Poopy's dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
I originally posted this in Health and thought I'd better post the dosing part here since it mainly covers changing Poopy's dose this morning.

"AMPS was 358. Not a great number but will see what the +6 shows with the new strips as I did add a bit of insulin to his morning shot and am home to watch Poopy. With the U40 syringe, I used the plunger rubber ring as a guide. I've always given Poopy 1u with the plunger rubber lined up at the bottom of the line. This morning the plunger rubber was clear of the line by one plunger rubber width (less than 1.25u, but darn close to 1.2u as I measure 5 rubber rings before I hit the same spot at the 2u as I do with the 1u). I figure this is safe due to the the PMPS from last night also being in the 300s (and Poopy still always wanting more food even with water consumption down). As always, feedback is welcome. :smile: "
 
I think this sounds like a good plan, Teresa. You can mark the place where you are gauging 1.2 with fingernail polish or a permanent maker or tape on a syringe. Then when you fill up a new syringe, put it next to the one you marked to see that you are shooting close to the same amount each time.

At some point, you may want to get some U100 syringes so you can measure smaller increments. PZI U40 users can use U100 syringes by using a conversion chart: http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
 
Yes, great idea on the marking! Will do that with next syringe if I stay at that dose. Going to be testing poopy at +6 in about 10 minutes so will know more.

If I continue to play with Poopy's dose I will definitely get the u100 syringes. Thanks! :smile:
 
Tested at noon (+6) at 271...but know Poopy ate the remaining 2 tsp of the morning food at 11:00 (+5) so it could be higher due to the food. I know he ate it because he mrowled at me to come watch him eat it. Will see what the PMPS is without any food prior and after both cats have chowed I'll remove any leftovers. *sigh* Always something to learn.
 
Patience. I am sure you have read this journey is a marathon, not a sprint. His body has to adjust to a dose change. This process is all about gathering data; try not to worry about any one number. You and Poopy are doing great!
 
Went ahead and tested at +9 and new strip was 263, old strip 243. Seems to run 10-20 less on old strips than new (will continue to test new and old when droplet is large enough). Will watch for trends and will not increase dose beyond 1.2u for a week unless numbers consistent in 300s. (Kind of a note for myself to remain on a marathon and not sprint, as well as gain any insight from those more experienced. :smile: )

Perhaps I ought to be getting a BG at the +4 at night right before I head to bed?
 
PMPS 268 (w/old strip 254). Will continue the 1.2u after he eats and try to get a +4 before heading to bed tonight. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top