Bobbie And Bubba
Member Since 2015
Not at work, I was going to work out, but I can postphone that and stay for now.Bobbie is at work
Not at work, I was going to work out, but I can postphone that and stay for now.Bobbie is at work
Now that was a big old bounce! Did you recheck to make sure that 357 was accurate?Recheck: BG is at 357, and he is DEFINITELY acting more himself now. No food 30 minutes prior to this recheck.
Now that was a big old bounce! Did you recheck to make sure that 357 was accurate?
Recheck: Gave him half a can of FF. BG is now at 188.
Summary
Lantus 3 units human meter no regular monitoring no spreadsheet
DKA episode in 2016
PMPS not done
+8 20 honey &LC food
+8.5 48 honey&kibble
+9 90 no food
+9.5 45 honey & kibble
+10 69 LC&kibble
+10.5 357 no food Possible bad reading?????
+11 69
AMPS 188 low carb
It really looks like that 357 reading was a bad reading...sometimes happens with the odd test strip. So this is your normal shot time I am assuming. With that very low hypo and the fact that you have no routinely been doing glucose tests, my advice would be to wait an hour, with no more food given and retest. Post the number when you test. My thoughts are leaning towards giving 1 unit at this point with the readings you have done so far. In some cases it might be advised to skip the shot and let the depot drain, but with Smokey having had DKA in the past it would be better to give some insulin. The numbers should be starting to shoot upward, which is normal after a bad hypo. Hopefully some others will be on soon and give their opinions on which is the best way to proceed.
@Kris & Teasel
So, should I give the 1 IU shot now or should I wait until we retest?
This is a tough call. The 3 u depot is still acting. I understand the concern about ketones but it was in 2016 so my opinion is that the threat ranks lower than the symptomatic hypo in the last 24 hours. BG was hard to bring up. I think skipping the AM dose to allow some draining of the depot is wise. Now is a good time to get a testing routine started along with the very valuable spreadsheet so we can give the best advice.Summary
Lantus 3 units human meter no regular monitoring no spreadsheet
DKA episode in 2016
PMPS not done
+8 20 honey &LC food
+8.5 48 honey&kibble
+9 90 no food
+9.5 45 honey & kibble
+10 69 LC&kibble
+10.5 357 no food Possible bad reading?????
+11 69
AMPS 188 low carb
It really looks like that 357 reading was a bad reading...sometimes happens with the odd test strip. So this is your normal shot time I am assuming. With that very low hypo and the fact that you have no routinely been doing glucose tests, my advice would be to wait an hour, with no more food given and retest. Post the number when you test. My thoughts are leaning towards giving 1 unit at this point with the readings you have done so far. In some cases it might be advised to skip the shot and let the depot drain, but with Smokey having had DKA in the past it would be better to give some insulin. The numbers should be starting to shoot upward, which is normal after a bad hypo. Hopefully some others will be on soon and give their opinions on which is the best way to proceed.
@Kris & Teasel
This is a tough call. The 3 u depot is still acting. I understand the concern about ketones but it was in 2016 so my opinion is that the threat ranks lower than the symptomatic hypo in the last 24 hours. BG was hard to bring up. I think skipping the AM dose to allow some draining of the depot is wise. Now is a good time to get a testing routine started along with the very valuable spreadsheet so we can give the best advice.
Getting some BG tests today will be useful in deciding on an evening dose. My two cents.
This is a tough call. The 3 u depot is still acting. I understand the concern about ketones but it was in 2016 so my opinion is that the threat ranks lower than the symptomatic hypo in the last 24 hours. BG was hard to bring up. I think skipping the AM dose to allow some draining of the depot is wise. Now is a good time to get a testing routine started along with the very valuable spreadsheet so we can give the best advice.
Getting some BG tests today will be useful in deciding on an evening dose. My two cents.
Good! Are you going to skip the dose this AM? If so, you might want to grab at least 2-3 tests before this evening to see if the depot is doing anything - maybe every 3 hours?I've already downloaded the spreadsheet and have been recording his numbers throughout this episode. How often should we be testing him? And should those readings still be recorded in the +hours post shot entries?
Good! Are you going to skip the dose this AM? If so, you might want to grab at least 2-3 tests before this evening to see if the depot is doing anything - maybe every 3 hours?
Re spreadsheet: you'll need to put a link to it in your signature (the light grey text under a post). Here's how:
- click on your name in the upper right corner of this page then click on "signature" in the drop down menu
- give some details about your kitty in the text box: date of diagnosis, age, insulin used, glucose meter used, what he eats, any other health issues/meds he has
- open your SS and copy/paste its URL into the signature text box
- make sure you've clicked on the "share" button on the SS and "anyone with link can view" so we can see it.
Perfect! Thank you so much!Does my signature look right? And does the link work?

Does my signature look right? And does the link work?
YAH FOR YOU!!!![]()
Do a few tests through the day to see how Smokey's numbers go. As far as dosing tonight goes it is a wait and see game at this time. I personally would consider starting back at a lower dose and doing some regular testing to see where the dose should be. But let's see what others weigh in with when you get closer to dosing time. Great job keeping Smokey safe today!!
How often do you suggest we test?
You have a preshot test even with no shot, so maybe get one at +4 or +6 to see how fast the glucose is rising. Then get one at +11.5 ( 1/2 hour before your usual shot time) and post the number so that you can get some feed back on what to shoot.
Okay. Thanks! Will update this thread as the day goes on.![]()
Retest: BG is now 350. He is very unhappy with the frequent testing, and has been noisy, so he's definitely feeling much better.
Hey Rusty! You did awesome today with those low numbers. I am sure you and Smokey could use a pokey break and rest. I think skipping to drain the depot is a good idea especially for how late in the cycle the hypo occurred. Like the others said, a test in what would be the mid cycle if you had shot. All data is good data.
Just wondering, how long has Smokey been on 3 units? And did you recently change anything with his diet like lowering the carbs?
We have stopped feeding him kibble altogether
It's been about a week or so since we removed kibble from his diet.How long has it been since the kibble was removed completely? Many kitties end up with a much reduced need for insulin once they are on a proper low carb wet food diet.
Do you have any other test numbers...either any you did or any done at the vet just to get an idea of where the numbers have been.
------
It's been about a week or so since we removed kibble from his diet.
Unfortunately we dont' have exact numbers but from his last BG curve at the vet his numbers were mostly in the 300-400 range, as far as I remember
Bingo! I had a sneaky suspicion that with a hypo that low and that late in the cycle that something significant had changed. I think the absence of the dry food is a game changer for dosing. My 2 cents worth says to do a restart at 1 unit and start tracking the BG's , one at pre shot, mid cycle and one before bed time in the PM cycle and see where 1 unit takes him. ( of course more testing if numbers drop again)
Let's see what others think.
You get them before he eats. It’s best to remove all food at least 2 hours before these tests so the BG numbers are not food-inflated.Quick question: Do I get the AMPS and PMPS readings after he eats or before?
As Mary Ann mentioned, Temptations are pretty high carb, best to only give in a hypo situation where kitty won't eat anything else. For testing treats, most of us use either plain cooked chicken cut into bite-sized pieces, or freeze dried meats (chicken or turkey is usually best, since Smokey doesn't get fish). You can get these at most pet stores. It's usually cheaper to buy the ones for dogs (just make sure there's nothing in it but the meat). To keep Smokey cooperative about testing, always give a treat, whether you are successful in getting blood or not. You want him to associate testing with good things. Here is a post with more great tips, like warming the ear, etc.a few Temptations treats
Hi Rusty,
Just wanted to check in and see how Smokey is doing. Great job getting him into safe numbers! Thanks for getting your signature and spreadsheet set up. One more piece of info it would be helpful to put in the signature is where you live. You can be as vague as you want - State, region, or whatever - what we really need to know is what timezone you are in.
As Mary Ann mentioned, Temptations are pretty high carb, best to only give in a hypo situation where kitty won't eat anything else. For testing treats, most of us use either plain cooked chicken cut into bite-sized pieces, or freeze dried meats (chicken or turkey is usually best, since Smokey doesn't get fish). You can get these at most pet stores. It's usually cheaper to buy the ones for dogs (just make sure there's nothing in it but the meat). To keep Smokey cooperative about testing, always give a treat, whether you are successful in getting blood or not. You want him to associate testing with good things. Here is a post with more great tips, like warming the ear, etc.
How do Smokey's ears look? It's a good idea to get some Neosporin gel with pain relief and rub it on before bed. Just wipe it off in the morning and the ears will heal faster. It also helps the blood to bead better.
I don't know if you've seen it before, but here is a post we put together to help people get comfortable using this forum - kind of like an FAQ: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/updated-tips-for-new-members.173572/
One other tip for you: now that you're testing (and that is WONDERFUL!), any time you get a number that doesn't make sense (like that 357), it's a good idea to retest immediately. Sometimes you get a bad strip, or too much blood, etc. You don't want to react to a number that is incorrect, so it's best to be sure it's right.
I'm so glad you posted this morning and that your sibling was sharp enough to catch that Smokey was in trouble. We like happy endings here!
The consensus here earlier was 1 u and I recommend you go with that. It’s the usual starting dose for Lantus and that BG of 20 you got was scary low.
A before bed test tonight should be enough.Thank you! He just got 1 IU now.When should we recheck him?