Preshot +327 and +6 402 ? Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I just did a +6 with the 1.5 dose today and got a 402. I fed Lovey a small meal at +2.5 because she was looking for food. She came looking for food again at +5, but I didn't feed her.
I tested myself with a strip and got a 162. I just tested cat again and reading was 401. Even if 1.5 wasn't enough insulin. I would see a lower number? The preshot wasn't that high.

Should I go down a little and test for a few days? When I gave the 1.25 the other day, her BG only came down to 260.

Should I go up to 1.75 when I am off to monitor and see my numbers.

Do you think a vet checkup might help? A fructosamine test and check on pancreatitis? Lovey has been eating well.
 
It looks like your later post indicated she had a hairball. That will raise the bg levels. I'd let her tummy settle down and see what kind of numbers you get.

One thing to wrap your head round at the beginning of this sugar dance is that one number is just one number. Don't react to a single bg level. Give it a couple tests to see wht is really hppening.
 
Thanks for your response. I am trying to relax but I seem to be getting more and more numbers lately that are high during preshot and midcycle. I thought it seemed like a pattern or am I overreacting? I am back to teaching and am finding it hard to leave lovey when I don't understand the readings . She threw up her food a hair ball this morning.
I tested her 6 hours before and got the 402 which concerned me as a midcycle number. do you think a fructasomine
test will help me understand the picture a little better. It will give me an average blood sugar for the past 2 weeks I think?? I made a vet appt. Although, I am not crazy about my vet. I would like to find a new place when I can.

Are there any things that I could ask the vet to check into that you think would be worthwhile.

Thanks again.
 
Vet Interview Topics

You'll want a vet who:

1) supports home testing of blood glucose and is OK about using a human glucometer

2) supports feeding a low carbohydrate over the counter cat food, or raw low carb food

3) is either up to date, or willing to do the homework to become up to date on feline diabetes and common comorbidities.

4) if up to date, is familiar with the use of ProZinc, PZI, Lantus, and/or Levemir IN CATS; ask how they determine initial dosing and how often the dose is given. This may be based on lean body weight (verify it if they say based on weight as some vets forget this, per Dr Pierson) or may start low at 0.5 units. Dosing should be twice a day.

5) has pricing you can live with - check office visit fee, vaccine fee, CBC and chemistry fee, etc. Ask how often they have you bring the diabetic cat in and for what reasons (if you are home testing, you can do curves and averages at home, and the cat doesn't get 'regulated' at the vet office where stress makes the numbers unreliable)

6) if currently treating diabetic cats, ask how long they usually survive (should be several years, barring other conditions)
 
Well, the fructosamine test will only give you an average over the last couple of weeks. You are getting much better, accurate, real time results with your home testing. IMHO, the fructosamine will not give you much added value. The home testing you are doing is giving you a very good picture of what is going on.
 
It seems like the insulin isn't working the way I would expect it. I am wondering if there are any underlying problems.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top