Possible remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nookie088

Member Since 2014
Hey guys, maybe some good news. Jay's numbers have been relatively low the last 24 hours with no insulin. I didn't update his tracker yet but here are some of his BG readings.

5-1-14
BG @7AM - 239. Fed @7AM. 1 unit of ProZinc @7:30AM
BG @6:30PM - 92. Fed @6:30PM
BG @8:30PM - 153

5-2-14
BG @7AM - 192. Fed @7AM
BG @5:30PM - 205. Fed @6:45PM
BG @8PM - 189

I am going to test for ketones as soon as I catch him peeing. I will continue to test his BG but unless it rises above 250 I wasn't going to give him an injection. Thoughts? Suggestions?
 
My diet controlled diabetic Wink gets BG readings in the 70- 110 range usually. Normal BG ranges are 40-120 mg/dL. Measured with a human glucometer.

The numbers you are getting are not in the normal range for a cat. So sorry, but your cat is not in remission yet.
 
He could be heading there though, can you update your sheet so we can take a look? If he is, and if not, more tests will tell you more. I would like to see more mid cycle tests and /or before bed.

You want to catch that low.. The low is how you base the dose change on. And if he goes under. 50 he earns a reduction, a step toward being OTJ.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
He could be heading there though, can you update your sheet so we can take a look? If he is, and if not, more tests will tell you more. I would like to see more mid cycle tests and /or before bed.

You want to catch that low.. The low is how you base the dose change on. And if he goes under. 50 he earns a reduction, a step toward being OTJ.

I was going to test him one more time tonight before we go to bed. I was planning on giving him 1/2 or 1/4 unit tomorrow morning after he eats and test him at the nadir. I think he is heading towards remission though. His BG dropped after he ate which I think means his pancreas is partly recovered. I hope at least. Any suggestions welcome. I'll update his SS shortly
 
Another key for remission is consistent dosing. Don't drop too soon. Don't drop unless he goes under 50 or stays 40-130 for a week. You don't want to stress the pancreas too much. That's why more testing is important, you really need to know how low he is going..
 
Another key for remission is consistent dosing. Don't drop too soon. Don't drop unless he goes under 50 or stays 40-130 for a week. You don't want to stress the pancreas too much. That's why more testing is important, you really need to know how low he is going.. Read the protocol.. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

EDITED to ADD Sorry must have been a board issue. Not sure why it posted twice, this second post has content from another message!. The first one was what I meant... The lantus protocol was for someone else
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Another key for remission is consistent dosing. Don't drop too soon. Don't drop unless he goes under 50 or stays 40-130 for a week. You don't want to stress the pancreas too much. That's why more testing is important, you really need to know how low he is going.. Read the protocol.. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

He's on ProZinc does that protocol still apply? I work during the day so I am wary of giving him a shot when he is under 200 for fear of hypo while at work. I may start getting up in the middle of the night during the week again. Depends on his nadirs this weekend.
 
If you use U-100 syringes, you can dose in 0.2 unit increments.
And if you get data to show how much he typically drops on 0.5 or0 .75, you can use that to determine how much lower you can shoot. Most of us using ProZinc work down to about 150 mg/dL for no shot.

ex
1 unit dropped him from 383 to 99, a drop of 284 - that is a lot.
If you gave 0.5 units, he might drop 142 mg/dL
If you gave 0.25 units, he might drop 71 mg/dL
.... or not, since every day is a new day, with different food batches, activity levels, stress, etc.
 
I think the protocol Wendy is suggesting is for Lantus. Here is some info on mini dosing, headed for OTJ with ProZinc.

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top