Meya14
Member Since 2015
I'm new posting to to board, but have read many threads. So I'll start with a little background.
Max is 8, male, and diagnosed in July 2014 with DM and Ketoacidosis. Blood testing at this time and recently (2 weeks ago) showed no other disease process (however he did have peridontal disease). Lantus was started, and doses increased slowly until he was to 7u twice a day. Curves were high and flat (lowest bg 390's, highest 590's on this dose). Vet switched us to levemir and started increasing again. 3 weeks ago he was up to 6 units twice a day with little response (lowest about 290's, highest 550's).
I noticed a month ago, Max had bleeding teeth, and appeared to have an oral infection. Antibiotics started. Teeth were cleaned and several extracted 2 weeks ago. Due to continued high BS readings, vet increased us to 7 units levemir twice a day. Since this time, Max's sugars have been lower (highest 350's, lowest 37). I haven't taken a curve, but rather spot check usually daily, sometimes several times during the day. I don't keep a spreadsheet as we had almost no curve (always high) in the past, but will probably start. He's had several episodes of blood sugars below 50 mg/dl since starting on 7U twice a day. These occur very late after his dose, about +8h to +9h. At times, the predose BS is 120ish, at other times it is up to 300.
Called the vet today to report sugars, and vet recommended, "If he's low dose 6U next dose, and give 7U if not low". However, I'd like to keep a stable regimen for his insulin, so I'm wondering what parameters and what time I should take BS to adjust dose, especially considering his late nadirs. Also, is this late of a nadir possibly a reason that we are fluctuating so much? Other advice also very welcome.
Thanks.
Max is 8, male, and diagnosed in July 2014 with DM and Ketoacidosis. Blood testing at this time and recently (2 weeks ago) showed no other disease process (however he did have peridontal disease). Lantus was started, and doses increased slowly until he was to 7u twice a day. Curves were high and flat (lowest bg 390's, highest 590's on this dose). Vet switched us to levemir and started increasing again. 3 weeks ago he was up to 6 units twice a day with little response (lowest about 290's, highest 550's).
I noticed a month ago, Max had bleeding teeth, and appeared to have an oral infection. Antibiotics started. Teeth were cleaned and several extracted 2 weeks ago. Due to continued high BS readings, vet increased us to 7 units levemir twice a day. Since this time, Max's sugars have been lower (highest 350's, lowest 37). I haven't taken a curve, but rather spot check usually daily, sometimes several times during the day. I don't keep a spreadsheet as we had almost no curve (always high) in the past, but will probably start. He's had several episodes of blood sugars below 50 mg/dl since starting on 7U twice a day. These occur very late after his dose, about +8h to +9h. At times, the predose BS is 120ish, at other times it is up to 300.
Called the vet today to report sugars, and vet recommended, "If he's low dose 6U next dose, and give 7U if not low". However, I'd like to keep a stable regimen for his insulin, so I'm wondering what parameters and what time I should take BS to adjust dose, especially considering his late nadirs. Also, is this late of a nadir possibly a reason that we are fluctuating so much? Other advice also very welcome.
Thanks.