Possibly Somogyi effect - please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justyn

Member Since 2016
Hi there, my cat Socks is currently on 2u prozinc, and I use an alphatrak 2 meter. He is on a canned food that I was told by the company is only 2% NFE carbs. Ever since switching from hills rx m/d diet, I've been seeing VERY high (black) PMPS numbers, but he has had low +6 readings at the same time. I was JUST suggested by another member to consider that this may be Somogyi effect, as apparently, I've been told that low BG levels can cause crazy spikes/bounces in the sugar for days to come - which by looking at my spread sheet, would kind of make sense.

I'm posting this as I did a sort of curve on Sock's on Saturday, and he was very low even at his 10+ reading, so i reduced insulin from 2.5 to 2 and was not able to check his BG after that - but when I got home at 3am from an airport pick-up, he seemed awake and hungry so nothing like hypo symptoms (although I know it can be asymptomatic).. As I only had 3 hours of sleep, I did not think to worry to test his sugar for his AMPS, but I woke and noticed a large clump of pee in the litter box. So I checked him, and not to my surprise, today, his 5+ reading, he was 372.

Just gave him his dinner, and confused to see that his PMPS reading BG is 369 and I'm worried to reduce his insulin further to end up making his sugars just too high but maybe that might be what it takes.. Any suggestions would be so greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
J
 
Hi Justyn, I think he's indeed bouncing a lot right now but the key here is to stick to your dose for a little while.. It usually gives the kitty some space to adjust to the dose and will settle in..If he was mine I would stick with this 2U dose for now, see if his numbers will come down slowely. The midcycles are really looking good, some nice blue ones!
his PMPS from 9/17 was 179, that can have a lot of reasons, but we like to believe that this is caused by the dose that has been given.. So that means that the 2.5U was maybe too much, so a reduction to 2U is good. What kind of syringes do you use? because if you use the U100 ones you can reduce the dose in smaller steps like 2.25U instead of going down to 2U. Please note that if you are going to use that type of syringe that you need to convert the dose from U40 syringes to U100.
 
Gosh, thank you so much for the feedback. I will definitely stick with the 2u for now.. But i had just found a graph online of what it looks like with these spikes from Somogyi effect, and it almost replicated what is going on with my bub... So relieved to finally have an idea of what's going on with him.

But I do use U40 syringes, but my needles have half marks on them so it wouldn't be too difficult to eye-ball a .25 step down maybe if needed next time! Thanks for the advise!!
 
haha, you're welcome Justyn :bighug: Well bouncing (or somogyi effect) we call it bouncing if you're using Prozinc, is a real PITA! :rolleyes: We've almost all experienced it and it's no fun. But there's a saying here on FDMB that goes 'A bounce will clear,, when a bounce will clear' soooooooo put those patient pants on and sit it out ;) You will get there, Sock's body needs to adjust to it and that requires time.
For now just wait for it to clear and then try to find patterns in your sheet.
Oh great you've got the half marked ones! those are great to eyeball indeed, so you can try that next time when you lower or up the dose.
 
Awww awesome gosh thanks again. I was really thinking I should go down more but I'll definitely hang tight! I'm just in such shock because he was on 5u BID when eating hills m/d rx diet, and his NADIR was always around 200. It was just keeping him so high! He's gaining weight, he's happy as can be, but I never knew that even a low number like 60 (which I've seen him at for sure) could make him rebound to the 400s. I'm so excited to see if this is the answer!
 
Yes it can rebound from 60 to 400 indeed... Again PITA! Hahaha
Well it can be that Sock's needs a reduction, but for now he's good. If you get a 200 or 180 at a AM or PM reading then you should reduce the dose, but then just come online and you can get help with that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top