? Possible Increase, Please Help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Summers Mom

Member Since 2017
Summer started out on .5 units 2x dy with lantus on TR protocol. She stayed on .5 units for 7 days. I increased her dose to .75 units 2 x day. She has been on .75 for 7 days with no changes as i can tell. Do you think its ready to increase again up to 1 unit?
 
Once you're past the first week (which is when the depot is becoming established), if nadirs are mostly above 200, you increase the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. From the TR sticky note:

GENERAL GUIDELINES:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
In other words, you're good to increase Summer's dose to 1.0u.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top