POST Hypo Day for Boo

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

so have you been shooting this dose for a month now?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

oh, i just read the progression.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Lori this is the first dose at this level, vet has been increasing by whole units every week

Mel
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Mel, you are a saint. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Please get some rest!!!

Lori, no, I'm sorry, i probably wasn't very clear. I'm a little bumfuggled.

The vet gave her 5 units yesterday morning. Her Nadir (?) was at +6 and it was 100.
I gave her a little less than 5 units last night (because it was a little earlier than 12 hours after her morning shot)

Then this morning I gave her a little under 5
And tonight I gave her closer to 4.5 because 5 scared me

I'm glad I didn't give the entire 5.

SO, she has only been on this increased dosage for 2 days.
Last week she was on 4 units twice a day.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

carla, when tonight is all over...let's set up a spread sheet like we all have...see below. tomtom's spread sheet.
and perhaps start off at a reduced dose and start tracking her numbers.
i think/hope this will go smoothly tonight.
((((hugs)))))
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

if you want to lay down for awhile i can call you to stir you awake in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Carla are you okay, do you need to sleep? Lori would call you for the next test, just PM her your phone number. Nancy
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Lori, that is so sweet of you.. I'm afraid I'm wide awake.

I just took a reading and it's back up to 52 (at almost +6.5).

Let her rest for 1/2 hour, or try to get her to eat more? I'm afraid if she eats much more she will get sick!

Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Carla it was my pleasure to be here tonight for you....That is just what we do here, and if I could still see the keyboard I would stay too. But I know you are in great hands with Lori and Nancy, if I didn't think so I wouldn't leave you. =)

I'll be back to check in on you in a few hours.

Nighters all

Mel
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

So the GOOD news is, I am pretty good at testing now. :)
The bad news is, when Boo is at her ideal number, she probably won't be so passive about letting me poke around on her. :(
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

ni ni mel...sweet dreams...or, not quite so sweet. :lol:
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

carla maybe cut the syrup and let her free feed the kibble.
don't want to stuff her in case she needs food in an hour.
nice slow climb...
test in half hour k?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Thanks Lori. I haven't given her syrup in the last 45 minutes. She is awake and laying in the hall.

Any tips on how I can minimize her ear pain? She's been stuck WAY too many times tonight.

Thanks so much....
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

well, so you have an neosporin in the house? you could rub that on her ear. also press firmly on her ear with a cotton ball after you get the blood for a quick heal.
she'll be fine.
make sure you add pressure to the poke spot after you get blood.
you are SUCH the VAMPIRE now!
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

btw, tom is ogling boo...he thinks she is super cute.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

I do have some neosporin. Will try to put some on her. Thanks. It's kind of incredible that she has not been running from me tonight when she sees me coming with my kit of sharp objects that poke her. I wonder if she might have been a little disoriented with the low numbers? She's been WAY more cooperative than she usually is by nature.

Thanks heavens for small miracles, I suppose.
:-D

Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

:-D Tom is a cutie. I have a black n white kitty too... named Paulie Walnuts.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Thank goodness you started testing! Yes, but not the way you wanted to learn!! Our sugar kitties learn that when we test, they get a treat and they know we are helping them, like Boo knows you are helping now. If anything we get closer to our sugar kits. You will need to go visit the insulin support group Lantus and have them help you with dosing.

You can try changing ears or putting on Neosporin (ointment) after, that will help the pain. If you use a cotton ball or kleenex inside the ear, then use that to hold the ear when you use the lancet, after you get the blood, then hold the ear with the cotton ball (or) for a few moments, that will help.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

You bring up an excellent point, Nancy. What the heck do I do tomorrow with dosing??? My vet doesn't open until 8.... I will have to go to work about that time. After tonight, I don't feel good at ALL about giving her a shot and leaving the house.... no matter WHAT the dosage!

Hmmmmmmmm
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

carla, you may or likely will have a high number in the am...part due to bounce from the low. and part due to all the carbs she's getting tonight...and sugar.
don't, do not respond to a high number.
if you do have a shootable number i'd start all over at 1 unit.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

I'm not sure what you mean by a shootable number.... Over 200?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

i'm thinking over 150...1 unit.
but lantus is not my insulin...maybe in the morning you could post in the lantus room.. how busy are your mornings..do you rush off to work?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Has Boo had ketones? any other problems? The Lantus people will want you to go back to square one, at 1u.
I would post in Lantus now and ask what you should dose in the AM, I don't see anyone here now from Lantus, if there is, could you chime in.

The Lantus people have some early people who will be able to advise you but I'm not sure you want to give her a shot in the AM then leave .... but I use another insulin, what do you think Lori?
Nancy
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

always let anyone your posting to know you are feeding dry kibble. it matters..ok?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Yes, thank G --! you hadn't changed over to canned .... that would have been a REAL problem! How is Boo?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

seems like it's time for a test huh?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Just posted on Lantus.... going to test.... be right back.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

well you up for awhile? are you ok? i think you will be giving half hour tests until you get 60.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

is boo awake, interested in any eatting?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

lori and tom said:
is boo awake, interested in any eatting?

I am awake. 15 minutes ago when I tested her, she got up and ate a little more high(er) carb dry food. She is now laying in the bathroom floor looking really tired and wanting to fall asleep.
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

i'm glad your still zippy...i'm shutting down. i think you can handle the rest of this, you think?
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Nancy and Payne said:
Has Boo had ketones? any other problems? The Lantus people will want you to go back to square one, at 1u.
I would post in Lantus now and ask what you should dose in the AM, I don't see anyone here now from Lantus, if there is, could you chime in.

The Lantus people have some early people who will be able to advise you but I'm not sure you want to give her a shot in the AM then leave .... but I use another insulin, what do you think Lori?
Nancy

I'm not sure what keytones are... the only problem Boo has had recently is bladder stones. She had surgery several months ago.

If you guys need to sleep, please do.... I'm awake... I promise. You all have been soooo nice. Thank you a million times.

xo
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Carla, you okay? You really need for him to hit 60 .... sorry. Although he seems to be doing good, it was a good post in Lantus .... they have a bunch of Easterners so they should get to you early for advise. Do you want me to stay? are you okay?
Nancy
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

I'm ok, Nancy. Thank you so much. Please get some sleep!! I'll keep hitting my half hour tests until her numbers get above 60 twice. Then I have a bigger decision in the morning (or in a few hours, actually).

Thank you again! Everyone!!
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Okay, I'll check on you in the AM .... I need to go into SF to work in the morning but I'll be sending out good vibes to you and Boo. You have been a great bean! (what our kits call us :) and you showed great strength tonight, you should be proud!! Boo thanks you for learning to test (well, maybe not in this way :) and it will give YOU power! In time you will be able to KNOW the dose Boo needs and take care of him yourself. You know that dry food is like crack for a diabetic cat .... but don't change until you get your dose down because changing over to canned, can drop your numbers down by 100 points sometimes! Good job Carla!

Nancy and Payne
(who has her own war stories :)
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Nancy, thank you, and I'll have to take your word for it at this point because I feel completely overwhelmed and confused as so the best way to treat my baby Boo.

Baby steps.

Last Test:
2:15 a.m. 57

Getting closer.

Thanks again.
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

You are tired, that's all .... trust me you've done well, really well. Try not to over-think it tonight you have just been through a big ordeal .... tomorrow decisions can be made, try and get some sleep when you hit the magic number! You will be fine and it's good you don't know what ketones are but you will need to learn, you are up to it, really. ((((Carla/Boo)))) hugs and good wishes! Nancy
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

3 a.m. = 65
FINALLY.

Gonna try to nap. Poor Boo. She is OVER me right now.

THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Morning Hon, just checking in with you guys as promised...How we doing this morning?

Mel, Maxwell and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Good Morning, Mel. We survived. I have not tested Boo yet this morning.... literally just woke up and walked in here.

I feel sick at my stomach at the thought of sticking her again, but I know I have to.

I'm going to check the Lantus board before doing anything.

I hope you got a few hours sleep. Thank you so much for your support.

Thank you to EVERYONE who helped me through last night!
xo
Carla and Boo
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Just tested Boo.

At 6:26 a.m. (almost +12), her BG is 173.

Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Aww shucks that is what we are hear for, and yeah I got a couple hours of sleep, and lucky for me I can go crawl back in bed here in a little bit after I get the Fur Gang fed, and litter boxes scooped.

Checking with the Lantus folks is a good idea, they can help you out a lot. And Hey, after this Saturday you will get to see me over there too.. ohmygod_smile As I'm picking up my newly adopted sugarkitty, Musette. So we can be kind of newbie buddies...lol.

Glad you and Boo made it through the night, and yeah I understand not wanting to stick her again, but now you see how important it is, and well now you are a pro so it will get easier, and with the very capable hands over in Lantus Land, hopefully you will never have to poke her that much again.

Give Boo scritched for me. :-D

Mel, Maxwell and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Nice number for a +12, you may have earned a morning off from a shot, or at least a very big dose reduction, but I will leave that to the folks over in Lantus ISG...They will guide you very well.

Mel, Maxwell and the Fur Gang
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

8:20 a.m. = 201
Ate a tad of dry food after the test
8:30 a.m. Gave 1 unit
She ate some dry food immediately after the shot too
+1 = 202
Ate a little more dry food after the test.

I'm hoping there is not sharp drop today. I feel very good about my decision to stay home from work. I would feel like I were flying blind with no numbers for 8 hours.

Thank you all so much. I hope I can repay your kindness some day.
Carla (and Boo)
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Wow, just logged on this morning and saw this. You did wonderful Carla, and it looks like you started testing at exactly the right time for Boo. I can't believe how many close calls like this have shown up lately--I am convinced some owners have a sixth sense that something just isn't right.

Carla, you can read about ketones here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/ketones.htm. Chances are if your vet didn't mention them then Boo doesn't have them, but you always want to be safe. You can pick up the testing strips (ketostix or ketodiastix) at any pharmacy. You do need a urine sample for it...most people just stick it in the stream while their cat is going #1, or they use non absorbent litter, or put saran wrap over the litter. With Gabby I stuck a shallow plastic dish in her regular spot in box, and Bandit would pee on demand whenever he thought he was getting a bath. I now have the breeze litter box: http://www.breezeforcats.com/?DCMP=...breeze+for+cats&HBX_OU=50&D=4500582&T=6034297 which would be great for getting urine samples since it has a tray that collects the urine. I love it.

Your vet did not raise Boo's dose correctly, and I can't even tell you how incredibly common this is. Lantus doses for cats are supposed to be raised in .25u=.5u increments or you get into overdose territory. And too much insulin looks just like too little insulin because of high rebound numbers at the vets office, so they keep raising the dose until the poor cat hypos. :sad:
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Just waking back up...glad you went with 1u today it is so much easier to slowly raise the dose until we find her perfect dose than go through what we went through last night.

Mel, Maxwell and the Fur Gang
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Regarding vets.... I have known mine for 25 years.... he is married to my best friend from high school. I try not to take advantage of knowing his cell number ( :smile: ), but it's nice to know I can always get in touch with him.

He was VERY supportive when I told him Monday (Omg, was that just 2 days ago??) that I was going to begin home testing. Boo is a very nervy cat and it's a 30 minute car ride from my house to clinic. She was amped up by the time she got there and I'm sure his numbers were inflated because of it.

When I texted him this morning (it's his day off), he wanted me to send readings every time I took them and he has responded with questions and concerns. I feel he is on board completely.... just maybe not as hands on with this stuff as you guys are. So I have the best of both worlds. As a vet, his primary concern isn't her diet, but it should be. I will try to keep him updated on Boo's progress as I switch her to wet food (she says with confidence) so hopefully he can help other clients going through the same thing.

I don't like that her +2 is 176 this morning. I know that's not a dangerously low number, but she has a ways to go before her Nadir (sp?) at +6. I'll keep at it.

Thanks again so much, and I apologize if I have spoken jibberish or posted the same info twice... between here and teh Lantus Forum, I've been doing a lot of posting. :)

xoxoxo
Carla
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Good morning Carla and of course, Boo! I see where the Lantus people are taking good care of you, I knew they would .... they will advise you every step of the way. You have made so much progress, so quickly! baptism by fire! Give Boo a big hug and kiss for all of us and you need to sleep some today, I am glad you are staying home.

I will be leaving SF soon, stupid stock market!! some days are like that .... I will check in when I get home but wanted you to know I thought you did great last night! Now you are on the road to getting Boo healthy!

Nancy and Payne
 
Re: 911 possible hypo... Lantus

Also Carla would you go back and take the 911 off this thread .... I forgot to do that with the LL one and I got yelled at, then locked up! You may want to start a new thread if you want or just stay with the Lantus one.
Nancy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top