Prayers Pls - Saoirse Intraocular Bleed - SUNDAY UPDATE: Nausea Reduced, Eating Again, Eyelids Puffy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, here's a link to something you CAN do for the nausea, Mogs:) It's an acupressure site for dogs and cats. The illustration is for a dog, but cat's accupressure sites are mostly the same, they are both quadruped mammals. there IS, however some cat acupressure diagrams at the bottom of the page.

Here you go: Acupressure for cats and dogs.

This will have two types of benefits. First, you'll feel like you're doing something that you know will help, so you will feel better :D and second, it WILL make Saoirse feel more relaxed and at ease, and quite possibly reduce her nausea considerably. Sound, rythm, smell..everything you can do to occupy her mind and distract her from her owies is a plus in your favor.

I suspect you can add PTSD to Saoirse's mix, so use your own feelings to diagnose where and when she's tensing up, and possibly apply what you do for yourself for panic attacks, to her.

If you can get hold of some lavender essential oil, you might want to put a small steamer near her, and add a couple of drops of the oil to whatever well is provided on the steamer, so the oil can circulate in the air. Don't put it in the water as the coil that heats the water can change the oil and render it useless.

PLEASE NOTE: Don't ever use eucalyptus oil near cats...it's toxic to them. I'm always amazed at two things..how many products for cats and dogs include mineral oil and petroleum jelly, both petroleum distillates..which are toxic to cats...and that vets don't warn people during flu season, about the danger of eucalyptus in homes with felines. They don't warn people about pine-sol cleaners, either..and the natural substances produced in both eucalyptus and pine sap are very close to petroleum distillates in the way they interact with felines. Always be careful of essential oils, particularly peppermint (a teaspoon of peppermint oil can kill a child)..bergamot, orange, lime, lemon..essential oils are uberconcentrated essences..powerful medicinals in their own right, as the sense of smell is very visceral..it's the first sense to have developed in our ancient ancestors, the ones swimming in primeval oceans..so they can trigger healing responses in the body. Essential Oils are a language all their own.
 
Thank you for the link, Jeanne. This is where I fall down badly with the PTSD: I looked at it and there's so much information there that it makes me feel panicked and overwhelmed and I can't take it in; it's just swimming in front of me. :(

.
 
Hugs and prayers Mogs, we've been watching. Still catching up on the last few hours but wanted to get the energy out there:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much, Andy. :bighug:And the energy is helping: she's eating for me. Her regular food with a little pumpkin and some added water, and she didn't need coaxing. She actually wandered out of the living room into the kitchen while I was getting it ready. It's the most active she has been all day.

Her appetite kicked up a gear about 3/4 of an hour ago and she tried to eat a little chicken and broth soup but had to to give up. She did get some fluids at least.

Possibly significant - Saoirse's appetite picked up:

1. a little while after getting her tropicamide dilation drops.

2. just over 24 hours after the dose of amlodipine was administered.

Just hope she can keep it down. She was a bit lip-licky after eating it.

.
 
Last edited:
How about a good old backrub for Saoirse. My cats ADORE their backrubs and often come demanding them. I start with a few long strokes the length of the spine (top of head to just above tail) and then use small circular motions with a little pressure from the neck (starting just behind the jaw) and continue down on either side of the spine to mid back and repeat two or three times or till my hands are tired! I managed to put a very hyper Golden Retriever to sleep using this technique. I find it very relaxing for me too probably because I can see and feel my furkids relaxing into it so completely!
 
How about a good old backrub for Saoirse.
Thank you for this suggestion, Linda. Saoirse likes having her back stroked unless she's feeling really icky (like the other night ... :( ). She's ensconced under the coffee table right now and I don't want to pester her, but I will give it a try tomorrow when I get her settled on the sofa. I like the idea of doing the little circular movements. Wouldn't mind some of them myself right now; my back was injured in the accident and the increased muscle tension from the anxiety is making it feel like it's on fire. I am a crock. :(

.
 
Ok, go down the page to the top cat illustrationt that looks like a siamese. Note on the outside of the top/ left back leg and you will see a (ST36) and (ST40). Those meridians have to do with stomach issues. The inside of the right leg, just above the hock, is (Ki7)..that has to do with the kidneys.

It might help for you to do what I do when a 2D illustration jumps out to bite me. Take a piece of paper and cut out a square about two inches by two inches, and use it to overlay sections of the image. This way you can shut out the 'noise' of most of the illustration, and just look at a small part of it. The letters in the first part of the point identifications pertain to the part of the body the meridian helps, (except for a couple of abbreviations I won't get into now). The numbers simply denote the location among multipule points for each organ.

There is a meridian specific to the pancreas, and you would see it on the great dane illustration. If you will pm me with your email addy I will send you a picture of exactly where this spot is located on the dane. Soairse's 'spot' is in the same location. There are a few other points too but that's the main one I wanted to point out.
 
Last edited:
How is Magellan doing, Julia?

Oh Magellan is doing ok.. he is back with his daddy, though he has a bad game he loves to play or should I say a few bad games. He loves to snatch his treat then hide from daddy when it is testing time. He also likes to bounce off his own insulin.. the stuff he produces. So he gets 5 micro meals through out the day to keep him level I miss the goth brat, but I get him every other weekends when daddy brings him over for visit and play dates.
 
65396d1373202998-funny-cats-cat-massage.jpg
 
It upsets me that I'm so flaky when I get scared nowadays. Saoirse needs me and I want to be as strong-sounding and as positive for her as possible, but I'm really struggling to do so at the moment. I've been telling her all the way through about all the prayers and healing vibes being sent to her from all of you. I noticed a bit earlier that my voice sounded a bit more even when I was passing on the latest messages to her, so I'm going to do it more frequently in the hope it might help her to hear a bit more positive certainty in my voice. I love my baby so.

.
 
Last edited:
Mogs, I almost died from untreated (and unknown) low blood pressure, and I can tell you it makes one extremely nauseated. Sometimes, I would suddenly just vomit, with no warning, as well. Also I had periods where I HAD to lie down or I would pass out, I had no control over it. This might account for some of Saoirse's lethargy.

My Squallie absolutely loves to have a kitty massage, and he highly recommends them to Saoirse!

I know it's so hard to stay calm when our babies aren't feeling well. Remember, though, that everything always looks scarier at night than it does in the light of day. Something that works for me -and Squallie- is picking out a song, usually a love song or one of that type, something nice, anyway, that has a name in it, and substituting his name in it's place. "You are my Sunshine" works in a pinch when the old noggin is overwhelmed. It just becomes "You are my Squallie." Helps calm both of us!

Keeping positive thoughts for you and Saoirse, and, of course, still sending the prayers and healing vines, along with tons of hugs.

Lucy :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Something that works for me -and Squallie- is picking out a song, usually a love song or one of that type, something nice, anyway, that has a name in it, and substituting his name in it's place. "You are my Sunshine" works in a pinch when the old noggin is overwhelmed.
My 2 have their own "theme" songs. Regan's is Green Day's "Basket Case" - as a kitten she was terrified of everything so it seemed to fit her personality. I sang it to her one day while I was doing her eye drops (they both had Calicivirus as kittens) and she calmed right down and stopped fighting me! And Rosa's is Rammstein's "Rosenrot" because of her name. I still sing to them, especially to Rosa when I'm doing her meds or her fluids - it makes DH laugh (fluids are a 2 person job with Rosa) but it stops her trying to run off halfway through! It's surprising, but if you pick a song and use it a few times, they learn to recognize it and it quietens them right down. :)
 
My 2 have their own "theme" songs. Regan's is Green Day's "Basket Case" - as a kitten she was terrified of everything so it seemed to fit her personality. I sang it to her one day while I was doing her eye drops (they both had Calicivirus as kittens) and she calmed right down and stopped fighting me! And Rosa's is Rammstein's "Rosenrot" because of her name. I still sing to them, especially to Rosa when I'm doing her meds or her fluids - it makes DH laugh (fluids are a 2 person job with Rosa) but it stops her trying to run off halfway through! It's surprising, but if you pick a song and use it a few times, they learn to recognize it and it quietens them right down. :)
Yes, it's true, they really do! :)
 
It's surprising, but if you pick a song and use it a few times, they learn to recognize it and it quietens them right down. :)

I often tell new members who are having trouble with testing to sing....it forces you to use a different part of your brain so instead of giving out "stressed" signals, you force your brain to calm down by singing and then the cat doesn't pick up on your stress

Of course for those cases, I recommend the "Hokey-Pokey song" ....LOL
 
Thank you for the suggestion. I can get some ginger to try it. How do you prepare it for a kitty? Is it ever contraindicated or does it have any side effects? (Sorry for all the questions; too exhausted to research.)

I was suggesting ginger for you! ;) I did a quick bit of research on ginger for cats and saw some anecdotal evidence but nothing conclusive and no dosing information. Tea brewed from grated ginger root seemed to be the most popular but some people gave their cats supplements. Most sources recommended consulting with your veterinarian. Earlier while discussing aloe vera you were reluctant to add something new to the mix so you may feel the same way about ginger.

Having dilated pupils really does blur your vision and makes it harder to focus in addition to making everything brighter. I find it impossible to read anything when my eyes are dilated and can only see clearly at a distance. I imagine there is probably a similar effect for cats and wonder if this could account for some of Saoirse's behavior changes.

I also want to remind you that slippery elm bark can interfere with the absorption of oral medication so you will want to give it separately. IIRC it is generally recommended to give SEB at least an hour after medications. I figure you know this already but you have a lot on your plate and a reminder never hurts.

:bighug: Hugs for you and Saoirse! :bighug:
 
Oh, (((Mogs)))... I'm so sorry that you and Saoirse are going through this...

Sending healing vibes to you both.
May Saorise recover very soon. May she be well again. May she be happy. Om mani peme hung.
May Mogs have physical and emotional strength. May her pain resolve. May she know peace and joy. Om mani peme hung.
.
 
Each of my kitties has had a special song. It's the first thing they hear from me when I get them, and the last thing they'll hear just before they pass. Some are made up tunes, and some I steal from songs already written..I just change the words. It soothes me, too. It must be the mother instinct in us all that causes us to sing.

High blood pressure can cause nausea too, and a terrible buzzing in the ears that can cause great distress. But for Saoirse, a lot of it must be attributable to fear. Good thing she has you, Mogs. You're a first-rate mom..and she's a lucky cat:bighug::cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

Oh, and aloe vera can sometimes cause nausea..it's a very individual thing.
 
Sorry for dropping off the radar last night. I passed out from exhaustion. Thank you all for your messages, prayers and suggestions. You're helping us more than you can possibly imagine and I'm so grateful to all of you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Brief update. Saoirse held down last night's food and thus far no more diarrhoea in litter box (anti-jinx, anti-jinx). Hungry this morning. Ate a little more of her regular food + pumpkin. A few nausea yawns after. She's still not feeling good - she was very cranky when I fetched her out of her lair under the coffee table to give her her next tropicamide dose but she's on the sofa beside me now.

I'm going to try to get a few more hours' sleep (shattered). Will talk to vet about meds and post an update after.

Thank you all so very, very much for being there for us and sending prayers and healing. I firmly believe you are helping Saoirse. You're definitely helping me.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I know it's hard, but try not to focus on every little thing she's doing. You really will drive yourself crazy and it's not good for your PTSD
You're right; I am my own worst enemy, Chris. :( If it was only a pancreatitis flare I'd know what to do to help Saoirse which would help me stay some bit calm but this stuff is so new - and much more frightening. I just want to help and protect my girl so much and it's really hard not knowing what to do. Doesn't help that so many things have happened one on top of the other. :(

I love the picture of China in your avatar. :)
.
 
Last edited:
That's a lovely update, Mogs. I'm so glad Saoirse is managing to eat and keep the food down. Hopefully she's over the worst and the vet can adjust her amlodipine dose - if they decide she still needs it at all - to keep her feeling better. :) Never apologize for passing out - you needed it after the last few days! I don't know how you've kept going on so little sleep! :bighug: Hopefully by the time you see this, you'll have managed to get a few more hours and will be feeling more refreshed for it. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Like April says...don't apologise for passing out. Our bodies need sleep or they can't function...period. Mothers, adoptive or not, seem to be gifted with the ability to stretch this rule a bit..but only for so long. Saoirse is doing ok, so it's good you got some sleep. We're all pleased to know such a courageous CatMom. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

:coffee:Now here's a cup of coffee for you. It'll help a bit. Make sure you eat right, too.
 
So glad to hear you got some rest and that Saoirse is keeping food down and no more loosy poopy! She is so lucky to have such a dedicated and devoted Momma Bean! But please look after yourself too! More healing vines and restful thoughts coming your way! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:and scritches for Saoirse!
 
Baby steps....every step forward is a step towards healing for you both. As others have said, it’s so important for you to get rest so you can be strong for her and help her along. It’s tough on the body (and emotionally) to be a caregiver for our babies because sometimes the meds schedule is pretty jammed so sleep must come when you can. We all hope you get strength knowing we are all here sending you and Saoirse tons and tons of healing energy.

Two other things which might help:
If you are good at visualization, sit comfortably near Saoirse and imagine a line going from your tail bone into the earth. Send all your worries and negative thoughts down the line one at a time where they will burn but will come back up to surround you in beautiful light. Then imagine a cup with a funnel at the top of your head and gold light is being poured into the cup and traveling through your entire body. Let it warm your body and then imagine gathering this light into a gold ball that you then softly blow to Saoirse.

The second is using the Emotional Freedom Technique. I’ve been doing this a lot for Tobey and me since Gracie crossed. It can help.
 
I am glad you got some sleep. Hoping you both a feeling better today.

I noticed that Saoirse was sedated for her eye exam. Sedation can cause many of the symptoms you saw yesterday - lethargy, not wanting to eat, vomiting. I've noticed that the older my cats became, the harder sedation hit them. Hopefully that was a contributing factor and the further you get from it the better she feels.

It can be very disturbing to have to dilate our kitty's eyes. Constant visual reminder and it looks like it would bother them. One of our fosters, Sly, needed one of his dilated for months. He had an ulcer that that vet was certain would scar but we wanted to minimize it. Sly got used to it and it didn't even bother him. His eye also completely cleared up and he doesn't have any sign of the ulcer or a scar! :) At first it may cause Saoirse some... not discomfort...but cause her to be a little out of sorts as her world looks different, things aren't focused the same, they aren't balanced the same. She will get used to this new view of her world and adapt to moving around in it better.

You and your doctors have identified some of the sources of problems causing Saoirse issues. Breath deep and focus on the fact that you have started treatment to fix those problems. You are helping your girl. She doesn't feel great right now, but you are working on that. Try not to focus on what could go wrong, focus on the healing you have started towards. You are already getting control of her diabetes. You are starting the process to get control of her BP. You are going to help her through the nausea. You got this.
 
Mogs,

I just saw this thread. I'm sending you tons of hugs and tons of chin scritches to Saoirse. You've been such a blessing and help to me and I so hope that things get better for you!
 
@Marje and Gracie - Fitting in all the different meds and supplements can definitely be a full-time job. I'm keeping things simple today. (Update to follow shortly.)

We all hope you get strength knowing we are all here sending you and Saoirse tons and tons of healing energy.
I really do, Marje. It is all that has kept the legs from going out from under me for the past few days and I appreciate you all so much. :bighug: I shudder to think what it would have been like to go through this all alone.

I really like the visualisation you sent me. I just tried it and Saoirse is now having a little rest - in the middle of the floor, not under the table! It's another baby step. :) I'm going to do it again tomorrow. It helped me, too; I like the idea of burning away all the scary thoughts. I'll also have a look at the link you sent me. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
@Marje and Gracie - Fitting in all the different meds and supplements can definitely be a full-time job. I'm keeping things simple today. (Update to follow shortly.)


I really do, Marje. It is all that has kept the legs from going out from under me for the past few days and I appreciate you all so much. :bighug: I shudder to think what it would have been like to go through this all alone.

I really like the visualisation you sent me. I just tried it and Saoirse is now having a little rest - in the middle of the floor, not under the table! It's another baby step. :) I'm going to do it again tomorrow. It helped me, too; I like the idea of burning away all the scary thoughts. I'll also have a look at the link you sent me. :bighug:
Mogs
.

Me, too....using this method, I've probably burned the equivalent of half of Tucson with worried thoughts about my babies. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: But also the beautiful, positive light that results has reinvigorated me. Mike said he can always tell when I’m to the gold light part because my face relaxes, my posture improves, etc.
 
My breathing got a bit smoother and some of the tension went out of my shoulders. At the end of it I pictured Saoirse surrounded by a golden glow. I'm glad the visualisation helps you, Marje, and thank you for teaching it to me. :bighug:
 
I just saw this thread. I'm sending you tons of hugs and tons of chin scritches to Saoirse. You've been such a blessing and help to me and I so hope that things get better for you!
I'm so glad I've been able to help you, Rachel. Thank you for helping me now. Chin scritches delivered and hugs appreciated by her mama. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Just wanted you to know that I and my fur babies have been thinking of you and Saoirse today. I hope you are resting and taking care of your needs. You have been such a blessing to my babies and without you I don't know where I'd be today!
 
Last edited:
Update: Saoirse is Eating Again, Nausea Abated, No Diarrhoea (yet - anti-jinx), Eye Puffy, Cranky :(
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good evening from the infirmary. Sorry I didn't get to post this till now - very tired and a bit spacey. I did manage to get another couple of hours' sleep after this morning's brief report. Eating's a bit hit 'n' miss; I've not got much of an appetite at the moment but I'll sort that out tomorrow.

I am both pleased and relieved to report that today has been better for both of us. Here's the SITREP:

  • Ketone meter and strips on order (Freestyle Optium Neo). Won't be here till Tuesday. Haven't been able to test yet for ketones. With the vision issues Saoirse's a bit perplexed about her litter box at the moment and I don't want to stress her about that because of the BP issue. (Note: Saoirse does not have any history of throwing ketones.)
  • Our main vet was on duty for OOH calls this morning. He said that he's not too worried about Saoirse's BP overall at the moment and to skip the amlodipine today and just continue with the treatments for Saoirse's affected eye and give any of the normal treatments she needs for the nausea. Since he knows Saoirse better, I felt a bit less worried about the BP / BP meds problem and much relieved that I could now take steps to help her with the GI issues. That was like a crack of blue in a dark and overcast sky.
  • Vet will call to house tomorrow to check Saoirse's BP. Told them I was ordering a Doppler unit to monitor Saoirse at home from now on. They will be able to give me a tutorial in its use. (Ordering unit tomorrow and hoping to take delivery on Tuesday.)
  • With the amlodipine out of the mix, I offered Saoirse a mini-meal with a dose of ondansetron mixed into it and she got it down. Even after this meal her nausea symptoms were less (small amount of lip licking after). Little or no nausea symptoms since then and she has eaten quite regularly today. I'm so relieved. (Thank you all for the anti-pancreatitis-flare prayers and vibes!) I'm giving her smaller portions than normal but by early evening she has been enjoying her food a bit more (anti-jinx, anti-jinx - just spotted her now at her dish and after a few scraps she did a couple of nausea yawns - will give another dose of ondansetron tonight). She's still unwell - and very, very cranky - but it's a huge step forward from yesterday and a huge worry reduced. Managed to restart her phosphorus binder and her anti-inflammatory herbal supplement (Nutramed). Fingers and paws crossed the pumpkin in her meals will help with the diarrhoea. I always add a little water to her meals so she is getting enough fluids. Monitoring urine output and thus far it's in line with fluid intake. Her coat is lying a lot flatter today; another improvement.
  • I skipped Saoirse's other meds and supplements today so that it will reduce the opportunities for upsets.
  • Saoirse's BG today 13.8 (Alphatrak) - same as yesterday - didn't soar. Gave 0.25IU dose of Lantus.
  • Saoirse's eyelids are all puffy but at times she does open it. There was a tiny bit of gunk which I cleaned away with a moistened cotton ball. It did look slightly browny-pink, so possibly some blood in it? Her eye doesn't look as misty as it did when the vet examined it on Friday morning and I can't tell for certain with the pupil so dilated (looks like something from Roswell) but can't see as much of a red cast. It looks fairly black when she opens it. Mood lighting still on the go, needless to say.
  • As suspected by @Melanie and Smokey above, Saoirse's vision is definitely compromised at the moment. She didn't move around much during the day and what movements she made were quite gingerly. Saoirse spent most of the day between her lair under coffee table and her bedouin sofa-tent (where all your fusses, hugs, and scritches are dished out!) but this evening she did wander out to me in the kitchen while I was preparing a mini meal for her. You can tell from her head movements that she's relying on her left eye for navigation. She did manage some self-comforting purrs today. I'd prefer them to have been happy purrs, but at they were better than the growls. I hate seeing her poorly and unhappy. :(
Needless to say, mama bean feels a tad better today now she can do something to help make her girl feel a little bit less lousy and that her baby was able to eat today. Fingers and paws crossed that the BP issue will be resolved one way or the other tomorrow when the vet visits to check Saoirse. In the meantime, I'm very grateful for the respite; a little window for some rest so that I might better care for my little one.

Thank you all for helping me not to unravel completely. Today I was able to speak to Saoirse in a more positive and upbeat tone. I was able to encourage and praise her through her little baby steps of progress and that did both of us good; far better than me being a gibbering, terrified mess. I am still desperately tired but I was able to do a bit better by my girl today because of all of you; I am beyond grateful for the strength you are lending me. Thank you so much from both of us.

Blessings to you all, and lots of scritches for your furbabies.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs

PS: For superstitious reasons, I can't take the 911 down yet. Please forgive my craziness. :oops:
.
 
Just wanted you to know that I and my fur babies have been thinking of you and Saoirse today. I hope you are resting and taking care of your needs. You have been such a blessing to my babies and without you I don't know where I'd be today!
Hi, MO2F. Thank you all for thinking of us. :bighug: Glad I could help you a little bit, and I appreciate your helping me now. How are Woody and Buzz doing?


Mogs
.
 
That sounds like a pretty good report overall, Mogs:)
We will continue to send you prayers and healing light. No worries on the 911 I think everyone knows what's up by now;)

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi, MO2F. Thank you all for thinking of us. :bighug: Glad I could help you a little bit, and I appreciate your helping me now. How are Woody and Buzz doing?


Mogs
.
It looks like Buzz is OTJ, but he still has 10 days to prove himself. Woody I haven't shot him because he's been in the blues the last 5 shot times. I decided since his numbers were so low I'd just change him to friskies. I have a consultation this Friday with the other vet. They called and said they have worked with clients for at home testing! Thank you again. You were there when my fur babies neded someone. You're their guardian angel across the pond!!! Forever in your debt.

How are you doing and your little bundle of fur?
 
We will continue to send you prayers and healing light.
Please do, Andy. My beloved girl has a ways to go. Saoirse's eyelids are really puffy and sore-looking. One of the drops she has been prescribed contain an antibiotic which is a relief since her two main eyelids are very sore looking. I've just given the night time dose. She was a bit growly but she is a very patient patient. Thus far I've had no problem administering the drops. I read the patient leaflet earlier and they reckoned it would probably be a two-person job to give a kitty eye drops. The situation's not easy on either of us, but I'm glad she trusts me enough to know that I'm doing all the weird stuff to help her.

I was just looking at Pimp's spreadsheet. I like the annotations that you've added describing what's happening in each cycle; it's really informative. :)

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top