POST DKA Millie AMPS 70, then 90! +1 213, +2 244.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Breathe! Hopefully more experienced folks chime in. For me I would shoot on the number because Beenie would always go up after AMPS. I can't tell Millie's pattern to say whether or not that is an ok number to shoot. First can you be around to monitor today and have plenty of test strips and MC/HC food and syrup? That will be a deciding factor too.
Don't worry someone will provide better advise soon:bighug:
 
From my experience, it really depends on what you are able to do, monitor close or be unavailable. I am able to monitor very closely so now that I am more comfortable with shooting low, I do easily. I do know though that not everyone is able to be home during the day to monitor as easily in these situations. The more experienced ones will come on here and help you with making the best choice for you. Good luck! :bighug::bighug:
 
Breathe! Hopefully more experienced folks chime in. For me I would shoot on the number because Beenie would always go up after AMPS. I can't tell Millie's pattern to say whether or not that is an ok number to shoot. First can you be around to monitor today and have plenty of test strips and MC/HC food and syrup? That will be a deciding factor too.
Don't worry someone will provide better advise soon:bighug:
Yes, I am around and have supplies.
 
Since you got 90 on the second test, and you are able to monitor, I would shoot the 1.25 units. I am home sick, so I can keep an eye on you. Make sure you get a +1 and we'll go from there.
The 70 is on an AT monitor, I know 68 is the danger point t, that's why I logged on. Is it still OK?
 
Start with LC and let's see where she is on the next test. Do you know if she gets much a food bump? If you want you can test 30 minutes after feeding instead of an hour.
 
Last edited:
Start with LC and let's see where she is on the next test. Do you know if she gets much a food bump? If you want you can test 30 minutes after feeding instead of an hour.
I gave her her regular food and her dose. I'll test at +1 since she is usually slow regarding food getting to her blood stream but the food definitely influences her bg.

Sorry to hear you're not feeling well. Hope you get better quickly.

Thanks for taking out the time to help us. :bighug:
 
Just wanted to to add my congrats too, well done shooting low! Scary to do, but you have lots of great folks watching over you and Millie! You're in great hands!:bighug::bighug:
Sweet, gentle surf Millie...:cat:
 
Just did the +1, it was 213! Not sure if it's the food, bouncing or both! I know that's a big increase but Millie likes big swings!!!! and I didn't even feed HC food......
 
Good job shooting! Glad Carla and others will be here all day with you. Get a +1 and +2....go from there. You certainly earned the BOS this morning! Surf now Millie.
BOS.png
 
Just did the +1, it was 213! Not sure if it's the food, bouncing or both! I know that's a big increase but Millie likes big swings!!!! and I didn't even feed HC food......
She's probably starting a bounce . Glad you didn't give her the higher carb food. You just never know when they see these lower numbers if they will stay flat and surf or if they are all ready on the way up from the previous cycle. The only way to know that would have to gotten a +11.
 
She's probably starting a bounce . Glad you didn't give her the higher carb food. You just never know when they see these lower numbers if they will stay flat and surf or if they are all ready on the way up from the previous cycle. The only way to know that would have to gotten a +11.
I figured it was better to save the food for when it was necessary. Also wanted to see what she would do since I've never shot this low before.
 
Shooting low might eventually stop that. Some kitties over time will stop bouncing and others just bounce all the way OTJ. Either way, she's looking much better.
One thing that's predictable about Millie is....she's unpredictable, lol. Definitely nice to see such low numbers on a kitty that's been pretty high at times and has had DKA twice. #grateful
 
Have you considered switching to a human meter? The protocols here were written with Human meters, not AT plus the strips are much more cost effective.
 
BTW, using the AT meter is perfectly fine. I did in the beginning to but found it easier to follow the protocol after switching to the human meter and my pocket book liked it.:p
 
Yes
BTW, using the AT meter is perfectly fine. I did in the beginning to but found it easier to follow the protocol after switching to the human meter and my pocket book liked it.:p
Yes, I keep saying I'm going to switch but lots of times Millie barely bleeds and I like just needing a drop of blood. I do think I'll switch soon though especially with her low numbers and having to test more.
 
I had asked in another thread but didn't get a response......Is the Precision Xtra a good meter for testing our sugar kitties? I have one that I bought to be able to test Millie's ketones (which has been unsuccessful due to being ripped off and never receiving the VERY expensive ketone testing strips, but that's a different story). I can try and program it if it's worth it.
 
I had asked in another thread but didn't get a response......Is the Precision Xtra a good meter for testing our sugar kitties? I have one that I bought to be able to test Millie's ketones (which has been unsuccessful due to being ripped off and never receiving the VERY expensive ketone testing strips, but that's a different story). I can try and program it if it's worth it.
I can't help you with info about the Precision meter but I can say that I got used to a human meter very quickly. I use a Freestyle Lite. Canadian Walmarts don't carry ReliOn meters and all test strips are expensive here but not as expensive as the AT strips. At first I thought the lower range BGs a human meter gives were less than ideal but I got over that PDQ and now I like it. ;)
 
Do you have a Walmart nearby? A lot of us use the Relion Micro. The strips only need a small amount to test. They arent the cheapest Walmart has (the Relion Prime is "cheaper") but a 100 strips typically runs $37 and the meter itself is only around $15. The downside is that since its a Walmart brand, the Relion can only be bought there.
 
Do you have a Walmart nearby? A lot of us use the Relion Micro. The strips only need a small amount to test. They arent the cheapest Walmart has (the Relion Prime is "cheaper") but a 100 strips typically runs $37 and the meter itself is only around $15. The downside is that since its a Walmart brand, the Relion can only be bought there.
I don't have a Walmart near by but I can purchase from them online. That's a lot cheaper than the AT, $53 for 50 strips!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top