So, I haven't been successful yet with a curve. Still. He's on 2 units Vestulin, the few times I did test, preshot was high 470...at one point I got a +3 and it had dropped to 442. Another day I had a preshot of 465 and was able to get a +7 of 167.
He had a bad UTI last month- they did an antibiotic shot -this was like 4 weeks ago. Vet wanted it to clear before during the fructosamine. Today we got the results -fructosamine is 771 (there are some wonky numbers on kidneys BUN too that I'm sure he will address, maybe beginning of kidney disease). I am trying to do a workaround to get a coupon (I"m diabetic myself) for a Freestyle 14 and hope that I finally will be able to get continued monitor/curve this week on him.
I'm just so confused- vet hasn't called me back (I picked up copy of labs earlier and he was busy with clients-was to call me back but haven't heard yet). At this point is he likely to have me increase to 3 units or more? Is it possible that increasing won't regulate him? Can it make him bounce too much -in other words, is it possible that MORE insulin (he's 11 lbs btw)- will actually cause his numbers to go higher or not really? I'm going to ask about switching insulins too- just not sure what is a good idea and if there are coupons (in the US) for anything else, is Levemir or Lantus better? Is having the freestyle on him going to be the answer in your experience? Hopefully with that I can update his chart w/the numbers from it.
He had a bad UTI last month- they did an antibiotic shot -this was like 4 weeks ago. Vet wanted it to clear before during the fructosamine. Today we got the results -fructosamine is 771 (there are some wonky numbers on kidneys BUN too that I'm sure he will address, maybe beginning of kidney disease). I am trying to do a workaround to get a coupon (I"m diabetic myself) for a Freestyle 14 and hope that I finally will be able to get continued monitor/curve this week on him.
I'm just so confused- vet hasn't called me back (I picked up copy of labs earlier and he was busy with clients-was to call me back but haven't heard yet). At this point is he likely to have me increase to 3 units or more? Is it possible that increasing won't regulate him? Can it make him bounce too much -in other words, is it possible that MORE insulin (he's 11 lbs btw)- will actually cause his numbers to go higher or not really? I'm going to ask about switching insulins too- just not sure what is a good idea and if there are coupons (in the US) for anything else, is Levemir or Lantus better? Is having the freestyle on him going to be the answer in your experience? Hopefully with that I can update his chart w/the numbers from it.