Poopy's weird BG saga

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
WTH???

PMPS 354, shot 1.8

AMPS 195. Fed a small shrimp as treat and will wait to test again in 20 minutes.

~scratching head
 
221 so shot 1.6 (would have shot 1.2 in the past). Last night's 354 I would have shot a 1.6 but did 1.8.

Not sure if I'm going to take him to the vet today or not as his eye seems clearer (no goop, very little dried crud). Will keep an eye on him and his BGs and roll with whatever.

~Sigh
 
I think you have to consider you are sort of starting anew because of the couple of skipped shots. So your amps continues to look nice - let's see what the day brings. I hope good numbers!
 
Mid-morning Poopy had more goop in his eye. Just returned from vet visit.

First, Poopy wasn't quite Mr. Grumpy Growls-A-Lot, but more like his brother Dr. Jekyl/Mr. Hide. While Dr. Jekyl, he preened and chatted with those who looked upon him or talked with him, hands reaching for him were suddenly greeted with Mr. Hide. The same phenomenon happened in the exam room. Everything was great for Dr. Jekyl while on the floor, but the moment he was placed on the table he was Mr. Hide. The vet and I agreed he remembers the table and being held down. I really like this vet. He said if anyone didn't think pets were smart never owned one. I agree!

The vet, bless his heart, was the same one we saw Saturday and made the comment, "Oh yes, I remember you. Don't worry, I won't touch you" and proceeded to exam from a just short of biting range distance. And, yes, Poopy batted at him a few times (thank goodness he doesn't have his claws ~ long story) and threatened to bite. When I scolded Poopy for being so unfriendly, you could see the look on his face - not liking being scolded - and he settled down enough for me to pet him to hold him still so the vet could check out his eye. The vet commented on the look (said later he thought it was funny). I agree!

The vet asked if I was sure I couldn't do the drops...I am convinced, even though I am Momma and Poop loves me dearly, he doesn't love me that much! I asked about ointment and it was a win! Woohoo!

So now I have ointment (Neomycin and Polymyxin) I need to put in his eye 3-4 times a day (this is going to be fun! Not! But a heck of a lot better option than drops!) and a Lysine supplement to add to his food. The vet thinks it's Feline Herpes bothering Poopy's eye, even though only one eye being effected is strange. If it's a simple irritant, the ointment will still help.

Also chatted about Poopy's BGs, my no shot for two cycles and what the results could mean, and the Fructoscimin (sp) test. Since we traveled last week, we're going to put off the test until he has been in his normal environment for a couple weeks as the vet wants to get his "normal" numbers. Sounds reasonable to me. The vet also said...and get this...if I can keep Poopy mostly in the 200s, even if the numbers don't dip down during the cycle, he considers Poopy to be regulated. Thoughts?
 
The vet also said...and get this...if I can keep Poopy mostly in the 200s, even if the numbers don't dip down during the cycle, he considers Poopy to be regulated. Thoughts?


This is from the FAQ:
Q6.1. What is regulation?

A6.1. There are different definitions of regulation. As hometesting becomes more common, we've been getting a better understanding of what cats and their humans might be capable of. Janet & Fitzgerald propose the following "regulation continuum":
Not treated [blood glucose typically above 300 mg/dl (16.7 mmol/L), poor clinical signs]
Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]

I'd say your vet's definition and "ours" are pretty much the same. Except we specify a "dip" in the middle, (but also allow for higher PS numbers.) IIRC, the "renal threshold" is usually stated as 250? Flat and low yellows would be good.

Carl
 
It sounds like keeping Poopy below 250, regardless of where on the cycle, seems to be the goal then if I can't get him to dip. Will keep adjusting his dose and testing to see what we can do. :smile:

Thanks, Carl!
 
Started ointment in eye yesterday afternoon, so he's had three treatments so far. He's not happy about it, since I sneak it in during his lovings. Gotta do what I gotta do! :lol: Not as much dried crud in eye this morning but he usually shows the goop about mid-morning so we shall see. Only 6 more days of treatments to go. :smile:

PMPS was 152, 169, 214 and shot 1.6, knowing it was heavy handed and left plenty of food available until 2 1/2 hours before AMPS. Poopy didn't hide away as much last night, and actually sat in my lap for over a half hour (Poopy is not a lap cat! He much prefers the grab and go method of getting his lovings, and perching nearby to keep an eye on us). What was really amazing...I had on shorts. Poopy has an aversion to bare skin! If DH picks him up without a shirt on, Poopy will push all four of his paws against DH with the look on his face of "Oh, that is soooo gross! Bare skin! Yuck!" and tries to squirm away. I always have to cover my lap if I want Poopy to perch for his testing. (But what is really strange, Poopy will perch in my arms, like a toddler, against my bare skin for a shower. Weird cat!)

At bedtime, Poopy laid on my chest for a good 10 minutes, a bit longer than usual. Overnight, they ate all but about 1/4 of a 13 oz. can.

Litter box action is good, smallish urine puddles, decent poop size. (What a weird discussion! HA!)

AMPS 313, which I believe shows a bounce. Shot 1.4 to see if I can get him back leveled out. Will get a test in during nadir. Hoping PMPS is in 200s and can try to keep him level from there.

In the past, I've been shooting 1.4 usually. Plan on future shooting 1.6 to see if I can get him lower on an even level, without bouncing. May need to split the difference and do 1.5.
 
Oh, dear, I miss a lot when I don't come over here every day!

I hope the ointments work and Poopy gets back to seeing well and clear again.

Happy for the better quality time you've been getting with him.
 
The best laid plans....was away from home until short time ago and forgot to pick up food when I left so no mid-cycle test. :YMSIGH: I can be so blonde at times! :lol:
 
(But what is really strange, Poopy will perch in my arms, like a toddler, against my bare skin for a shower. Weird cat!)

Poopy will take a shower???? Holy moly. If I tried to give either of mine a shower, I'd have no skin left, even if I were wearing a suit of armor when I turned on the water!

Carl
 
Yes, my weird cat will take showers. Don't even try to give him a bath though. You'll come up missing a few limbs.

When Poopy was a kitten, my son would take him in the shower with him to help keep him "aroma" free (remember the origins of Poopy's name "Lil ****" partly due to the litter box aroma. Even Poopy wouldn't stick around long enough to cover the stuff. Often, bits would cling....).

The trick is to hold him like a toddler (which is how he prefers to be held). You can almost hear his thoughts, "If the beans can do this, then so can I!"

Just don't let the spray hit his face and you can bathe him until the sun goes down. :-D I'd offer a photo but that's not gonna happen! :lol:
 
That's so cool that he likes showers and water. My other cat loves water too. He has even jumped into the shower with me on occasion, just to play and drink the water. I have a bird bath outside and in the summer we see him dipping his paw in the water and drinking it. Last summer, my daughters had a little play pool outside and were in it and my cat came over and jumped inside it. He didn't stay long that day. But does seem like he is drawn to the water. Never had a cat that liked the water as much as him. Strange huh. Funny how every cat has their own personality. Sounds like Poopy is a really fun cat to be around.

lori
 
All cats are just down right cool. Each has their own personality, likes and dislikes.

Had one cat who trained herself to use the toilet instead of the box, had another who would dip her tail into the bath water while watching you bathe...with the occasional lick on your arm when wet. Mom had a cat we called Psycho Kitty as she'd purr and rub against your leg but when you reached to pet her she'd try to remove your hand. My son had a cat who would lay back into the crevice of the coach, like it was an easy chair (all you needed to do was place the remote and beer bottle to get a great pic) to watch my son play video games.

So many great personalities can be found in cats. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top