Lizzee
Member Since 2020
I wanted to thank all of you for the wonderful informative posts Ive found here. Im still shaken and incredibly angry with my vet.
Im relatively new to being a diabetic cat mom and my fur baby Shurshishkas BG pre feeding is usually 324 -360, as were working on our way to regulation at 2u a dose. I did Shurshishkas curve as usual on Sunday and forwarded the results to my vet who got back to me on Tuesday. Her curve at the time jumped up to 504 temporarily, and a wonderful member here let me know about “bouncing.” My vet recommended a doseage increase to 3u without knowing the lowest point on her curve, and gave me some haphazard advice about watching out for hypoglycemia. Ive read elsewhere that sometimes a whole unit increase can be bad for a cat so I was hesitant. My fiancee and I hesitantly gave her 2.5u not trusting the vets advice. Five and a half hours later her BG was at a whopping 62.4! Im scared to think of what would have happened had we administered the full dosage our vet recommended.
We monitored her BG every 30 minutes until it came back up to a comfortable 111.6. She didnt display any symptoms like shaking, she was just tired and wanted to nap lol.
Im very grateful for this forum. Thank you to Wendy&Niko for your knowledge about BG bouncing. Without it I wouldnt have known what to look out for, and we would have had to say goodbye to our baby before it was her time. At best, we avoided thousands of dollars in ER vet bills.
Im relatively new to being a diabetic cat mom and my fur baby Shurshishkas BG pre feeding is usually 324 -360, as were working on our way to regulation at 2u a dose. I did Shurshishkas curve as usual on Sunday and forwarded the results to my vet who got back to me on Tuesday. Her curve at the time jumped up to 504 temporarily, and a wonderful member here let me know about “bouncing.” My vet recommended a doseage increase to 3u without knowing the lowest point on her curve, and gave me some haphazard advice about watching out for hypoglycemia. Ive read elsewhere that sometimes a whole unit increase can be bad for a cat so I was hesitant. My fiancee and I hesitantly gave her 2.5u not trusting the vets advice. Five and a half hours later her BG was at a whopping 62.4! Im scared to think of what would have happened had we administered the full dosage our vet recommended.
We monitored her BG every 30 minutes until it came back up to a comfortable 111.6. She didnt display any symptoms like shaking, she was just tired and wanted to nap lol.
Im very grateful for this forum. Thank you to Wendy&Niko for your knowledge about BG bouncing. Without it I wouldnt have known what to look out for, and we would have had to say goodbye to our baby before it was her time. At best, we avoided thousands of dollars in ER vet bills.


