Possible Remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buddyboy14

Member
My cat Buddy was on 1.5 units of lantus, but he was consistently testing low for his evening dose, so we went down to 1 unit. But he was still testing low under 180 some days over the past week. Last night he was 82, so today I did a curve.


7:30 am - 227
1 1/2 can food after test
.5 unit of Lantus

10:30 - 176

12:30 - Ate a 1/4 can of food

1:30 - 191

4:30 - 220

7:30 - 190
1/2 can of food after test
.5 unit of lantus

I sent the curve to my vet, but wanted to see the thoughts on this? I’m using u100 syringes so it’s really hard to measure .5 dose let alone lower. Is there another option to measure a low dose? Do these numbers mean he might go into remission soon or just getting to a lower dose?
 
Are you using the U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm with 1/2 unit markings?
These are the syringes you need to be using for the lower doses.
Sarah do you have a spreadsheet you can share with us? We can help you a lot more is we can see data. Otherwise it is very difficult.
He is not ready to come off insulin yet. He needs to go down through the doses 0.5, 0.25, 0.1, a drop before he comes off insulin. We can help you with this but need the spreadsheet. This is the way to get a strong remission. If you stop the insulin too soon Buddy will most likely fall out of remission at some point.
 
Bron gave you the link to creating a spreadsheet on your previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...nits-of-lantus-does-this-seem-correct.294067/. Would it be possible for you to set one up and record his numbers there. We are all so used to looking at the spreadsheet as we like to see more than just the data of one cycle to suggest what to do with dosing.

You can get U-100 doses with 1/2 unit markings on them. Here is a list of some of the ones available in the US.
The numbers above don't suggest to me that his dose needs to be lowered.
 
Thank you! Could you possibly send me instructions for the spreadsheet again? I wasn’t planning on taking him off insulin. I’m waiting to hear back from my vet on how she wants to proceed, so I assume it will be the same advice!

These are the syringes my vet gave me UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringes U-100 12.7mm x 29G, 0.3-cc.
 
Bron gave you the link to creating a spreadsheet on your previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...nits-of-lantus-does-this-seem-correct.294067/. Would it be possible for you to set one up and record his numbers there. We are all so used to looking at the spreadsheet as we like to see more than just the data of one cycle to suggest what to do with dosing.

You can get U-100 doses with 1/2 unit markings on them. Here is a list of some of the ones available in the US.
The numbers above don't suggest to me that his dose needs to be lowered.
Thank you! I will fill out the spreadsheet. I appreciate you sending the links for the other syringe options!
 
Are you using the U100, 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm with 1/2 unit markings?
These are the syringes you need to be using for the lower doses.
Sarah do you have a spreadsheet you can share with us? We can help you a lot more is we can see data. Otherwise it is very difficult.
He is not ready to come off insulin yet. He needs to go down through the doses 0.5, 0.25, 0.1, a drop before he comes off insulin. We can help you with this but need the spreadsheet. This is the way to get a strong remission. If you stop the insulin too soon Buddy will most likely fall out of remission at some point.

Quick question - how would you measure .25 or .1 unit doses? I got the 1/2 unit marking syringes, but even with those it seems like it would be impossible. Many evenings I’m having to skip his dose even after giving him only .5 unit in the morning, because he’s under 180. Like this evening he was 121 after giving him .5 unit this morning. Still need to work on putting together the spreadsheet. I’ve had a crazy couple weeks!
 
If you can create the spreadsheet we can look at it and help you with dosing. If we can’t see data we can’t really help you.
It’s possible you can still give the 0.5 dose if the Preshot is under 180. We need to see the nadirs
 
Quick question - how would you measure .25 or .1 unit doses? I got the 1/2 unit marking syringes, but even with those it seems like it would be impossible.
Yes it is hard to get accurate small doses but what counts is consistent dose. If you really want 0.1 just draw up the insulin to the same place every time. It does not matter if it really 0.3. If you are drawing up lwess than about 1 unit look where the Zero mark is in relation to the end of the black end of the plunger. I have seen syringes where the Zero mark is really about 0.4 units.
 
Last edited:
upload_2025-1-25_12-6-28.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-25_12-6-28.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-25_12-6-28.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 62
These are the syringes my vet gave me UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringes U-100 12.7mm x 29G, 0.3-cc.
@Buddyboy14
Just wanted to be sure the syringes you are using have the half unit markings. I googled the syringes you are using and I don't think they have half unit markings
I was using these, they have the half unit markings
  • UltiCare U-100 Vet Rx HALF UNIT Insulin Syringes 31g 3/10cc 60/bx

UltiCare U-100 Vet Rx HALF UNIT Insulin Syringes 31g 3/10cc 60/bx



  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top