? Possible bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

carmen830

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone, I’m doing Tigger’s curve today and although he started with a much better AMPS then he’s had in a while, it seems as though his numbers aren’t going down after his AMPS. Tomorrow will be one week that he’s on 2.5u so is it possible that he’s bouncing? I also did a urine check and his glucose was much lower than his previous two tests, and no keytones.
 
Yes, he's bouncing. You're fine to increase because his nadirs are still above 200. However, if you see the numbers start to drop later, wait until you know he's done breaking his bounce, ie numbers start to go back up, before increasing 0.25u.
 
Yes, he's bouncing. You're fine to increase because his nadirs are still above 200. However, if you see the numbers start to drop later, wait until you know he's done breaking his bounce, ie numbers start to go back up, before increasing 0.25u.
If he is bouncing, doesn’t that mean that he is dropping to low numbers and his body is reacting by shooting up his numbers? Wouldn’t that mean that the current dose of insulin is too high for him? I’m still learning about all of this with FD so your input is really appreciated, as well as anyone else that responds. Thanks.
 
If he is bouncing, doesn’t that mean that he is dropping to low numbers and his body is reacting by shooting up his numbers? Wouldn’t that mean that the current dose of insulin is too high for him? I’m still learning about all of this with FD so your input is really appreciated, as well as anyone else that responds. Thanks.
No. He's reacting to the yellow numbers because he's used to reds and blacks at this time. Once he learns it's okay to be in yellows, then he will probably bounce if he sees blues. The longer they can be in blues and greens, the pancreas get more healing time.
 
No. He's reacting to the yellow numbers because he's used to reds and blacks at this time. Once he learns it's okay to be in yellows, then he will probably bounce if he sees blues. The longer they can be in blues and greens, the pancreas get more healing time.
Ok thanks
 
His next check is in two hours which is when he is due for his PM shot. He has been testing in the mid to high 400s all day. That is not normal for him. At this point I don’t know if I should keep him at the 2.5 dose another few days or increase to 2.75 starting tomorrow.
 
In line with slgs guidelines, I think k I would take the increase to 2.75,.

Taken from slgs sticky

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top