Pre dinner BG level tests at 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

kareydk

Member Since 2014
I'm not sure I was able to get the spreadsheet to show up in my signature -- server issues when I was trying earlier today.

I should probably be posting to the relaxed group since right now I'm only testing immediately before meals, but I had a prior question get forwarded to this group. So here I am.

Synopsis: Simon's BG levels have been testing in the 350 - 450 range. Yesterday he was in the 200s. This morning he was at 167 initially and then 206 post-feeding. Just now I tested him pre-dinner and he is at 130. I thought it was a fluke, so retested. That one registered at 137.

He has been on 2 units of lantus twice per day since last Thursday. (Started at 1.0, then went to 1.5, then to 2.0, based on curve testing).

I am not comfortable giving him 2.0 units of lantus right now. He ate almost a half a 3 oz. can of Wellness. He'd probably eat more if I gave it to him, although he's a little off because of pre-feeding asthma attacks -- this happened this morning too. But he bounced back earlier and ate his small meals at lunch and at 5:00, so total today he's eaten 2.5 three ounce cans. No dry food in days.

I have a call in to the clinic. The receptionist sounded like she didn't think it would be a good idea either. I told her to tell the vet that his curve information is in his records and gave her the numbers from the past two days. The vet is dealing with emergencies right now, so I don't know when we'll hear back. But I'm thinking I should hold off until I hear?

I should mention that all these low readings are coming in on a new packet of test strips. I'm using the ReliOn and the appropriate test strips.
 
It would be helpful if we had the test results for more than just the last two days in Simon's SS.

First, are you going to be able to do any testing tonight? Most of us here will shoot lower numbers, but only when we have the data to do so. If you have recently removed dry food from Simon's diet, then that will reduce his need for insulin. How many days since he last had dry food? I think I would shoot a lower dose tonight, but my suggestion on dose depends on whether you are able to test.

What day did he start insulin? Normally we hold the first dose for 5-7 days, then increase after that depending on the numbers. Just wondering if you also went up too fast.
 
I'm providing the link to your first post so everyone gets some background info.
Simon's info


I agree with your facebook friends that we can help you in a huge way here.....
It does sound like the dose increases jumped a bit high quickly.....
the good news is he's already seeing lower numbers so he has a good chance.....
asthma treatments often lead to diabetes.....

ask lots of questions..... there are many of us here who will help you as much as you want.....

and Welcome to Lantus land.....
 
The clinic was very non- helpful. They are busy and the vet does not have time to review his records unless I bring him in.

He was at 1 unit for one week , then at 1.5 for a week and started at 2.0 last Thursday. The increases were because his BG wasn't dropping-- we were increasing prednisolone each week in an attempt to control his asthma, and that med increases BG. Up until yesterday he had only once ever tested in the 200s; all other results have always been 300 or higher. Is it possible to have gotten a bad batch of test strips?
 
I supposed it's possible to have a bad batch of strips but usually they are good if before the expiry date. What type of monitor/strips are you using? For some you can get a controls solution to test the numbers. I always have more than one package of strips around so can test from another if needed.

It's also possible that 2.0U of insulin is a good dose for Simon. We normally increase by just .25U if you see numbers in the 200's so you might have gone up to 2.0 too quickly. Is Simon getting prednilisone twice a day? Mariko gives her Lucy pred just once a day and if you look at Lucy's SS you'll see she gets a bump in numbers most mornings from pred but not at night when she doesn't get it.

Sorry the clinic does not have time for you. Part of the good thing of the board here and the protocol is that it gives you a guidelines what to do next. And there is someone here almost all the time. I followed my vet's suggestions for the first couple of weeks but quickly stopped doing that. They are no help if it's their day off or the clinic is closed or busy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top