? Post DKA Millie 4/20 +7 142, +10 106, +12 114. Dosing feedback needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Post DKA Millie is very low today- +7 142, +10 106, +12 114. Insulin due in 15 minutes. I was thinking of giving her some HC treats and shooting. This has worked in the past. I am around and can monitor today.


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...161-at-urgent-what-to-do.176415/#post-1944178
Let's see what the experts think. You'd probably be OK to give her the usual dose because you can monitor but I'd want that suggestion backed up by someone else.
 
Let's see what the experts think. You'd probably be OK to give her the usual dose because you can monitor but I'd want that suggestion backed up by someone else.
I think I confused the situation with the old thread. Someone just told me to not feed her but she already ate. O only gave HC gravy with her regular food.
 
FROM OTHER POST:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...161-at-urgent-what-to-do.176415/#post-1944188



The usual approach with a lower than usual preshot is to wait without feeding and do a recheck.

Are you home and able to monitor today? With the history of DKA you do need to give insulin. I am just not sure exactly what dose since this is a lower than usual preshot.

I will copy my response to the new thread (good job) and see what others have to say.
 
FROM OTHER POST:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...161-at-urgent-what-to-do.176415/#post-1944188



The usual approach with a lower than usual preshot is to wait without feeding and do a recheck.

Are you home and able to monitor today? With the history of DKA you do need to give insulin. I am just not sure exactly what dose since this is a lower than usual preshot.

I will copy my response to the new thread (good job) and see what others have to say.
As I mentioned, I did feed her recently. I will test again. Just not sure if I should do her usual dose. I am around to monitor today.
 
Hey there Sylvia, if you are around today and can monitor with plenty of supplies and higher carb food, then I would get the insulin now. You ddi shoot a 114 with 1 unit back 3/23. If you start her off with higher carb food today, I would shoot the 1.5 and monitor carefully.
 
Hey there Sylvia, if you are around today and can monitor with plenty of supplies and higher carb food, then I would get the insulin now. You ddi shoot a 114 with 1 unit back 3/23. If you start her off with higher carb food today, I would shoot the 1.5 and monitor carefully.
OK, will do. I get nervous because Millie's numbers dip and rise VERY easily.
 
Kris and Bobbie have given good advice and you are doing a great job monitoring. Either Millie will be on the rise from the blues last night or she may also surf if she is not bouncing. With you able to monitor shooting the full dose is a good move. Good luck!!
 
WOW, just took Millie's (almost) +2 bg and it's 340. Don't know if that's the food or a bounce. I have to head out for a couple of hours, will test as soon as I get back in.

Her numbers are always so wild.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top