willing to stall? I'm hoping some more people will chime in with advice.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

I am not confident! I feel like an idiot for messing up and causing all this fuss. I am paranoid about him going hypo, so I am prepared for that. My poor Prince :(

I will shoot 1.75 as Amy advised. It is exactly 1 hour after usual shot time. I am going to go take a pre-shot number, and then test every half hour. Be back soon.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

You didn't mess anything up. You did what your instincts told you...you fed him to keep him safe! We've all done it...it makes perfect sense. And you haven't made a fuss...we're all here to help and support each other in every way possible. We're a family, and we worry about each other and all the kitties. It's what we do.

Unfortunately I do have to get ready for work now so I have to get going.

If you are not comfortable shooting, it would certainly be OK to skip today, too, and call it a fur shot - another thing we have all done at one point or another. You have to feel comfortable, and keeping Prince safe, no matter what it takes, is Job #1.

Do not be afraid to ask for help...that is what Lantus Land is all about!

(BTW, I have 5 kitties with a wide variety of dietary needs...I spend a LOT of time playing food bowl police :roll: ....but they are worth every second of it. It's great if you can get all of yours on the same diet!)
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Emily said:
I am not confident! I feel like an idiot for messing up and causing all this fuss. I am paranoid about him going hypo, so I am prepared for that. My poor Prince :(

Emily - Don't beat yourself up. The FDMB is here to help. This is not a fuss - it's an opportunity to pass along our experience and knowledge. You did great by not shooting. You did the right thing in that regard. How long would you be able to stall? I'm hoping your post will get more eyes soon.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Prince was at 90 at +1, still rising. I gave him 1.75 units exactly an hour after his usual time. I will be here monitoring him very closely and testing every half hour. Thank you so much for your help this morning. I really don't think I could do this without the help I get from everyone here. I love the vet that diagnosed and cared for Prince when he was on his deathbed, but I'm sad to say she definitely does not seem to know as much about diabetes as the people on FDMB. I brought my spreadsheet in to her, and she said it was overkill that I was testing so much. She recommended a few times a week. But what would have happened if I had shot without testing this morning?? Thankful to have you guys! <3
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Oh, I see you've decided to shoot a BCS. Just keep updating the subject line with Prince's latest BG so we'll know what's going on.

There's time to discuss this later but just remember that since you stalled you'll have to move Prince's shot time tonight so that it's 12 hours after his AM shot time. You can shoot 15 minutes early every shot time to get him back on schedule. You also have the option of moving the shot time up 30 minutes for one cycle at most every 24 hours.

Please update your ss to reflect what you shot.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Emily said:
Do I cut back on the dose tonight? He seems to be getting farther and farther from regulation :cry:

Emily, let's see how Prince does today. Unless he earns a reduction by going below 50, I would say continue holding the current dose of 2.5u. He's seen green on this dose - that's fantastic!!! Regulation takes time. Prince is making great progress. He's had a lot less reds than when you first started and no blacks for nearly a month, and now is starting to see more blues. Oh, and did I mention the GREENS! The pinks are just Mr Liver freaking out about the lower numbers - yellows, blues and greens. Just keep asking for advice and following the recommendations provided and you'll continue to see improvement. And don't forget the stickies. There's so much great informtation available on this website.

Hang in there. All in good time.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Sorry I wasn't around. I'm usually logged in at your shot time. You all did great!

The frequent tests early in the cycle will give you lots of good info!!

One suggestion: On your SS, your AMPS is the number your actually shot. So, if Prince was at 90, that's your AMPS. You'll need to make the adjustments on your SS. The 58 would be your +12.

I'd suggest getting a test at +11. You will need to start to move your shot time back in order to get on schedule. If Prince bounces the way he did the last time he saw green, you may be able to shoot as much as an hour early. If not, you'll be able to shoot 15 - 30 min. early.

Also, could you please delete the other thread/condo you started? We do our best to maintain one condo per cat per day. That way, all of the information is in one place if you need to back track and it keeps the number of active condos at a reasonable number.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Emily as stated by Sienne, typically, we do one condo per day so that advice providers can see what's happened throughout the day. Along with updating your ss as mentioned by Sienne, could you also update your subject line on this condo? Take out the "Stalling..Please help". Remember your time starts from your shot time, so if the 104 is 30 minutes after the shot, your condo subject line could read: 3/18 Prince AMPS 90; +0.5/104. If you want dosing advice, at some point today you could add the question mark and "Dosing advice" to your subject line.

I would say hold the dose unless Prince drops below 50. However, I'd be curious to see what others think. You did have a BCS on the 15th and Prince still made it down to a low green; however, he hasn't earned an "honest" reduction, so I would say hold the dose.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58! Stalling..Please Help!

Oops-I'm sorry. I thought that was what I was supposed to do when you said change subject line. Sorry about that.

I'm a little confused. I didn't realize the 58 would be the +12. If I change it, the plus 1 won't be 9:00 am, it will be an hour after and everything will be thrown off. I thought the AMPS was just the morning number before your usual shot. In this case, I had to delay it.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58, reduced dose.

Try deleting the other condo now. It would not let you delete if my posts were still there. I deleted them. You update the subject line by going back to your initial post this moring. Select edit and just update the subject line and submit. Do not update the body of your initial post (that can get very confusing when back tracking). Does that make sense?

Oops - here's an edit to my post. The AMPS/PMPS is the (last) BG you had right before shooting. If you stall then you would reflect as additional time from your last shot. So if you stalled an hour, the reading would be reflected as +12. If you took another reading an hour later and then shot then that reading would be reflected as your AM (or PM)PS (whatever the case may be). But if you continue stalling (don't shoot) then it would be reflected as +13. Hope that helps clarify. If not, just ask again.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58, reduced dose.

Hi guys .. I hope you don't feel like you made a fuss, we have all been in that panic mode ourselves so we understand .. you did great, and I'm so glad others were around to help you! Now, just take a deep breath :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58, reduced dose.

Emily, Yay! I see you updated your subject line. It's close to what you should reflect. It should actually be somthing along the lines of "3/18 Prince AMPS 90, (Stall w/BCS)". You could then add updates since the shot, for instance +0.5/104. It's helpful to see Prince's name in the subject line for those of us who want to track how he's doing.
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58, reduced dose.

Will do. What does BCS stand for? Also, does my SS make sense? Did I update it correctly? ( I put the actual times in for my sake, and so my husband knows what is going on).
 
Re: 3/18 AMPS 58, reduced dose.

BCS means Big Chicken S**t (shot). It means a reduced dose just this one time due to various circumstances.

I think your updates to the ss look fine except shouldn't the 180 actually be +1?
 
Prince 3/18 AMPS 58,(Stall w/BCS),+1.5/180

I took the 180 at 10:30 am, and gave the shot at 9:00 am, so I thought that should be +1.5
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 58,(Stall w/BCS),+1.5/180

Emily said:
I took the 180 at 10:30 am, and gave the shot at 9:00 am, so I thought that should be +1.5

Oh, ok. Yes, that's right. Sorry, I got myself confused.

For your subject line, the AMPS should be 90 (that's the reading you got right before you shot). PS = Pre shot, and would convey that a shot was given immediately after (within 15 minutes or so).

Here are some suggestions of what you could have posted earlier:

3/18 Prince: +12/ 58; Advice - Shoot? or
3/18 Prince: +12/ 58 Stalling; Help - Advice - Shoot?

Once you shot you could edit the subject line in your initial post to:
3/18 Prince: +12/ 58; AMPS 90 or
3/18 Prince: AMPS 90

If you wanted to let people know you shot a reduced dose you could add "(BCS)" at the end but it's not really necessary.

So for now, to make room for the test results going forward today you might want to delete the "(Stall w/BCS)" as it's not that relevant and advice providers will see that on Prince's ss. I mentioned it earlier because you had "reduced" in your subject line and this is just another way to provide that inforamation. If you need more space in your subject line you could also delete the "Re: ".

Make sense?
 
Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Yes, thank you! Do I keep adding the BG readings into the subject line or just replace the reading with the latest one?

I will ask for advice on what time to shoot and how much later on!
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Hi, Emily

You can keep adding the BG's into the subject line, and when the line gets full, simply remove the first one to make room for the newest one. Also, be sure to update Prince's spread sheet at the same time.

Hope that helps! :-D
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

You'll want to shoot 12 hours from the last shot that you've given him. So, if you've given Prince the shot at 9:00 a.m., then you'll want to shoot at 9:00 p.m.
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Emily said:
Yes, thank you! Do I keep adding the BG readings into the subject line or just replace the reading with the latest one?

I will ask for advice on what time to shoot and how much later on!

You can do whatever you think would be most helpful. If he continues to rise (which he may because of this morning's green), you really don't even need to update the subject unless you want to. It's when the kitty is dropping that adding the updates to show the downward trend is more beneficial - that info gets eyes on Prince's condo and advice givers a heads up.

Updates are also appreciated if kitty had been going low/dropping and is now on the rise - advice givers appreciate the status update and being advised that kitty is ok.

BTW - If you select the Question mark icon on your initial post and your question gets answered, you can go back to your initial post and click on the None radial button to remove the question mark from your post. As you're still waiting on responses to the dose question on your initial post this morning, you can leave the question mark icon on your condo's subject line so others can see you have a question. Post your question again later will be helpful and bring your question to the forefront so others don't miss it.
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd suggest getting a test at +11. You will need to start to move your shot time back in order to get on schedule. If Prince bounces the way he did the last time he saw green, you may be able to shoot as much as an hour early. If not, you'll be able to shoot 15 - 30 min. early.

I agree with Sienne about the shot time. If Prince is high enough, you have some wiggle room and may depart from the standard "no more than 30 minutes in a 24 hour period".
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225, +3/356

Ok, that's good. He is at 356 already. :( How do you ever get a cat regulated? I've never seen him so low, and now he is so high. What do I do if this happens again? Reduce the dose temporarily? It seems to just mess everything up. But, I fear what would happen if he had the usual 2.5 this morning.
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Emily, he's bouncing from the green. It just takes time to get the kitty's liver used to the lower (normal) numbers. Sticking with the protocol provides the best chance for regulation and maybe even remission. The protocol works but it does take time - some kitty's take longer than others to become regulated. Unfortunately you don't know what kind of kitty you have until they're regulated.

Remember: With Lantus, consistency is key. You want to dose as per the guidelines of the Protocol.

Below is what the protocol says and fortunately there are many experienced care givers here on FDMB that can help guide you. Just keep asking questions.

General Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Based on that, would you recommend giving 2.25 units tonight, or go back up to 2.5?
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225, +3/356

Emily said:
What do I do if this happens again? Reduce the dose temporarily? It seems to just mess everything up. But, I fear what would happen if he had the usual 2.5 this morning.

Print out the sticky on dealing with low pre shot numbers so you'll have it handy next time. Reading and understanding it in advance will also be very beneficial. Next time you can stall without feeding and as soon as you know he's on the rise you can shoot if you're prepared to monitor him, have plenty of tesing strips and HC or syrup/Karo on hand. It's scary the first time you have to guide with food but eventually you learn what works and it's a lot less scary. Today, while I was on the board, Zeke dropped to 55 and I was able to monitor him and keep him safe and I did so with total confidence/calmness. But this confidence has come with time and having gone through guiding with food many, many times which has resulted in me "knowing my cat". The time I've dedicated to following the protocol has paid off. Zeke is a much different and healthier cat now than before TRP. Prince can get there too.
 
Re: Prince 3/18 AMPS 90, +2/225

Emily said:
Based on that, would you recommend giving 2.25 units tonight, or go back up to 2.5?

If Prince were my cat, as long as I could continue testing/monitoring as needed, I would hold the current dose (2.5u) . Keep in mind that you gave a reduced dose this morning (and an hour late) so you've drained the depot some. Time will tell whether the next move is to go up or down. I don't see any reason to reduce and with that 58 I would not consider increasing but let's see what others say.
 
Hi All,

Is it okay if I shoot an hour early since Prince is so high this evening? His usual shot is 8am/8pm, but due to the extremely low numbers this morning, I stalled for an hour and ended up giving him his shot at 9am (1.75U instead of 2.5U). Can I go back to 8am tonight (planning on giving 2.5U)?

I'm so worried about him :( I'm going to have my husband try to test for ketones tonight while I'm at school.

Thank you!
 
Get a +11 and post and ask about shooting early. It's likely going to be OK, but can't tell until we see it.
 
Hang in there Emily! You're doing fine!

Remember, you've only been at this dance for a little over a month....Prince may have been hiding his diabetes for a very long time before it was bad enough to get the diagnosis.

We have a saying you'll see here a lot..."This is a marathon, not a sprint". We all want our kitties to be cured yesterday, but unfortunately, it just doesn't work that way.

The protocol does give Prince his best chance of getting OTJ, but if it never happens, I'm betting you'll love him just as much..if not more! I was really a little shocked at how close China and I became after her diagnosis. I'd thought I'd always loved and adored her, but the relationship you build with your sugarcats is even greater than you ever imagined possible.

Regulation is the goal, OTJ status is a wonderful surprise, and both just take time and following the protocol. And don't worry! We've all "freaked out" occasionally and did the "wrong" thing....but when keeping them safe, there really isn't anything "wrong"! Prince will come back fine, and as you get more data, you'll learn how quickly he clears his bounces (usually) and how low you can safely shoot. It's all a long, learning process.

Good luck! I know you'll do great with the help of all the wonderful people here in Lantus Land!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top