Preshot low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priss

Member Since 2012
Hi Everyone,

Priss was newly diagnosed last month and we started testing this last week or so. A few days ago, her BG was at 120 at her usual shot time (1 unit every 12 hours), I waited a half hour and it went down even more to 99. Last night she was at 60 before shot time, I did a search on the forums which found a post recommending not to give her the insulin under 150, or even 200. Then this morning she was 300, so I gave her the usual unit. Now, she is at 60 again and it is time for her evening shot - I am really confused here, am I supposed to lower her dose? Skipping the shot just makes her go up high before the next one. She had ketones when diagnosed so I'm concerned about that. We need to set up a spreadsheet but now this happened twice.

Thank you for any advice.
 
Yes, you are going to need to lower her dose, ideally you want to find a dose that allows you to give it every 12 hours and clearly if this has happened twice she is telling you that the dose is too high.

Do your syringes have 1/2 unit marks? If so you can kind of eyeball the mid-point between 1u and .5u and that would be .75u and see if that is a better dose for her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top