Possible Nutrition Issues on Dr. Lisa's Raw Diet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlies Mum

Member Since 2010
I'm sort of taking stabs in the dark at what's going on with both my cats (diabetic and non-diabetic), and I'm wondering if diet might have something to do with it because until recently, Basil had never had a sick day in his life. They've been on Dr. Lisa's raw chicken recipe for about 8 months. They initially loved it, but now they'd rather eat anything than it. They are only eating about 1/2 of what they were (so far no major weight loss though). The 3rd lids of both cats are showing (Charlie's have been visible for over a month; Basil's just started showing a couple of weeks ago). Neither has a fever, but both like lying in front of the heater too much. Both are starting to look a bit unkempt. Both are drinking, but their faces look a little gaunt like they might be slightly dehydrated. Both are less active/more lethargic (however you want to look at it). Both go crazy for treats like 100% dehydrated lamb's lungs, 100% dehydrated beef liver, deer jerky, 100% dehydrated whitefish chunks, etc., and both want to eat off my plate. It looks to me like they really want to eat, but they are put off by their own food. This makes me think something is funky about the raw diet, although my dogs eat the same food, but with the addition of veggies, and they have no problems with it.

I'd like to change their diet to eliminate the diet as a possible cause (maybe malnutrition, or hypervitaminosis), but I am penniless, so anything I give them I have to be able to buy with my food stamps. I've thought about contacting some of the manufacturers to see if they will maybe donate some low carb cannend food to my poor kitties, but I have a very hard time asking for stuff, or organizing well enough to do that. And I'm not at all convinced it would work anyway.

Is anyone here using Dr. Lisa's diet? For how long? How are your cats doing? Are you making it exactly like her recipe? Any changes? It seems her recipe has changed some since I started making it 8 or 9 months ago.

Here is what I do:
Grind 3 lbs whole chickens minus the fattiest skin. Heart & liver included, but no other organs (think the kidneys are sometimes in there)
add about 4 oz blended chicken livers
Sometimes add about 1/2 lb chicken hearts and/or gizzards
1 raw egg
1 soft boiled egg (her recipe used to say two lightly cooked eggs, but now says cook the white and leave the yolk raw. Never done it that way)
1/2 to 1 tsp omega 3 oil as cod liver oil or Lipiderm (can't buy different oil b/c can't buy it with food stamps, and this is what I had stockpiled, don't know how to measure 1000 mg)
about 3/8 tsp salt substitute (potassium source, usually Morton brand, has iodine; Dr. Lisa's recipe calls for Morton Light salt which is about 50:50 potassium:sodium, so same thing)
about 3/8 tsp salt (not always Morton, but is iodized)
400 unit vitamin E (Swanson brand)
50-100 mg B complex (Swanson) I would swear her recipe called for 100 mg, but if cats rejected that much, to try only 50 mg, but I can't find that now.
200 mg taurine
Water


Anyone see anything in the diet that might explain their reluctance to eat it, or too much or too little of some nutrient? In the last batch, just started a few days ago, I had to use beef liver instead of chicken liver because the grocery store out here in the middle of nowhere doesn't always have chicken livers. I stock up when they do, but ran out. Problem started before this batch of food though, and seems to be slowly getting worse.

Any ideas welcome-- keeping in mind I do not currently have any cash for supplements, commercial diets, non-food items, etc.

Thanks for your help everyone!
 
I was wondering if Charlie is still diabetic. I can't tell from your spreadsheet. It looks like you shot once a day and were getting very high numbers, but there is not any current info. If so, that might explain some of his symptoms, but not if there are present in both cats.

The cheapest commercial food is either Special Kitty from Walmart or Friskies.

I don't feed raw but someone who knows about it will reply so keep checking back in.
 
Could you update the SS for us? What are Charlie's BGs these days?

Although I suppose it could be the food, I would really strongly suggest a full vet visit for both. Especially since there has been no weight loss. The third eyelid is not a good sign, and they need to be seen ASAP.
 
I agree with Karen that they really need to be seen by a vet :( In the meantime, have you tested their urine for ketones?
 
I guess you guys don't know me over here very well anymore. I keep Charlie's log on another site. He's regulated at this moment, but only because I about doubled his insulin dose. His BG goes through the roof when he's sick.

I have no money for any commercial diet at all. ZERO income, zero savings, zero money, period. He has to eat food I can buy with food stamps.

He's seen a vet. Three of them. They suck. Not one of them has any idea what he or she is talking about, and I'm under the impression the just don't care. They don't know anything about TR, and they keep going off about the way I shoot him instead of focusing on the illness. Both carts are ill, so the problem is not his blood sugar. It's infection, or diet, or something environmental. That's why I was hoping there were people here who used Dr. Lisa's recipe (chicken). She feeds her cats rabbit, so I'm not sure how she knows her chicken recipe is any good since she doesn't feed chicken.

I have urinalysis test strips. He has no ketones, and never really has (sometimes the pad looks like it might have some color between negative and trace, but it's probably the color of the blood in his urine staining it). His leukocytes are high, indicating infection, but there is nitrite. All other parameters are normal, except he always has blood in his urine, and there is always some protein.
 
I know the food bank here in Delaware gets pet food and gives it to shelters to distribute to low-income pet owners. Have you considered calling a few local shelters and explaining your problem to them - that you were feeding your cats a vet-recomended raw diet but now need to switch them over to regular cat food but that it must be low-carb. Some of them may well be willing to give you some canned cat food that is suitable in order to assist you in not having large vet bills, or having to give up your cats. A brief internet search I made showed many results for pet food banks for those who had qualifying incomes - particularly seniors (but not limited too). If you do a similiar google search with pet food bank and your state you might turn up some results.
 
Dr. Lisa does extensive research on her recipes. She is a vet with access to tools that allow her to create recipes that are properly balanced based on the specific protein. The fact that she personally doesn't feed chicken doesn't make her recipe bunk. I've seen a bit of how she does it as she created a custom diet for my cat Willie. He has thrived on the diet she created for us which is similar to yours but specifically tailored to willie's needs and to the protein being used (venison).

While I sympathize with your lack of luck with prior vets (having dealt previously with the same) and certainly your current financial situation, those things unfortunately don't change the fact that your cats need medical attention. I'd urge you to make phone calls and find a vet at least willing to deal with an owner following TR even if they are not a fan.

If you have specific concerns about the diet, have you considered contacting Dr. Lisa directly?
 
I feed Dr. Lisa's raw diet to my three and have had no issues with mine. They have been on it since the beginning of January this year. I hope you find out what is going on with your babies!
 
feed all 6 of mine Dr. lisa's recipe for the last 4 years and they never looked or felt better. oh yea, she changed the B to 50 mg cause she felt 100mg MIGHT be overkill but you can give either amount.
she cooks the eggs now due to salmonella outbreak a while ago, so better safe than sorry
I only use legs and thighs when I do mine and only chicken livers. I have absolutely no substitutions form her recipe. I also use mortan lite salt
 
Which website do you normally post at?

Honestly, I highly doubt the issues are with the food. I understand your complete lack of funds but without proper medical diagnostics I can't think how we can help you solve this problem. Your cats do not sound well and they need a vet who can help you....if there is a chance we can help you find a better vet maybe that would help?

Jen
 
If you guys know a way to find a better vet in my area, by all means, share. I have called my old veterinary acupuncturist (a licensed ER vet I used to see before I went broke) for referrals and ideas, but she makes her recommendations based on whether the vet uses homeopathic techniques, and they are all over $100 just for an initial exam, and are 30 or more miles away, so they are all out. She couldn't recommend any down where I'm currently staying, and didn't know anything about the two vets' offices in town. I also sent an email to the dogs' old veterinary chiropractor (again, from before I went broke). She's closer to this area, but she hasn't answered. I'm not sure what I said to give anyone the impression that I needed someone to suggest they see a vet.

Charlie has seen three different vets since January, and he's had antibiotics, bloodwork, urinalysis, pancreatitis test, and bloodwork. They've seen vets. The vets just aren't doing any good, so I'm trying to rule out other things for myself. I also didn't say Dr. Lisa's food was bunk. I wouldn't be feeding it if I thought that! Please don't put words in my mouth. I am only trying to find out how other cats are doing on the chicken version since Dr. Lisa's cats are eating her rabbit version. I find it suspect that two cats who have never been finicky, and liked their raw diet just fine up until recently, suddenly act as though they'd rather eat anything than the food I'm making for them. What's changed? It made me wonder if they might be seeking nutrients that aren't in their raw food, or avoiding something that is in their raw food. might be lacking in something, or have too much of something, or be tainted. I think that's a reasonable angle to investigate. I didn't mean to offend anyone or imply that the diet was "bunk."

Thanks Dian & Weezer. Six cats doing well for 4 years is a good sample size and duration. Do you make it all up and freeze it, or make it fresh each day, or what? I have been grinding great gobs of chicken, then freezing it in 3 lb bags for mixing with the other ingredients when I thaw it. My dogs eat it too, so it's never in the refrigerator more than a few days. Thank you also Kelly and Oscar. Mine seemed quite happy with it for about the first six months or so.

There are several places to get free cat and dog food in this area, but they don't supply enough, nor do they supply canned food or low-carb food. Already checked into that, but thank you for the suggestion.

Contacting Dr. Lisa is a good idea. I'll see if I can find her contact info..

I'm a regular member of DCC. That's where I get my dosing advice and keep my log. There are a lot of people on this site though, and some who feed Dr. Lisa's raw diet, so it made sense to post over here again about that issue.
 
I make it all up with everything and then put it in containers and freeze. I take out enough for a few days. here is what I freeze mine in and they are reusable. And as you can see, they like it anyway they can get it
 
I can only imagine how frustrating it is to not be able to get to the bottom of what is wrong with your cats.

Any chance you'd share your spreadsheet and dosing with us in case there is something we see in that?

Jen
 
Thanks Dian & Weezer. Six cats doing well for 4 years is a good sample size and duration. Do you make it all up and freeze it, or make it fresh each day, or what? I have been grinding great gobs of chicken, then freezing it in 3 lb bags for mixing with the other ingredients when I thaw it. My dogs eat it too, so it's never in the refrigerator more than a few days. Thank you also Kelly and Oscar. Mine seemed quite happy with it for about the first six months or so.
This is the only difference I see..? Sounds like Dian completely prepares everything, then freezes it all mixed together. Not sure if that would make any difference..?
 
I also only use thighs and legs. I do not use the whole chicken, I add chicken livers. I mix the proportions for every 3# cause I now use (as Dr, lisa posted on site) some of the chicken skin. about half. when you use skin, additives are for every 3#. no skin, then additives added per every 2#. ground and mixed all together and then frozen in 1# containers. got these containers at Aldi's. very reasonable and have used same ones for years
 
Charlies Mum said:
I have urinalysis test strips. He has no ketones, and never really has (sometimes the pad looks like it might have some color between negative and trace, but it's probably the color of the blood in his urine staining it). His leukocytes are high, indicating infection, but there is nitrite. All other parameters are normal, except he always has blood in his urine, and there is always some protein.

Just as a side note, the leukocyte measure on urine strips (which were designed for humans) will usually be positive for leukocytes in cats, regardless of whether or not they have leukocytes (white blood cells) in the urine. If your cat has constant blood in his urine, he may have a urinary tract infection or, much more worrisome, a kidney infection. This is extremely concerning and should be checked out.
 
Would it be possible to get some free food available from one of the resources you checked on and supplement the diet of the non-diabetic cat with that? Keeping part raw provides the healthier protein balance while adding some commercial food would provide a source of vitamins that might be lacking. If you see improvement then you would know something is off with the raw diet.

Have you changed brands or source of any of the components you put in the diet?

Hope you can get to the bottom of why your kitties are sick. Its hard to see them not feeling well and not know how to fix it :sad:
 
For those who can't see Charlie's Name and Numbers thread on Diabetic Cat Care, here are the numbers since the beginning of March. Charlie gets BCP PZI. Charlie's Mum doesn't post numbers every day because of Internet connectivity issues. Therefore, this only goes through 4/7. (Charlie's Mum said it was OK for me to copy numbers over to here. If you need more, please let me know.)

3/1/11
==== +10.5 ==== 06:30 AM ==== 225/ 12.5 ==== 2.7u ==== .8> (.6 dur. +.2 boost b/c scale too low for +12 dosing)
==== +4.50 ==== ======== ==== 55/ 3.1 ==== ==== ==== Might’ve overdone it w/ this last shot a bit but I’m so glad to see him go into good numbers & stay there so long,
==== +6.50 ==== ======== ==== 38/ 2.1 ==== ==== ==== even if he did fall a bit low. No excessive eating, so I think I’d rather he dropped to 40s than Stayed above 100.
==== +7.75 ==== ======== ==== 42/ 2.3 ==== ==== ====
==== 10.25 ==== ======== ==== 113/ 6.3 ==== ==== ====
==== 12.25 ==== ======== ==== 246/ 13.7 ==== 2.7u

3/2/11
==== +13.0 ==== 07:45 AM ==== 338/ 18.8 ==== 2.8u ==== 0.8F> .8> + fat booster for +13 instead of +12
==== +4.50 ==== ======== ==== 248/ 13.8 ==== ==== ==== ==== Soft, pasty BMs in cat box
==== +7.25 ==== ======== ==== 119/ 6.6 ==== ==== ==== SICK ========SICK========3rd lids showing, lying in front of heater, temp normal 101.1; eat/drink okay,
==== 11.25 ==== ======== ==== 77/ 4.3 ==== ==== ==== ==== but obviously something is wrong
==== 12.00 ==== ======== ==== 71/ 3.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 13.00 ==== ======== ==== 98/ 5.4 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 14.00 ==== ======== ==== 125/ 6.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== ==== ======== ==== ==== 139/ 7.7 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 15.25 ==== ======== ==== 150/ 8.3 ==== 2.0u ==== 0.8> ========SICK========3rd lids showing still

3/3
==== +8.75 ==== 7:45 AM ==== 65/ 3.60 ==== ==== ==== ==== ========SICK========same as above; hasn’t peed but can’t palpate bladder. Temp 101.1
==== 11.50 ==== ======== ==== 284/ 15.8 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +5.00 ==== ======== ==== 236/ 13.1 ==== ==== ==== ==== 70 ml lactated ringer’s SQ to see if he can pee. Urine
==== +7.50 ==== ======== ==== 278/ 15.4 ==== ==== ==== ==== Stream strong. No visible blood. Lethargic. Always
==== +9.50 ==== ======== ==== 271/ 15.1 ==== 2.6u ==== .6> .8> scale -.2 for early shot (on +12 schedule) = .6 over
==== ==== ==== ======== ==== ======== ==== ==== ==== ==== No pill. Want to see if meds are making him act/look sick.

¾
==== 12.00 ==== 08:00 AM ==== 323/ 17.9 ==== 2.9u ==== 0.8> ========SICK========No improvement or changes since yesterday.
==== +5.25 ==== ======== ==== 164/ 9.10 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +8.00 ==== ======== ==== 158/ 8.80 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 10.00 ==== ======== ==== 202/ 11.2 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 11.75 ==== ======== ==== 231/ 12.8 ==== 2.7u ==== 0.8> .8> scale No pill since 2nd. 3rd lids still extended

3/5
==== 12.75 ==== 08:30 AM ==== 320/ 17.8 ==== 2.9u ==== 0.8> .8> scale.
==== +3.00 ==== ======== ==== 261/ ==== ==== ==== ==== ========SICK========No improvement or changes
==== +7.25 ==== ======== ==== 248/ ==== ==== ==== ====
11.50 ==== ======== ==== 280/ ==== 3.0u ==== 1.0> 1.0u > scale. No pill since 2nd. 3rd lids still extended.

3/6
==== 12.00 ==== 08:00 AM ==== 410/ ==== ==== ==== ==== ========SICK========No improvement or changes
==== +4.25 ==== ======== ==== 426/ ==== ==== ==== ==== Last good # was 3/3. Temp 101.1. slightly lethargic
==== ==== ==== ==== ======== ==== 409/ ==== ==== ==== ==== Rolling back dose to figure out what’s going on
==== +6.25 ==== ======== ==== 393/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== ==== ==== ======== ==== 316/ ==== 2.3u ==== 0.2> .2> No pill since 2nd. 3rd lids still extended.

3/7
==== 12.00 ==== 0:800 AM ==== 320/ ==== 2.3u ==== 0.2> .2>========SICK========No improvement or changes
==== +3.5 ==== ==== ======== ==== 198/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +6.00 ==== ======== ==== 152/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +7.75 ==== ======== ==== 207/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 11.00 ==== ======== ==== 367/ ==== 2.4u ==== 0.2> .2> 3rd lids still extended.

3/8
==== 11.00 ==== 0:600 AM ==== 336/ ==== 2.1u ==== scale ========SICK========No improvement or changes. Return to +8 sched until I figure this out.
==== +5.00 ==== ======== ==== 295/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +7.75 ==== ======== ==== 285/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== ==== ==== ==== ======== ==== 294/ ==== 2.1u ==== scale
==== +4.75 ==== ======== ==== 295/ ==== ==== ==== ==== No amitriptyline since 2nd. 3rd lids still extended.
==== +8.50 ==== ======== ==== 263/ ==== 2.0u ==== ====

3/9
==== +8.00 ==== 06:30 AM ==== 198/ ==== 1.6u ==== ==== At scale. ========SICK========No improvement or changes
==== +4.50 ==== ======== ==== 46/ ==== ==== ==== ==== ==== Started 1/8 tab 800 mg AUGMENTIN ABX BID (100 mg amoxi w/ 15.6 mg clavulanic acid)
==== +7.00 ==== ======== ==== 90/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== ======== ==== 101/ ==== ==== ==== ==== Briefly went outside
==== +8.50 ==== ======== ==== 119/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 10.25 ==== ======== ==== 278/ ==== 1.8u ==== 0.2< 0.2< b/c on ABX, & need to be able to dose again B4 bed

3/10
==== 13.25 ==== 06:00 AM ==== 284/ ==== 2.0u ==== scale ABX ========SICK========No improvement or changes
==== +5.25 ==== ======== ==== 152/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== ======== ==== 157/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +8.00 ==== ======== ==== 137/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +8.75 ==== ======== ==== 165/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +9.00 ==== ======== ==== ====== ==== 0.8u ==== 0.4< 0.4< scale so I can dose again tonight
==== +2.25 ==== ======== ==== 234/ ==== ==== ==== ==== Restart +12 sched. ABX + 2.5 mg AMITRIPTYLINE b/c I eliminated it as cause his 3rd lids showing

3/11
==== 17.25 ==== 08:15 AM ==== 339/ ==== 2.1u ==== scale Fur shot! ===SICK====No improvement or changes. See note below & eliminate from analysis. ABX
==== Note ==== ======== ==== 341/ ==== ==== 1.7u ==== 0.4< 0.4< so can shoot tonight. BG indicates 100% fur shot so +21.25
==== +6.50 ======== ==== 271/ ==== 2.0u ==== ==== Shot early to get onto +12 schedule. ABX. AMYTRIPTYLINE

3/12
==== 12.00 08:00 AM ==== 370/ ==== 2.2u ==== scale ABX; maybe looks slightly better this am?
==== +5.50 ======== ==== 70/ ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +9.00 ======== ==== 67/ ==== ==== ==== ==== 3rd lids ½-way across eyes, lying by heater, grumpy, clingy
==== 10.25 ======== ==== 87/ ==== ==== ==== ==== Stopping AMITRIPTYLINE again b/c suddenly looks worse—
==== 12.00 ======== ==== 159 ==== ==== 1.2u ==== scale Maybe 10 days off wasn’t enough. See urine test results below.


3/13 +7.00 ==== 08:00 AM ==== 311/ ==== 2.1u ==== ==== ABX Daylight savings starts. ==3rd lids unchanged===
==== +5.00 ==== ======== ==== 283/ ==== ==== ==== weird
==== +6.00 ==== ======== ==== 298/ ==== 0.9u ==== ==== Less than 1/2 dose b/c I think in my AM daze I drew 2F earlier instead of converting for U100 syringe
==== +4.00 ==== ======== ==== 320/ ==== ==== ==== Walked to house w/ me.
==== +7.00 ==== ======== ==== 289/ ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX ==3rd lids unchanged==

3/14 11.00 ==== 08:00 AM ==== 256/ ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX ==3rd lids unchanged==
==== +4.50 ==== ======== ==== 153/ ==== ==== ==== OMG :banghead: last strip! I ran out of strips! Doh!
==== 12.50 ==== ======== ==== 346/ ==== 2.1u ==== ==== ABX ==3rd lids unchanged== found 2 strips for backup meter. Trying teramycin ointment in eyes

3/15 12.00 ==== 08:30 AM ==== ======== ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX; blind shot =3rd lids unchanged= teramycin ointment in case it’s eye infection
==== 12.00 ==== ======== ==== 360/ ==== 2.2u ==== ==== ABX; shot .2 higher b/c AM BGs higher than PM. terramycin

3/16 12.00 ==== 08:30 PM ==== ======== ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX ===3rd lids unchanged== teramycine
==== 12.00 ==== ======== ==== ======== ==== 2.2u ==== ==== ABX ===3rd lids unchanged== teramycine did nothing, but worth trying

3/17 12.25==== 08:15 AM ==== ======== ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX ===3rd lids unchanged==
==== 12.00 ==== ======== ==== ======== ==== 2.2u ==== ==== ABX ===3rd lids unchanged== teramycine did nothing, but worth trying
==== 12.25 ==== ==== === ==== 2.0u ==== ==== ABX ===3rd lids unchanged==
==== 12.25 ==== ==== === ==== 2.2u ====

3/18 +12.0 ==== 0800 ==== === ==== 2.0u ==== Out of strips. Blind shooting.
==== +8.75 ==== 1700 ==== 275/ 15.3 ==== ==== ====
==== +11.5 ==== 1945==== 29816.6/ ==== 2.1u ====

3/19 +10.5 ==== 1815 ==== 301/ ==== ==== ====
==== +12.0 ==== 0800 ==== 300/ ==== 2.1u ==== ABX (Augmentin).
==== +1.00 ==== 0900 ==== 251/ ==== ==== ==== Shivering/trembling, clingy, sensitive, hissing at me.
==== +2.50 ==== 1030 ==== 282/ ==== ==== ==== Fever 102.9.
==== +4.50 ==== 1230 ==== 260/ ==== ==== ==== Shivering, etc. stopped w/ in an hour
==== +9.00 ==== 1700 ==== 266/ ==== ==== ==== Stopped ABX in case it’s an allergic reaction.
==== +13.0 ==== 2100 ==== 314/ ==== 2.3u ====

3/20 +10.5 ==== 2150 ==== 321/ ==== 2.1u ==== No fever
==== +14.5 ==== 2200 ==== 389/ ==== 2.6u ==== from here on experimenting with .2 to .6 fat over scale to get his numbers down.

3/21 +9.50 ==== 0730 ==== 304/ ==== 2.3u ====
==== +6.50 ==== 1400 ==== 128/ ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== 1500 ==== 160/ ==== 1.2u ====
==== +3.25 ==== 1815 ==== 342/ ==== ==== ====
==== +8.00 ==== 2300 ==== 358/ ==== 2.2u ==== this and further injections will be .6u over scale except for duration adjustments

3/22 +7.00 ==== 0600 ==== 362/ ==== 2.2u ====
==== +7.00 ==== 1330 ==== 296/ ==== 2.1u ====
==== +8.00 ==== 2130 ==== 370/ ==== 2.2u ====

3/23 +7.25 ==== 0545 ==== 293/ ==== 2.1u ====
==== +8.50 ==== 1415 ==== 357/ ==== 2.2u ====
==== +4.75 ==== 1845 ==== 273/ ==== ==== ====
==== +7.75 ==== 2200 ==== 198/ ==== 1.8u ====

3/24 +8.00 ==== 0600 ==== 358/ ==== 2.2u ====
==== +5.25 ==== 1115 ==== 333/ ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== 1330 ==== 376/ ==== 2.4u ====
==== +8.25 ==== 2145 ==== 277/ ==== 2.2u ====

3/25 +8.50 ==== 0615 ==== 397/ ==== 2.4u ==== Peeing on carpet again.
==== +5.75 ==== 1200 ==== 265/ ==== ==== ====
==== +7.75 ==== 1400 ==== 316/ ==== 2.5u ==== from here on all doses will be .4u over scale except for duration adjustments
==== +8.50 ==== 2230 ==== 378 ==== 2.6u ====

3/26 +8.50 ==== 0620 ==== 361 ==== 2.6u ====
==== +4.50 ==== 1110 ==== 259 ==== ==== ====
==== +4.50 ==== 1110==== 251 ==== ==== ====
==== +8.25 ==== 1445 ==== 249 ==== 2.3u ====
==== +7.75 ==== 2230 ==== 289 ==== 2.4u ====

3/27 +8.25 ==== 0645 ==== 336 ==== 2.6u ====
==== +8.00 ==== 1445 ==== 315 ==== 2.6u ====
==== +7.25 ==== 2200 ==== 238 ==== 2.4u ====

3/28 +9.50 ==== 0730 ==== 470 ==== 2.8u====
==== +6.00 ==== 1330 ==== 189 ==== ==== ====
==== +7.00 ==== 1430 ==== 186 ==== 1.9u ====
==== +3.50 ==== 1800 ==== 315 ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== 2200 ==== 317 ==== 2.7u ====

3/29 +8.00 ==== 0600 ==== 301 ==== 2.7u ====
==== +6.50 ==== 1230 ==== 280 ==== ==== ====
==== +8.25 ==== 1415 ==== 302 ==== 2.2u ==== Fell asleep

3/30 16.25 ==== 0630 ==== 396 ==== 3.0u ====
==== +4.50 ==== 1100 ==== 293 ==== ==== ====
==== +7.50 ==== 1400 ==== 293 ==== 2.7u ====
==== +5.00 ==== 1900 ==== 291 ==== ==== ====
==== +8.00 ==== 2200 ==== 299 ==== 2.7u ====

03/31 +8.00 ==== 0600 ==== 312 ==== 3.1 ====1 full unit over scale- and it works. Saw vet. They don't know what's wrong. Looking at BG & record & thinking on it
==== +5.25 ==== 1115 ==== 109 ==== ==== ==== 3rd lids still visible, still sit in front of heater. Leukocytes in urine, but no nitrite. pH good. Blood in urine on strip
==== +7.00 ==== 1300 ==== 100 ==== ==== ==== glucose only in urine when BG is out of control. Blood always present. 3rd lids always visible.
==== +8.25 ==== 1415 ==== 108 ==== ==== ====
==== +9.00 ==== 1500 ==== 113 ==== ==== ====
==== 10.00 ==== 1600 ==== 105 ==== ==== ====
==== 12.75 ==== 1845 ==== 156 ==== 2.2u ==== 1 full unit over scale. Vomited entire contents of stomach in 3 deep yacks. No hair/not hairball.

4/1
==== 12.75 ==== 0700 ==== 177/ 9.8 ==== 2.4u ==== 1.0> 1unit over scale. New scale in progress for +12 dosing. Vomited after eating again. Not hairball. Emailed vet.
==== +3.50 ==== 1030 ==== 264/ 14.7 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +4.75 ==== 1145 ==== 267/ 14.8 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +9.00 ==== 1800 ==== 348/ 19.3 ==== 3.6u ==== 1.4> 1.4u over old scale. 0.4u over scale in progress
==== ==== ==== 2100 ==== ======== ==== ==== ==== ==== Vomited after eating

4/2
==== +13.0 ==== 0500 ==== 325/ 18.1 ==== 3.6u ==== 1.4> 1.4u over old scale. 0.4u over new scale in progress.
==== +3.50 ==== 0830 ==== 208/ 11.6 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +4.75 ==== 0945 ==== 121/ 6.70 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +6.00 ==== 1100 ==== 99/ 5.40 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +8.50 ==== 1330 ==== 96/ 5.20 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +10.0 ==== 1400 ==== 97/ 5.20 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== 12.25 ==== 1745 ==== 145/ 8.10 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +13.0 ==== 1800 ==== 157/ 8.70 ==== 2.6u ==== 1.4> 1.4u over old scale. 0.4u over scale in progress
==== +2.50 ==== 2030 ==== 248/ 13.8 ==== ==== ==== ====

4/3
==== +10.0 ==== 0400 ==== 352/ 19.6 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +13.5 ==== 0740 ==== 485/ 26.9 ==== 4.0u ==== ==== Working on new scale. Stopped tracking units over old one.
==== +3.50 ==== 1100 ==== 233/ 12.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +7.00 ==== 1430 ==== 181/ 10.1 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +9.50 ==== 1700 ==== 239/ 13.3 ==== ==== ==== ====
==== +12.0 ==== 1930 ==== 302/ 16.8 ==== 3.8u ==== ==== Working on new scale. Stopped tracking units over old one

4/4
+10.5 ==== 0600 ==== 101/ 5.6 ==== ==== ==== ==== Lots of food left in bowl. Wants lambs’ lung treats though
+12.5 ==== 0800 ==== 95/ 5.3 ==== ==== ==== ====
+12.5 ==== 0800 ==== 91/ 5.0 ==== ==== ==== ====
+13.5 ==== 0900 ==== 87/ 4.7 ==== ==== ==== ==== WTH? How can it still be going down after 13.5 hours?
+15.0 ==== 1030 ==== 133/ 7.4 ==== ==== ==== ====
+16.5 ==== 1200 ==== 161/ 8.9 ==== 3.0u ==== ====
+6.00 ==== 1800 ==== 276/15.3 ==== ==== ==== ====
+8.00 ==== 2000 ==== 362/20.1 ==== 3.0u ==== 0.4< 0.4u below scale in progress because shooting 4 hrs early

4/5
+11.0 ==== 0715 ==== 142/ 7.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
12.25 ==== 0815 ==== 183/10.2 ==== 3.0u ==== ==== maybe could go up a touch more. Nice results from the 3.8u on 302/16.8 on the 3rd.
+3.00 ==== 1115 ==== 179/ 9.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
+5.25 ==== 1330 ==== 117/ 6.5 ==== ==== ==== ====
+10.0 ==== 1815 ==== 140/ 7.8 ==== ==== ==== ====
+11.0 ==== 1915 ==== 172/ 9.6 ==== 3.0u ==== ====

4/6
+12.0 ==== 0700 ==== 142/ 7.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
+12.5 ==== 0750 ==== 138/ 7.7 ==== ==== ==== ====
+13.0 ==== 0800 ==== 156/ 8.7 ==== 2.8u ==== ==== a little low
+4.25 ==== 1215 ==== 183/10.2 ==== ==== ==== ====
+7.00 ==== 1500 ==== 205/11.4 ==== ==== ==== ====
+10.0 ==== 1800 ==== 286/15.9 ==== ==== ==== ====
+11.0 ==== 1900 ==== 331/18.4 ==== 3.6u ==== ==== this seems to be working overnight but I need to wake-up sometime during the night to check it

4/7
+12.5 ==== 0730 ==== 151/ 8.6 ==== 3.0u ==== ==== Nice-- but as soon as he goes on a medication or gets well all these numbers will change anyway. Nice for now.
 
Thanks Venita

The numbers do look better the last few days and it would appear by the lack of comments that he's feeling a bit better? Are the third eyelids still showing? How is hydration?

Jen
 
Thank you very much for posting for me, Venita! And thank you everyone else for your ideas and support.

Ironically, Charlie's numbers have improved not because he's feeling better, but because I've increased his insulin to about 3 times what used to work for him. His 3rd lids always show now, and he's always in front of the heater and always looks like crap. I just got tired or logging the same thing over and over, so now I just right it down if he looks better than normal, or especially worse. He's a sick cat.

He saw a new vet Tuesday morning. So far I like her a lot better than the others, but we've only seen her once. He's on Clavamox, then 2 weeks of doxycycline in case it's Leptospirosa which I'm in prime habitat for. Everything here is wet all the time, and there is wildlife, and plenty of mice and standing water you have to slog through just to get in the door. Sucks, but the dry season should be here soon.

Thanks to Charlie's guardian angel, we're going to get some commercial food to try for a while to see if that helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top