Poorly regulated Fructosamine

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnetteC

Member Since 2021
So, I haven't been successful yet with a curve. Still. He's on 2 units Vestulin, the few times I did test, preshot was high 470...at one point I got a +3 and it had dropped to 442. Another day I had a preshot of 465 and was able to get a +7 of 167.

He had a bad UTI last month- they did an antibiotic shot -this was like 4 weeks ago. Vet wanted it to clear before during the fructosamine. Today we got the results -fructosamine is 771 (there are some wonky numbers on kidneys BUN too that I'm sure he will address, maybe beginning of kidney disease). I am trying to do a workaround to get a coupon (I"m diabetic myself) for a Freestyle 14 and hope that I finally will be able to get continued monitor/curve this week on him.

I'm just so confused- vet hasn't called me back (I picked up copy of labs earlier and he was busy with clients-was to call me back but haven't heard yet). At this point is he likely to have me increase to 3 units or more? Is it possible that increasing won't regulate him? Can it make him bounce too much -in other words, is it possible that MORE insulin (he's 11 lbs btw)- will actually cause his numbers to go higher or not really? I'm going to ask about switching insulins too- just not sure what is a good idea and if there are coupons (in the US) for anything else, is Levemir or Lantus better? Is having the freestyle on him going to be the answer in your experience? Hopefully with that I can update his chart w/the numbers from it.
 
At this point is he likely to have me increase to 3 units or more? Is it possible that increasing won't regulate him? Can it make him bounce too much -in other words, is it possible that MORE insulin (he's 11 lbs btw)- will actually cause his numbers to go higher or not really?

In one word, yes. We only recommend dose increases in .25 unit increments. Going from 2 to 3 is too much.

I'm going to ask about switching insulins too- just not sure what is a good idea and if there are coupons (in the US) for anything else, is Levemir or Lantus better?

They are both excellent insulin's. Most of the people here use Lantus so there's tons of experienced caretakers to help you. If none of the coupons will work, you can buy it from Canada for a lot less than it is in the US. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/buying-insulin-from-canada.203498/

Is having the freestyle on him going to be the answer in your experience? Hopefully with that I can update his chart w/the numbers from it.

It will certainly help since we really can't give much in the way of helpful advice without knowing how he's responding to treatment. It will also take some of the pressure off you and when you relax, you may have much better luck with regular blood glucose testing. Even with the Libre, there are times you will need to test with a meter
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top