? Possible Remission help Boris PMPS 56 @ .5 dosage

Nathalie & Boris

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone!

I know it's been a while since I have been on here and my spreadsheet is not currently up to date. As well as I have forgotten posting requirements. Things just go too hectic for a while with the business, trying to find a new vet, handle Boris's swings etc. I do have all the numbers and will update soon. Please don't chastise me. lol

Anyhow, new holistic vet has been great and works with my charts. Had me switch to certain brands of raw food, which I've found Primal does the best at keeping his numbers in check, as well as has me giving him 2 supplements twice a day.

EThe reductions have happened so fast. We have gone from 2 units twice a day to .5, pretty much reducing the dose by .25 every 1-3 weeks. Today at .5 units, after his normal symolgi swing, he went down to 150 at the middle of the day, so I started watching, and of course the last two hours before feeding time, he hovered in the 50's which I gave treats to see if he was going to come up and he maintained. His PMPS was 56.

With that said, the vet is sick and I can't talk to her. I skipped his shot tonight since he was not going up and I didn't want to send him into hypo. The question is do you think I should go ahead and try to stop the insulin or pick up the dose at .25 in the am? I'm supposed to go out of town for some much needed relaxation this weekend, and I'm a little wary of having someone give him shots that can't take the blood and monitor.
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@FrostD

Last post in 2022
Boris AMPS 232, +3 263, +5.5 278, PMPS 201, +3 122, +4.5 47, +5 50
 
Hi Nathalie. I’m glad Boris is doing well but the short answer is you don’t go from . 50 to OTJ. With TR reductions are earned as a long term diabetic if BG is under 40. Would it be possible to enter the data you gave for the last two weeks?

Symolgi is had not been found to exist for cats. I can link a sticky on that.
 
after his normal symolgi swing
You do know there's no such thing, right? NEW!!! Chronic Somogyi Rebound: Myths and Facts

Reducing the dose by 0.25 units every 1-3 weeks, as he earns reductions, is not an unusual thing if his pancreas is healing. Are you still following TR as per your signature? From the older data in the SS, it looks like you weren't waiting until he went under 50. Actually, since he's a long term diabetic now, the reduction point is 40.

No one here will be suggesting stopping insulin, without the data to see that it makes sense to do so. Even the last week of data will help us to help you make the decision. Since he did not go below 50 on 0.5 units, at least from what you've said above, his dose is still 0.5 units. It's not uncommon for cats to nadir at preshot time. With Lantus, you do have to get used to shooting low numbers, as long as above 50.
 
I can update the spreadsheet later. Interestingly enough, the last vet that wasn't that great, and the new one have both said he seems to have the symolgi affect although they first said it is not seen among cats. The reason I don't shoot low numbers at 50 is because time and time again has proven that if he is not coming up, another shot will make him go down. And unfortunately I can't watch him all night feeding him karo syrup etc. I'm going to take him to .25 in the am. The difference we have based on the sticky note that was posted, if Boris is not continually going back up with his dosage. He bounces, then within 1-4 days he comes back, with the lower dose, and then goes back down to the 50's. And yes, I'm still working the tight regulation.
Hi Nathalie. I’m glad Boris is doing well but the short answer is you don’t go from . 50 to OTJ. With TR reductions are earned as a long term diabetic if BG is under 40. Would it be possible to enter the data you gave for the last two weeks?

Symolgi is had not been found to exist for cats. I can link a sticky on that.
 
Note, at one point, vets were taught that Somogyi was a thing. So depending on their age, that's what they saw in training. Several of the papers listed in the post I linked above disprove that it exists but fairly new so your vets may not have seen them. It must be so hard for them to keep on top of all the new papers for all the different animals they care for.

The reason I don't shoot low numbers at 50 is because time and time again has proven that if he is not coming up, another shot will make him go down.
A quick scan of your spreadsheet, I found three times you have given the shot in the 50's. He didn't dive in any of those three cycles. There was one time you shot the 60's that he dove, but it was a bounce breaking cycle so not surprising.

Good luck with the new dose. I would say you are not actually following TR, as you are taking reductions before they are earned and missing some second tests in cycles. If he holds the reductions, then that's what works for you and I'd call it custom dosing.
 
Hi Natalie and Boris, I sure hope he continues to do so well and you continue to be able to reduce! Glad to see you pop in, I was wondering where you went. :bighug:
 
Back
Top