Praise from the vet! and dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuziB

Member Since 2019
My vet called to talk to me about my poor old dog’s urinalysis - turns out she has a UTI. While we were on the phone, we started talking about Reece’s diabetes. My vet was SO excited and happy about the spreadsheet (which I shared with him a few weeks ago). He loves all the data and the fact that I am testing at home. I gave all credit to the helpful, knowledgeable, patient people here at FDMB! :)

Then we started talking about dosing. Reece’s numbers have been dropping and I skipped her PM shots 3 nights in a row this week. I got (most of) a curve on her today and she went pretty low at +3 (67 I think) - even though I decreased her dose (from .6u to .4u) this morning. Tonight, her PMPS was 133 and, based on the low from this morning and generally low numbers, I decided to skip her PM shot. The vet has suggested I lower her dose to .2u instead of .4u. What do you think? Is this the right path to getting her OTJ? My vet is pretty optimistic that she is going to be one of the lucky ones who become non-insulin dependent. My fingers are crossed, and I want to do things in the best way to facilitate that.

Thanks for your help!
Suzi and Reece
 
You need to find a dose that will allow you to give the insulin both night and morning. Not sure why you didn't dose the 133 this evening because you did shoot a 130 a couple of weeks ago.
Are you able to get more tests in during the cycles to see how low the dose it taking your kitty.?you really need to know how low the insulin is taking the BSL. Just testing and shooting and not knowing how low the BSL is going is a bit risky.
Also a before bed test will tell you if kitty is going to drop lower at night....which they often do do..
I am going to tag @Kris & Teasel to help with the vetsulin as I do not use that insulin..
 
I like the trend the numbers are going on your sheet. I think the vet has a good idea of cutting it to .2u - the greens weren't too bad but cutting it down a bit might keep the night pmps from being too low to shoot. I dose a drop if the numbers are above 130 but not below after he hurt himself, which might have been due to his heavier weight not low bg. Fingers crossed for you!
 
I didn’t shoot last night because her numbers had run low in the daytime and, with my company in town, wasn’t going to be around to monitor her for a portion of the night and didn’t want to run into any issues. This morning, numbers were just over 200, so I shot with the new .2u dose. Tonight, her PMPS is 110, so I’m not going to shoot again. I’m thrilled and nervous about all these skipped doses and low numbers! I hope we can keep the streak running - even though I’m confused as to what I should be doing (lower doses, skipped doses, etc.).
 
Are you able to cut the dose again to just .1? That might get you to numbers where you can flatten out the curve and just give a drop twice a day. Lower numbers all day might speed up the healing of his pancreas.
 
Are you able to cut the dose again to just .1? That might get you to numbers where you can flatten out the curve and just give a drop twice a day. Lower numbers all day might speed up the healing of his pancreas.

AMPS today was 240 and I gave .2u. We will see what numbers look like during the day and tonight. If possible, I will try for .1u and see how she responds to that.

Thanks for the replies! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top