Possible Hypo not sure my cats BG is 66 at 12:30pm insulin was given at 7:30am

Just retested after I fed her some high card dry food about 20 min after BG is now 79
Please tell me what is her feeding schedule. What are you feeding and when? Are you giving mini meals at +2 and +4? I am sire we have talked about this before. Look at today. She was just in an absolute free fall from her AMPS.
 
She had already earned a reduction down to .5 units on the 23rd which was not taken and again today. Please reduce her dose to .5 units at her next shot.
 
Just retested after I fed her some high card dry food about 20 min after BG is now 79
Since you are using a ReliOn meter, a 66 is a perfectly safe (and good) BG number (although below the SLGS target nadir and has earned a reduction.) No high carb food should have been given.

I am sorry I didn’t see this until just now now so you didn’t have any help when you were unsure what to do! It’s all okay so don’t worry about it. We don’t use high carb food unless kitty drops below 50 with a human meter. All you needed to do was to feed a little low carb wet food and retest in 30 minutes if you were nervous. Also, she was already at +5 in the cycle so it wasn’t really early in the cycle when there would have been more reason for concern. These lower numbers are new so I completely understand!

Just so you know for the future: When you really are managing low numbers then dry food is not the best choice. Dry takes longer to raise BG and it will mean you have to keep monitoring for a longer period of time. It was okay today because there really wasn’t any low number to worry about, but if you have a number under 50 then you should give one teaspoon of HC food and retest in 20 minutes. Then you keep repeating this until the numbers are rising. As the numbers rise you can extend the time between tests. You have to feed small amounts because that is all you need to raise BG and you need to keep the kitty hungry because you may need to keep feeding small amounts of HC for several hours if the numbers are really low. If you feed too much Bella will get full and you won’t be able to give the snacks to manage the BG (you will have to put karo on her gums.)
 
Since you are using a ReliOn meter, a 66 is a perfectly safe (and good) BG number (although below the SLGS target nadir and has earned a reduction.) No high carb food should have been given.

I am sorry I didn’t see this until just now now so you didn’t have any help when you were unsure what to do! It’s all okay so don’t worry about it. We don’t use high carb food unless kitty drops below 50 with a human meter. All you needed to do was to feed a little low carb wet food and retest in 30 minutes if you were nervous. Also, she was already at +5 in the cycle so it wasn’t really early in the cycle when there would have been more reason for concern. These lower numbers are new so I completely understand!

Just so you know for the future: When you really are managing low numbers then dry food is not the best choice. Dry takes longer to raise BG and it will mean you have to keep monitoring for a longer period of time. It was okay today because there really wasn’t any low number to worry about, but if you have a number under 50 then you should give one teaspoon of HC food and retest in 20 minutes. Then you keep repeating this until the numbers are rising. As the numbers rise you can extend the time between tests. You have to feed small amounts because that is all you need to raise BG and you need to keep the kitty hungry because you may need to keep feeding small amounts of HC for several hours if the numbers are really low. If you feed too much Bella will get full and you won’t be able to give the snacks to manage the BG (you will have to put karo on her gums.)
Ok thank you this is really helpful. I will lower her dose to .50 and see how she does. That makes sense about the high carb food, still very new to this and couldn't remember what I was supposed to do in the moment at the time and just wanted to feed her to get her numbers up. I will make sure to keep this information somewhere
 
Please tell me what is her feeding schedule. What are you feeding and when? Are you giving mini meals at +2 and +4? I am sire we have talked about this before. Look at today. She was just in an absolute free fall from her AMPS.
right now I am trying to get her off of her high carb kidney prescription food she is on, so I have mixed it with young agains zero mature dry food and do half and half for now to get her body used to it

I let her eat her dry food at insulin times and then I only have wet food out for her through the day until it is an insulin time again. She will not eat enough wet food for insulin if I only have that out.

She is extremely picky and is a grazer. Often times I have to bring the food to her if I want her to eat at a specific time. She won't eat a ton at a time. I try to give her a tiki cat stick which she loves or a purr pop chicken treat through the day as a snack as well. She just grazes when she wants to on her wet food
 
right now I am trying to get her off of her high carb kidney prescription food she is on, so I have mixed it with young agains zero mature dry food and do half and half for now to get her body used to it

I let her eat her dry food at insulin times and then I only have wet food out for her through the day until it is an insulin time again. She will not eat enough wet food for insulin if I only have that out.

She is extremely picky and is a grazer. Often times I have to bring the food to her if I want her to eat at a specific time. She won't eat a ton at a time. I try to give her a tiki cat stick which she loves or a purr pop chicken treat through the day as a snack as well. She just grazes when she wants to on her wet food
my only worry about doing a high protein diet is I have heard it is not great for her kidneys and she has had high kidney values in the past
 
Back
Top