SuziB
Member Since 2019
My vet called to talk to me about my poor old dog’s urinalysis - turns out she has a UTI. While we were on the phone, we started talking about Reece’s diabetes. My vet was SO excited and happy about the spreadsheet (which I shared with him a few weeks ago). He loves all the data and the fact that I am testing at home. I gave all credit to the helpful, knowledgeable, patient people here at FDMB! 
Then we started talking about dosing. Reece’s numbers have been dropping and I skipped her PM shots 3 nights in a row this week. I got (most of) a curve on her today and she went pretty low at +3 (67 I think) - even though I decreased her dose (from .6u to .4u) this morning. Tonight, her PMPS was 133 and, based on the low from this morning and generally low numbers, I decided to skip her PM shot. The vet has suggested I lower her dose to .2u instead of .4u. What do you think? Is this the right path to getting her OTJ? My vet is pretty optimistic that she is going to be one of the lucky ones who become non-insulin dependent. My fingers are crossed, and I want to do things in the best way to facilitate that.
Thanks for your help!
Suzi and Reece
Then we started talking about dosing. Reece’s numbers have been dropping and I skipped her PM shots 3 nights in a row this week. I got (most of) a curve on her today and she went pretty low at +3 (67 I think) - even though I decreased her dose (from .6u to .4u) this morning. Tonight, her PMPS was 133 and, based on the low from this morning and generally low numbers, I decided to skip her PM shot. The vet has suggested I lower her dose to .2u instead of .4u. What do you think? Is this the right path to getting her OTJ? My vet is pretty optimistic that she is going to be one of the lucky ones who become non-insulin dependent. My fingers are crossed, and I want to do things in the best way to facilitate that.
Thanks for your help!
Suzi and Reece