nepenthe
Member Since 2010
I've been having a hard time getting my boy stable. If you look at my chart going back to the beginning of the year, there are periods of a month or more where he is pretty much in the blues and low yellows, and then out of the blue, he will start with pre-shots of 300, even more sometimes.
So, I try to follow the advice in Tilly and "Queensland" protocol and raise the dose .25 and hold for at least 3 days and then its like he straightens out for a few weeks and then bounces again.
What's most confusing is the constant second-guessing if I am giving too much or not enough (from what I read, both can cause the same symptoms). And even more so, why was he doing so well all Jan, Feb and late March to end-April. It is especially weird that this is happening on Levemir (although its maybe a little early to tell).
Recently I put him from Lantus to Levemir. He was on 1.75U Lantus and started him on 1U Lev; I have increased his dose .25 every 4-5 days. He will still range from pre-shot of 200 and up to 300 12 hrs later.
I am concerned that this bouncing is hard on his metabolism, as he is losing muscle in his thighs.
Is there a way to rule out if "bouncing" (if we can call this that) is caused by too much or too little insulin?
Notes:
he is fed FF classic chicken - no dry food whatsoever to cause spikes
has history of low-level pancreatis (which could be the cause of this)
he gets 100ml sub-qs EOD
So, I try to follow the advice in Tilly and "Queensland" protocol and raise the dose .25 and hold for at least 3 days and then its like he straightens out for a few weeks and then bounces again.
What's most confusing is the constant second-guessing if I am giving too much or not enough (from what I read, both can cause the same symptoms). And even more so, why was he doing so well all Jan, Feb and late March to end-April. It is especially weird that this is happening on Levemir (although its maybe a little early to tell).
Recently I put him from Lantus to Levemir. He was on 1.75U Lantus and started him on 1U Lev; I have increased his dose .25 every 4-5 days. He will still range from pre-shot of 200 and up to 300 12 hrs later.
I am concerned that this bouncing is hard on his metabolism, as he is losing muscle in his thighs.
Is there a way to rule out if "bouncing" (if we can call this that) is caused by too much or too little insulin?
Notes:
he is fed FF classic chicken - no dry food whatsoever to cause spikes
has history of low-level pancreatis (which could be the cause of this)
he gets 100ml sub-qs EOD