Priss
Member Since 2012
Hi Everyone,
Priss was newly diagnosed last month and we started testing this last week or so. A few days ago, her BG was at 120 at her usual shot time (1 unit every 12 hours), I waited a half hour and it went down even more to 99. Last night she was at 60 before shot time, I did a search on the forums which found a post recommending not to give her the insulin under 150, or even 200. Then this morning she was 300, so I gave her the usual unit. Now, she is at 60 again and it is time for her evening shot - I am really confused here, am I supposed to lower her dose? Skipping the shot just makes her go up high before the next one. She had ketones when diagnosed so I'm concerned about that. We need to set up a spreadsheet but now this happened twice.
Thank you for any advice.
Priss was newly diagnosed last month and we started testing this last week or so. A few days ago, her BG was at 120 at her usual shot time (1 unit every 12 hours), I waited a half hour and it went down even more to 99. Last night she was at 60 before shot time, I did a search on the forums which found a post recommending not to give her the insulin under 150, or even 200. Then this morning she was 300, so I gave her the usual unit. Now, she is at 60 again and it is time for her evening shot - I am really confused here, am I supposed to lower her dose? Skipping the shot just makes her go up high before the next one. She had ketones when diagnosed so I'm concerned about that. We need to set up a spreadsheet but now this happened twice.
Thank you for any advice.