? Possible 911? BG at 69 (AlphaTrak)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara L

Member Since 2016
*cross posting to Lantus and Main Health Forum*

Hi guys,

Just checked Diego and he's at 69 - he had approximately 1/2 unit insulin this morning. AMPS 128, +2 81, +4 69 (just now). I'm going to stay home and continue to test him, but if he goes below 68, but not much lower, do I need to treat that as hypo immediately? Or if he hangs out in the 60's, can I just continue to test to make sure he doesn't go lower, and starts to go back up?

He's been much lower the past few days, thinking he's got a shot at remission, don't want to mess that up with Karo syrup, also didn't want to mess it up by totally skipping shots, so was doing reduced dose (normally at 128 AMPS, he can handle a full unit, no issue, will stay level). On Saturday, he got into the 70's and hung out there for several hours, so I'm hoping he's not planning on going lower, but I want to know how low before I need to act.

Spreadsheet in signature - please scroll down - I just created it yesterday and am slowly trying to backfill the earlier data - January 1 through now is complete if you scroll to those dates.

Thanks!
Tara, Diego (and his brother, Bosco)
 
Hi Tara. I would give Diego a bit of low carb food right now (1tsp or so) and then retest him in about 20 minutes. I'm going to look at Spreadsheet right now and will be back in a few minutes.
 
Looks like you might have a kitty on a mission. You don't want to let him go below 68 on your meter however he might still be dropping so what you are going to have to do is steer him and try to keep him surfing rather than dipping. Do you have any high carb food with gravy and or karo syrup on hand for use should he keep dropping?
 
Just retested him - he's up to 73mg - big sigh of relief! I'll keep testing though to be sure. I have low carb canned, but even low carbs spike him, so those will likely do, and I think one remaining can of the high carb stuff from when he had surgery last August. Karo is out on the counter too - full hypo "kit" out on the stove at the moment in case I need to grab it quickly.

Thank you for the fast response!
 
So is yours! I love all kitties but there is something special about the black ones especially their eyes! :cat:
Sounds like you are very well prepared and good job catching that low number! :D. Looks like he may be surfing which is wonderful. That 73 is however essentially the same reading as the 69. Did you feed him anything or was that all on his own? I'd test again in 30 minutes or so to see what he's up to as the nadir does move and he could still drop for another few hours. I mentioned the gravy food because if they start dropping fast, it has lots of carbs in the gravy alone which doesn't fill them up too much so it's easier to keep the numbers manageable.

ETA I will be around so will keep an eye out in case you need any further assistance.:)
 
Re: black cats - I agree! :)

He is now up to 83mg :) :) Think I can consider this out of the woods or not yet?

I do have Wellness with gravy here if he goes low :)
 
I think he's probably Ok but I'd test again in a hour and make sure. Looks like he's heading up now but you never know with these guys! :)
 
Definitely true! Will do! Since I do have to leave him during the day the rest of this week, thinking maybe just shoot at night if he's lower and monitor overnight/skip shot in AM since I won't be home to test? That's given he doesn't go back to his higher AMPS numbers :)
 
Oh he may very well be a little higher tonight but don't let that sway you. Technically he was only one point away from earning a 0.25u reduction today if you are following TR and way below the 90 reduction point for SLGS so I'd reduce tonight to 0.25u and get some readings tonight as possible. Then tomorrow depending on his AMPS you can decide what you want to do or post on the Lantus board to get some opinions. You need to do what you are comfortable with and I fully understand the worry of not being home but Lantus does work better if consistently dosed twice daily and skipping a dose may set you back a bit.
 
Unfortunately, the syringes I have are so tiny, I can barely tell if I'm using a half dose correctly (kind of eyeballing it based on the plunger). I can try to eyeball 0.25 but without being home, I may just not risk it. Even if I had the syringes that would show it correctly, I think I'd be so worried not being home that I'll be jumping all over the place at the office :)

Every time he gets close to a chance at remission, something comes up! He went low over the holidays too, but they had to skip some shots since they couldn't test overnight. But not this low! Double digits are a new thing for him :) Here's hoping I won't set him back too much and that this possibly holds.
 
Oh you'll get back on track soon enough. I understand completely. It is so hard to be away and not know what's going on with them. You have to do what you are most comfortable with. :)
 
I'm so glad you understand :) I am a helicopter kitty mom, so if I don't know if he's ok, I can't concentrate on anything else! :) Just retested, came up at 78mg so I think he's kind of surfing in that range.
 
Love the surfing and oh boy do I understand the helicopter Mom stuff! Better to be a helicopter than not concerned enough. You will get back on track. It might be a good idea though to see if you can get some syringes with half unit markings because it sounds like you just have full unit markings only on yours. You still have to eyeball 1/4 units but it's much easier to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top