Prednisolone dose timing with insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker'sMom-Jen

Member Since 2014
I am wondering if any fellow beans out there time who have to give insulin AND steroids try to stagger the dosing? Or do you give both at the same time?

I have only been giving insulin since 8/31 and up until yesterday had been giving the pred and insulin at the same time for convenience sake. Last night I goofed and ended up giving the pred 3 hrs late. This morning I gave it 2 hrs late... And for the first time instead of surfing or even rising his sugars dropped into an actual curve for the first time! Tonight at PMPS he is even below no shot level...

I can't say why for sure - it may be his body finally allowing the insulin to work. But I have to wonder...

Any thoughts?
 
Use your spreadsheet to track the prednisolone dose time in a 2nd line underneath the line with glucose tests for each day. You may be able to determine an optimal time to give the prednisolone .
 
Saw your post.. Looked at you spreadsheet and Toby's looks a lot like your's. Mostly pinks with a few yellows. With reds and blacks thrown in. He is on 2.5mg of Prednisolone 2X daily. I've always given this with his shots. Going to try giving it 2hrs.
later and see what it does. He is now on 6.25 units of levermir and his numbers are still high. He was on PZI for about a year
but, couldn't regulate so decided to try levermir, Still haven't been able to regulate. Right now we are in the TR group. It will
be interesting to see what happens. Thanks for sharing, Will let you know how we make out, Peg and Toby
 
Timing should not make much of a difference at especial since you are giving the pred 2X daily. Giving it 2X results in pretty constant concentration in the body.
 
Peg and Toby said:
Saw your post.. Looked at you spreadsheet and Toby's looks a lot like your's. Mostly pinks with a few yellows. With reds and blacks thrown in. He is on 2.5mg of Prednisolone 2X daily. I've always given this with his shots. Going to try giving it 2hrs.
later and see what it does. He is now on 6.25 units of levermir and his numbers are still high. He was on PZI for about a year
but, couldn't regulate so decided to try levermir, Still haven't been able to regulate. Right now we are in the TR group. It will
be interesting to see what happens. Thanks for sharing, Will let you know how we make out, Peg and Toby
Thanks for sharing!
 
Larry and Kitties said:
Timing should not make much of a difference at especial since you are giving the pred 2X daily. Giving it 2X results in pretty constant concentration in the body.
True, but in our case Tucker gets a "boost" in the evenings with an xtra 2.5 mgs.
 
BJM said:
Use your spreadsheet to track the prednisolone dose time in a 2nd line underneath the line with glucose tests for each day. You may be able to determine an optimal time to give the prednisolone .
Great idea! I have been keeping notes in the comments but may need to try that - or maybe just change the background color of the text box when he is pilled...
 
The background color indicates the glucose number range; might want to leave that alone.
You can reduce the height of the row noting the pred dose time, so it doesn't take away from noticing the glucose test color patterns.
 
Yesterday started out with bg AMS 470 PMS 393. Gave pred. 2 hrs. later than uaual. This morning started out AMS 385 Will give
Pred . 2 hrs. late today and see what happens . Peg and Toby
 
Sorry didn't see any difference in Toby's bg by giving the Pred. 2 hrs later. This morning his AMS was 556. Maybe you are just getting the right dose level now. Thank-you for sharing it would have been wonderful it it had worked. You never know til you give something a try. Thanks again, Peg and Toby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top