? Possible Hypo Episode?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ida01

Member Since 2021
Helllo, I hope everyone is doing okay. I've been feeling a little confuse since switching meters from AT to the ReliON Prime because of the difference in the numbers. Right now my cats BG is at 79 after 3.5 hours after the insulin shot, is that a good sign or should I be worried that he's going to have an hypo episode? I have to run a few errands and I'm worried he's going to be alone without any supervision. I gave him a snack with his usual food along with some pumpkin since he's been a little constipated these last few weeks just in case his sugar goes too low. What should I do? All I know is that the human meters tend to show lower numbers than the AT.
 
79 is a safe number on a human meter, but with insulins like Vetsulin you typically want to keep them above 90, at least until you know your cat. That’s pretty early in the cycle for a number like that, but that being said Vetsulin can wear off quickly in some cats. I could always count on my cats BG to start heading up after about +5 when she was on Vetsulin. I would be sure to recheck his BG before you go out.
 
79 is a safe number on a human meter, but with insulins like Vetsulin you typically want to keep them above 90, at least until you know your cat. That’s pretty early in the cycle for a number like that, but that being said Vetsulin can wear off quickly in some cats. I could always count on my cats BG to start heading up after about +5 when she was on Vetsulin. I would be sure to recheck his BG before you go out.

Thanks for answering! I followed your advice about checking his insulin before leaving home and he was almost hypo with 52 so I gave him some high carb kibbles along with his wet food and had to leave him alone after that, I checked his numbers as soon as I arrived and luckily he is in 145 so he is definitely in safer numbers now.
 
Great to hear! Definitely recommended reducing his dose by 0.25 units tonight. Can you update your signature with your new meter? The 52 is a little less scary with a human meter than an AT lol
 
Great to hear! Definitely recommended reducing his dose by 0.25 units tonight. Can you update your signature with your new meter? The 52 is a little less scary with a human meter than an AT lol

Lol, thanks for mentioning it, I didn't noticed! It's updated now (:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top