Possible reason to seek a second opinion? (RE: Diabetes Diagnosis)

Status
Not open for further replies.
WELCOME TO OUR FORUM
Do you know if they ran a fructosemine (sp) test? That would determine if your cat actually HAS diabetes. Also a diabetic is ravenous and puts out a copious amount of urine. His litter box would be full of sticky clumps.

It sounds to me like you need a second opinion. When you shop for a new vet be sure to let them know of his dx

400 dollars is way too much for insulin. Was that price including the tests and the vet visit? (what is the name of this insulin they prescribed?)

Hold on for more replies we will help you get this sorted.
Again we are glad you found us,
jeanne
 
Hello!

So, kitty had no diabetic symptoms? Ravenous appetite, excessive drinking/peeing/accidents? A cat CAN go from being fine, getting sick, and getting knocked into diabetes (or out of remission, if kitty is diabetic but no longer on insulin). My kitty was fine one day, got terribly sick all of a sudden, and became diabetic. But I highly suspect that was a bout of pancreatitis, not a runny nose.

Stress from the vet, any sort of illness, and ESPECIALLY bad teeth can raise BG. You need to find out how they determined he was diabetic. Did they run a fructosamine, or just check blood sugar at the clinic?
Edit: See they only checked BG at the time? Baloney, that's not good enough. Stress from a vet visit ALONE can raise BG by 200 points.

Have you started insulin? I suggest purchasing a glucometer and strips in the morning (if you are in the US go to Walmart and pick up a ReliOn Prime, test strips, and lancets) and check at home. Just a BG test at the vet is not reason to assume a cat is diabetic.
 
Have you started insulin? I suggest purchasing a glucometer and strips in the morning (if you are in the US go to Walmart and pick up a ReliOn Prime, test strips, and lancets) and check at home. Just a BG test at the vet is not reason to assume a cat is diabetic.
I was just coming back to include that THANKS Elizabeth!
 
The only test they did was pricking his ear and testing the blood on a blood glucose meter. (I did not even give them consent to do this, actually.) I did not pay for any other testing nor was any other testing done. This was how they diagnosed it when I asked them how they knew he had high blood sugar. They told me they pricked his ear and tested the blood sugar level. They charged me $55 for that on my invoice.
Higher glucose readings could be caused by an infection pain and even stress. Most cats have elevated glucose readings when tested at the vet. A fructosomine test is needed to diagnose diabetes. That gives an average of the glucose levels over several days.
 
Go buy yourself a Relion meter at walmart if it comes with strips even better. prick his ear in the comfort of hs own home (no bet stress) if indeed this was a misdiagnoses you can either keep the meter (just in case or donate it here.)

WE can walk you through how to test .
 
If he needs a dental, he would be uncomfortable eating. Unregulated diabetics cry for food all the time. $55 for one blood test is insane, you can buy at-home supplies for cheaper than that.
I would hold off on any more insulin, your vet sounds like they jumped the gun big time.

I recommend purchasing a meter and strips (if you get the ReliOn Prime, the meter is $9 and I believe you can get a 50-pack of strips for $9. I think the 25-pack is discontinued). Get some vaseline, Neosporin + pain relief (ointment, NOT cream) and we can show you how to test at home. A test in your home is going to be more accurate than the vet. It sounds like he needs a dental and to get over the URI.
 
Guys, so if they did not run a fructosemine test on him (they didn't) then this method of testing is not good enough to diagnose diabetes?
Absolutely not.

Fructosamines are an average of BG over the past few weeks. If it is elevated, that's reason for concern. However a high BG test like your clinic did can be affected by stress (and it WILL be elevated in a vet clinic). It can also be elevated from illness and dental issues. If your cat needs a dental, the levels will be elevated. If he's in a vet clinic, the numbers will be elevated. But that doesn't mean he is insulin-deficient. If you cat is not showing diabetic symptoms to begin with ... the likelihood of diabetes is basically zero.
 
My god I don't know what just happened today, but this is insane! They never said anything about such a test even existing.

My cat has only been to the vet a few times in his life, I know he was incredibly stressed about going. Plus he just went through his respiratory infection. None of this is making any sense.
Find a new Vet and I think his infection has not cleared up. I know its nuts but we have seen it all here. smh.
 
call and ask them... I doubt they forgot to charge you for something they did. I guess it could have been included but Ive NEVER heard that in all the years Ive been here
 
It depends on the vet clinic, some send it off I think, but others can do it in-house. Call and find out and ASK to be sent a copy so we can see it. I still wouldn't give insulin just yet. What does your invoice say they did? Can we see a copy?
 
Still think it's the dental. How's his appetite? If his teeth hurt he won't want to eat, which would explain the weight loss. How much does he weigh and how much should he weigh?
 
You are entitled to a copy of all lab work. Ask for it.

Do not give insulin to your cat until you see the lab work (you can post it here, giving the reference range as well) and you are testing the cat yourself.
For a few dollars, you can get the Relion meter from Walmart. We'll help you learn how to test.
 
Truth be told I'm not sure if fructosamines are part of routine bloodwork? I'm looking at my copy for Panic's and it's showing elevated glucose but I don't know if that's a one-off test or the same as a fructosamine.
 
Please do not give insulin until you have a meter and can test. A day too high is not as dangerous as a minute too low.
Breathe. Feline diabetes is not as bad as you think. It doesn't happen with every cat, but there have been over 400 cats here have gone into remission since 2008.
It is, however, a steep learning curve. We can help you learn and help you establish a routine. There is an absolute wealth of experience and researched information on this forum.
 
I don’t think a fructosamine can be run in a vet’s office. It needs to be sen to a lab. Get a copy of all tests done now and in the last month emailed to you.

A important question had been asked twice. What insulin and how much was given?
 
It was routine bloodwork. I think the bloodwork for basically a cat physical.

Most complete blood panels and senior blood panels don't include a fructosamine. It has to be ordered special if the vet wants it.

Just having an elevated glucose doesn't necessarily mean anything.

If you do end up with a sugarcat, that's what we're all here for! To help you learn how to treat it and give your kitty a long and healthy life! A diabetic cat can live as long as any other cat if their diabetes is controlled....and some lucky cats can even go into remission!
 
Can't imagine it not being Lantus at the $400 price.

Yeah, that's a Lantus or Levemir price in the US.

@LUT605 ....if it's Lantus, Basaglar or Levemir and your cat is for sure diabetic, you can get them much cheaper from Canada. Most of us are these days!

Here's the information on Buying insulin from Canada

You'll have more than enough if you got a 10ml vial for awhile though! It should last you at least 4-6 months if kept in the fridge
 
I injected him with "ProZinc" 40 units per ML.

If you paid $400 for ProZinc, whoever sold it to you really ripped you off. You can buy it on Chewy for $106

2U is actually a higher starting dose than we recommend. Most cats should be started at .5 to 1U and slowly increased as needed while home testing to see how well the dose is working
 
Lut... Its going to be ok. We can walk you through the learning process. LET US. Its what we are all here for. We HAVE been in your shoes. There was always someone here when I needed help and believe me I was GLUED to this computer screen.
You can do this.
j
 
2 units is too much, please only give 0.5 to start. This is the biggest issue we have when new members come here, the vets start at too high a dose and cause problems that take weeks to clear up.

Still would like to see those lab results, please.
 
Elizabeth is right. Look at it this way. When a "Vet to be" gets educated in college they spend maybe half a day on diabetes less than that on FELINE diabetes. Its really not their fault. They just dont get the proper education because there are SO many other things to learn.
They go by a outdated book to make their assumptions and treatments.
 
I know everything is overwhelming right now, but I promise it does not take long before that feeling will go away and you will feel you are in control again. You already received great advice and I am going add some and summarize it to make it easier for you.

1. Relax and breathe!!! I know this is hard to even consider right now but you have a lot of support right now.

2. Get copies of all lab work quickly. Even if you have to pick up the copies of they cannot email them to you. Share them with us so we can advise you.

3. Before you give any more insulin, make sure your cat eats and lower the dose to 1/2 unit. Right now do not give more than that. We also recommend that you home test. You can use any human glucose meter to test. If you are in the US the Walmart Relion meters are good and the strips are not expensive. You would test before every shot. Don't worry we can teach you.

4. Tell us what foods you cat is eating, including wet and dry.

5. Schedule the dental for your cat. Infections caused by bad teeth can also infect the sinuses. Your cat may need to be on a different antibiotic.

6. If you want to change vets let us know where you live. We may have members near you that can recommend a vet for you.

You have found the best place you never want to be. Everyone on this board has had at least one diabetic cat and many of us have had multiple ones that we adopted knowing they are diabetic. So there is a lot of experienced people here to help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top