POST 911- Why is bs suddenly dropping so low???

leeza

Member Since 2026
Can somebody please help me figure out what I'm doing wrong for Kuro. I've had him on a steady dose of 2.25 units 2x/day and just can't seem to get his bs consistent. Then suddenly 3 days ago his bs dropped very low, came back up the next couple of days and this morning suddenly dropped really low again. It took quite a while to get his numbers up this morning. How should I be proceeding? Many thanks for any assistance.
 
Hi Liza, When you post, please include your previous day's post so that folks can easily look back to see what has been happening with Kuro. Here are your previous posts: Switching from AT3 to True Metric Air. Any guidance welcome!
? - Lantus SLGL questions-Should I have skipped AMPS shot & should I continue @ 1.75?
? - Stuggling w/ Lantus SLGS - increased dose after 7 days, but numbers are going up
New Member_Would like feedback on Lantus SLGS - am I doing this right?
New Member, BG dropped to 38, up to 56, now at 54. Need help.

What is Kuro eating? You say combo wet/dry--how much dry? What is his feeding schedule?
On SLGS, Kuro has earned a dose reduction today. Please take a .25 reduction at his next shot.
 
Last night, you shot a PMPS of 254, then 2 hours later Kuro was down to 168. That a big drop in two hours. Whenever you see a big drop like that at +2 with Lantus, it's going to be quite an active cycle that needs preferably a later test, and if not possible, leaving out some higher carb food so he can keep himself safe.

On the 4th, Kuro saw some numbers in the 50's, then bounced - totally expected. Cats can take six cycles to get over a bounce. Last night, the 5th cycle after those lows on the 4th, he broke his bounce and came low again. That's good data, it tells you that 5 cycles after today, you need to keep a close eye on him.

A favour to ask of you, the colouring of the spreadsheet cells has gone away because of the extra information in the cell (the + times). When you do that, you need to use the paint can icon to manually colour the cell. Those of us used to looking at spreadsheets get so we see patterns in the colours so would appreciate seeing that data. Just doing the last couple weeks data would be good for now.

Have you been using the True Metrix full time since the beginning of April? Tagging @Marje and Gracie who can help you with the spreadsheet so that the numbers between 50 and 68 on the True Metrix show the darker green.
 
He's using ve
Hi Liza, When you post, please include your previous day's post so that folks can easily look back to see what has been happening with Kuro. Here are your previous posts: Switching from AT3 to True Metric Air. Any guidance welcome!
? - Lantus SLGL questions-Should I have skipped AMPS shot & should I continue @ 1.75?
? - Stuggling w/ Lantus SLGS - increased dose after 7 days, but numbers are going up
New Member_Would like feedback on Lantus SLGS - am I doing this right?
New Member, BG dropped to 38, up to 56, now at 54. Need help.

What is Kuro eating? You say combo wet/dry--how much dry? What is his feeding schedule?
On SLGS, Kuro has earned a dose reduction today. Please take a .25 reduction at his next shot.
He's on veterinary Royal Canin Fiber Response for his mega colon plus Little Friskies variety Seafood pate. Half of each both am & pm. Usually he's fed between 7:30-8am (unless a family member wakes up earlier) and in the late afternoon between 5-5:30pm. Will take the reduction tonight - thank you for your input!
 
He's using ve

He's on veterinary Royal Canin Fiber Response for his mega colon plus Little Friskies variety Seafood pate. Half of each both am & pm. Usually he's fed between 7:30-8am (unless a family member wakes up earlier) and in the late afternoon between 5-5:30pm. Will take the reduction tonight - thank you for your input!
I can fix your SS. It has to be reformatted when you switch meters. I’ll send you a PM.
 
Last night, you shot a PMPS of 254, then 2 hours later Kuro was down to 168. That a big drop in two hours. Whenever you see a big drop like that at +2 with Lantus, it's going to be quite an active cycle that needs preferably a later test, and if not possible, leaving out some higher carb food so he can keep himself safe.

On the 4th, Kuro saw some numbers in the 50's, then bounced - totally expected. Cats can take six cycles to get over a bounce. Last night, the 5th cycle after those lows on the 4th, he broke his bounce and came low again. That's good data, it tells you that 5 cycles after today, you need to keep a close eye on him.

A favour to ask of you, the colouring of the spreadsheet cells has gone away because of the extra information in the cell (the + times). When you do that, you need to use the paint can icon to manually colour the cell. Those of us used to looking at spreadsheets get so we see patterns in the colours so would appreciate seeing that data. Just doing the last couple weeks data would be good for now.

Have you been using the True Metrix full time since the beginning of April? Tagging @Marje and Gracie who can help you with the spreadsheet so that the numbers between 50 and 68 on the True Metrix show the darker green.
Thank you for that information re: the bounces! I'll read up on that more so I fully understand the cycle. Should I give him the .25 reduction? I just tested him & he's at 375, so I need to give him a shot. Was too nervous to give him one at 6pm when he was at 202 and then had to leave the house for a few hrs.
I'll definitely highlight the extra info spaces. I know how to do that and simply wasn't thinking about it, even though I've always thought the color system was so great.
 
He's using ve

He's on veterinary Royal Canin Fiber Response for his mega colon plus Little Friskies variety Seafood pate. Half of each both am & pm. Usually he's fed between 7:30-8am (unless a family member wakes up earlier) and in the late afternoon between 5-5:30pm. Will take the reduction tonight - thank you for your input!
I can fix your SS. It has to be reformatted when you switch meters. I’ll send you a PM.
Thanks for helping on this, I didn't realize a reformat needed to happen when I switched meters - but it totally makes sense . Was just too expensive using the alpha track.
 
He's using ve

He's on veterinary Royal Canin Fiber Response for his mega colon plus Little Friskies variety Seafood pate. Half of each both am & pm. Usually he's fed between 7:30-8am (unless a family member wakes up earlier) and in the late afternoon between 5-5:30pm. Will take the reduction tonight - thank you for your input!
Is the Royal Canin the dry or canned version?
 
Back
Top