nwfisher
Member Since 2014
Well, we're only two weeks in and our boy Spider may actually be close to remission. When he went to the vet initially and got diagnosed his BG was at 600. They kept him 3 days and by the time he left he was getting 4 units of Prozinc twice a day. That dosage at home cratered his BG to dangerous levels so we reduced him to 3 and started moving him over to Fancy Feast pate food (mixing larger and larger amounts with the W/D wet from the vet). We got the monitoring routine down and over the next week we continued to lower his dose (and slowly increase percentage of Fancy Feast) as his high water mark BG moved down to the point we never saw higher than maybe 300.
This past Saturday morning he was at probably 75% Fancy Feast and 25% W/D on his food mix. He tested 205 AMPS so we gave him 1 unit. That 1 unit cratered him all the way down to 37 so we gave him a little leftover kibble we had on hand and monitored him all day. He slowly rose up to around 170. However, by the time it was time for his nightly shot he was back down to 157 (this is Saturday night). So we gave him 100% Fancy Feast and skipped the shot. The next morning he was 125. We monitored him all Sunday and he never rose above about 170. His AMPS this morning was 140. He hasn't had insulin since the 1 unit Saturday AM.
Obviously he must be a Type 2. He is still producing insulin. We are monitoring BG and giving 100% Fancy Feast. I still think he may wind up needing .5 units going forward, but as long as he never rises above 200 I'm not sure if we should give any.
This past Saturday morning he was at probably 75% Fancy Feast and 25% W/D on his food mix. He tested 205 AMPS so we gave him 1 unit. That 1 unit cratered him all the way down to 37 so we gave him a little leftover kibble we had on hand and monitored him all day. He slowly rose up to around 170. However, by the time it was time for his nightly shot he was back down to 157 (this is Saturday night). So we gave him 100% Fancy Feast and skipped the shot. The next morning he was 125. We monitored him all Sunday and he never rose above about 170. His AMPS this morning was 140. He hasn't had insulin since the 1 unit Saturday AM.
Obviously he must be a Type 2. He is still producing insulin. We are monitoring BG and giving 100% Fancy Feast. I still think he may wind up needing .5 units going forward, but as long as he never rises above 200 I'm not sure if we should give any.