Possible remission (We're in wait and see mode)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwfisher

Member Since 2014
Well, we're only two weeks in and our boy Spider may actually be close to remission. When he went to the vet initially and got diagnosed his BG was at 600. They kept him 3 days and by the time he left he was getting 4 units of Prozinc twice a day. That dosage at home cratered his BG to dangerous levels so we reduced him to 3 and started moving him over to Fancy Feast pate food (mixing larger and larger amounts with the W/D wet from the vet). We got the monitoring routine down and over the next week we continued to lower his dose (and slowly increase percentage of Fancy Feast) as his high water mark BG moved down to the point we never saw higher than maybe 300.

This past Saturday morning he was at probably 75% Fancy Feast and 25% W/D on his food mix. He tested 205 AMPS so we gave him 1 unit. That 1 unit cratered him all the way down to 37 so we gave him a little leftover kibble we had on hand and monitored him all day. He slowly rose up to around 170. However, by the time it was time for his nightly shot he was back down to 157 (this is Saturday night). So we gave him 100% Fancy Feast and skipped the shot. The next morning he was 125. We monitored him all Sunday and he never rose above about 170. His AMPS this morning was 140. He hasn't had insulin since the 1 unit Saturday AM.

Obviously he must be a Type 2. He is still producing insulin. We are monitoring BG and giving 100% Fancy Feast. I still think he may wind up needing .5 units going forward, but as long as he never rises above 200 I'm not sure if we should give any.
 
We got Ketone strips. The wife is supposed to try and get a test for that today. I knew the question was coming.
N
 
This is lovely news!

We consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120, off insulin, for two weeks. So he is on his way. Since you are just starting on a wet low carb diet, I would think it wise to watch his numbers carefully to see if he drops on his own. After a week or so, if you are still getting numbers in the 140-150+ range, you might have to give him a mini dose to get him down into those remission ranges. (the 200 is a no shoot number for beginning diabetics until you have data. He is in remission at that 120 range, without insulin)

If you decide you need to mini dose, we have lots of people doing that on the PZI forum so you might ask for some advice there.

Aren't wet low carb diets amazing? It makes me want to stop people in PetSmart and tell them to stop feeding dry. :mrgreen:
 
We are excited!

Yes, I did a bit of reading in the PZI forum. I understand that the 150 to 200 is too high long term, so we'll keep monitoring and see how it goes. I am betting we wind up having to mini dose as you said.
N
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top