? POST DKA Millie AMPS 89!! Shoot or not? Please assist

Status
Not open for further replies.
No, the 1.75 units. I'm sure I'm nervous cause this is all new to me and I'm not totally understanding how TR works.
Strictly speaking, that 67 you had is a lime green when using an AT meter and could earn Millie a dose reduction of 0.25 u, so a dose of 1.5 u then. She's not quite a long term diabetic yet so one lime green is enough reason to lower the dose according to TR. I'd update your SS soon so that anyone else taking a look will see that low green.

Having said all that, let's see where she is at PMPS.
 
Strictly speaking, that 67 you had is a lime green when using an AT meter and could earn Millie a dose reduction of 0.25 u, so a dose of 1.5 u then. She's not quite a long term diabetic yet so one lime green is enough reason to lower the dose according to TR. I'd update your SS soon so that anyone else taking a look will see that low green.

Having said all that, let's see where she is at PMPS.
Was updating the SS has you were answering me, lol!

Let's see if she does a usual bounce.
 
Strictly speaking, that 67 you had is a lime green when using an AT meter and could earn Millie a dose reduction of 0.25 u, so a dose of 1.5 u then. She's not quite a long term diabetic yet so one lime green is enough reason to lower the dose according to TR. I'd update your SS soon so that anyone else taking a look will see that low green.
Usually, we don't recommend taking reductions too close together, because once the depot adjusts you could end up on a dose that is too low and lose ground. We like to see you give the depot time to catch up (about 6 cycles). With the BCS this morning, Millie's depot should be a little drained, and the 1.75 should be safe to shoot tonight, depending on what the PMPS is. Of course, if you get a low PS, or if you can't monitor tonight, and are more comfortable taking the reduction, I don't think anyone would argue. Sometimes it's a "balls and strikes" call. Sylvia, you have to do what you are most comfortable with. With DKA in the picture, it makes it a little more complicated, but we do like to err on the side of safety. All that said, lets wait and see where she is closer to PMPS.

BTW, I see she came up to 95 at +7 and you gave her some HC. I would not feed anymore unless she drops again. Test after 1 hour.
 
Usually, we don't recommend taking reductions too close together, because once the depot adjusts you could end up on a dose that is too low and lose ground. We like to see you give the depot time to catch up (about 6 cycles). With the BCS this morning, Millie's depot should be a little drained, and the 1.75 should be safe to shoot tonight, depending on what the PMPS is. Of course, if you get a low PS, or if you can't monitor tonight, and are more comfortable taking the reduction, I don't think anyone would argue. Sometimes it's a "balls and strikes" call. Sylvia, you have to do what you are most comfortable with. With DKA in the picture, it makes it a little more complicated, but we do like to err on the side of safety. All that said, lets wait and see where she is closer to PMPS.

BTW, I see she came up to 95 at +7 and you gave her some HC. I would not feed anymore unless she drops again. Test after 1 hour.
Your explanation is very helpful, just trying to understand how all this works. It's a bit daunting......

Will take her food away and retest shortly. I do have to step out so testing might be later than the +8, more like +9.5 or 10!
 
Good call this morning with the BCD (I am a chicken too). You did great with testing and food to let her surf and stay out of the shark tank (lime green BG). Those are good healing numbers for Millie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top