Poopmiester's weird BGs and question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
The last two evenings I've been bothered by Poopy's rather unusually high PMPSs. While tonight's was back to normal, I've also been scratching my head over the mid-cycle numbers. I decided to try to lower his dose a bit (from 1.4 to 1.2) to see if that was the problem. Other than the unusual PMPSs, Poopy has been more into hiding between cycles than usual, too.

Tonight, I noticed a milky white substance on Poopy's left eye with some dried discharge in the corner. We'll be off to see the vet tomorrow and I can almost bet that's what has had Poopy a bit off. Wonder what on earth he got into. Silly kitty.
 
Re: Poopmiester 6/28

Now this is strange...Poopy's eyes are clear this morning with no discharge. Also, I didn't have to find him for testing. To top it off, 1.2 last night led to 276 AMPS. Gave 1.2 again and will check mid-cycle since slept through alarm for last night's cycle.
 
Re: Poopmiester 6/28

Boy, do we know the “he’s a cat” thing well here! :lol: :lol:
Glad the Poop man is better and hope it stays that way!
 
Re: Poopmiester 6/28

Poopy and Mia cleaned out their bowl in an hour flat, with Poopy asking for more. Went ahead and opened a 5.5 oz. can. Poopy ate half of it!

The last few days they'd been leaving a bit in each bowl, so this is unusual. I think it's a good thing he's eating so well. :smile:
 
Re: Poopmiester 6/28

+6 278, and I know for sure there's no food on board as I removed it 2 1/2 hours ago. If the PMPS is higher, I'll take that to mean the 1.2 wasn't enough. If the PMPS is in the usual range...should I take it 1.2 is too much? That's what I'm thinking.

Thoughts?
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Hi Teresa,

I see two cycles that I have zero clue about -
When you skipped on the 16th AM, and he was lower that night at PMPS.
When you skipped on the 21st and he barely rose at all by PMPS.
Oh, a third one...when you skipped on the 11th, and the next moring he hadn't come up at all in 24 hours?

Then you gave him 1.4 yesterday, and it didn't do anything.

This makes no sense. It's like whether you give him a shot or not, he doesn't care...

Obviously, he seems to need juice, because his numbers are still in the 200s. But he doesn't seem to react some days even without insulin. Color me confused!
Carl
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Thanks, Carl. Guess I need to do a full curve to get a better picture of what could be happening.

Here's a recap of the No shots numbers:

5/29 PMPS 272 1.6 no AM shot PMPS 5/30 292
6/5 AMPS 267 1.6 no PM shot AMPS 6/6 232
6/11 AMPS 285 1.6 no PM shot AMPS 6/12 264
6/16 AMPS 318 no shot due to travel and not eating PMPS 296 (we had traveled all day and were settled into motel room)
6/21 AMPS 313 no shot due to traveling and not eating PMPS 325 (we had also just returned home after a day of travel)
6/22 AMPS 269 1.4 no PM shot AMPS 6/23 270

Another thought: Could the insulin be causing the higher numbers, as in bounces? Would it be worth a shot to not give any insulin for a day to see what Poopy's numbers really are?

Scratching my head here, too. :?
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

It could be causing the high numbers, but you've done mid-cycle tests where it appears that he hasn't gone low. Perhaps he's going low before or after the +6, but there's no sure way to know. A curve could help. And you can try the "no juice" for a day and see what happens. I think I saw a note where one day you switched to a new vial, then went back to the old one? (could be another SS, I've looked at too many today! :smile: ). If so, are you still emptying the old one?

Carl
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

He's probably acting strange and throwing you crazy numbers cuz he saw a tombstone w/ his name on it!!! :o YIKES!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

LOL, I think Lu might be on to something. I know if somebody told me they'd picked out my tombstone, I'd spend most of the day looking over my shoulder or trying to find somebody to taste test my meals. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

I did start the new vial and when it didn't make a difference I finished out the old vial then went to the new. We're about half way through the new vial.

I showed Poopy the headstone the day I bought it. He gave his lick and purr of approval, with the understanding I wouldn't use it until he was ready. :lol:

The crud in his left eye is back. Looks like a vet visit is in the cards after all. Poopy is going to be thrilled....not. :shock:

I'll do a curve tomorrow. One more thing for Poopy to be thrilled over. :o
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Hey Teresa. Soory the poopster is acting up again and not feeling so well. Maybe he has an allergy thing? Copper gets the eye crud when he hangs out under our beds, etc where all the dust is that i havent gotten lately with the vacumm. You said he was hiding out more, maybe he got into some something like that? Just a thought.

Hope he is doing better soon!!!

lori
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

AMPS 262 1.6u

After much thought, with the eye thing going on and the upcoming vet visit, figured today is NOT a good day to try the no juice thing. A curve may not be the greatest idea either, but if I can get Poopy into the vet early enough and he has time to calm down by +4 or +5 I can still do the curve. We will see what happenes about getting into the vet today and go from there. :smile:
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Hope you were able to get him in and have the eye checked out. I know some of my guys get gooky eyes when they have crud in their ears. That's when I break out the Q-tips, the ear drops (if they have already had their Revolution), and (as Jenn calls it) they have a "Spa day"! Not the most well-received events, but I'm sure it's not fun to have the stuff in their eyes either. Mine vehemently oppose the eye drops, but with a little duct tape... :o :lol: :lol: (a second set of hands is always very helpful when doing drops!)

Good luck!
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Unbelievably horrid trip to vet. :cry:

The hour wait was not bad and Poopy was very well behaved until the last few minutes when a crate of 5 kittens came in. Poopy decided to show them who was boss and was Mr. Grumpy Growls-A-Lot. I figured the wait in the exam room would give him time to calm down, and it did to a degree, until the vet came in. Not his usual vet was but knowledgeable about feline diabetes! Huge plus!

Gave the vet the normal warning about Poopy being a momma's boy but not liking others handling him, and that he will bite when provoked. Vet wasn't phased, another huge plus! I held Poopy down so the vet could get a drop in Poopy's eye to check out what was causing the goop. It took two tries with the stinker.

Poopy not only peed all over himself, the table, and the floor, but also me. What fun. Cat urine is the bestest perfume in town! Not. :oops: I've never seen Poopy so angry. He growled and hissed at me, the big mean momma, and even tried to bite me a number of times. Had to hold him down again so the vet could check into his eye to see what was going on and Poop was having none of it. Boy can that cat scream! You'd have thought we were killing him! Another round of cat urine, please. :shock:

At least the vet got a good enough look to see there was no abscess but that was about it. Doc asked me about putting drops into Poopy's eyes. I answered truthfully - I can give him shots and even poke him for BGs, but drops in his eyes? Are you kidding me? There's no way Poopy will allow me to do so. Even if I'd thought I could, today convinced me otherwise. :shock:

We decided to do the wait and see game. If Poopy is still producing goop by Monday, another trip to the vet. With it being only the one eye producing goop, the vet says it's got to be external as internal would effect both eyes. Hopefully, whatever was causing the irritation was flushed with the drops. Keeping fingers crossed!

I chatted with the vet about Poopy's current readings and of the vet doing the fructosamin (sp) test. I told him of my intended curve today and we both laughed. Neither of us believe Poopy will stand for it today, and will probably give higher readings. Tomorrow is soon enough. ~Sigh~ Will still get a +6 reading since gave a bit higher dose this morning.
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

... and you thought I was kidding about the duct tape!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Duct tape out and told Poopy what I'd do with it if he tries being Mr. Grumpy Growls-A-Lot with me again.



(Not Poopy but same attitude)

Poopy is now under the bed, glaring at me. :lol:
 

Attachments

  • Rooooaaaar.jpg
    Rooooaaaar.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 936
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Lo and behold! The Poopmiester makes nice!

He came to me to snuggle for a bit (I think he was more interested to check out the damage he did - Ha! Soap and water does wonders!) and I took the opportunity to get a BG. At +5 292, and about 2 hours after returning from vet. He may have eaten a bit about two hours ago, when we returned, so may be a bit vet and food related. If I can get him to willingly come for another test in a couple hours, I know it will be food free. :smile:

Oh! And he's liking his shrimp bits (out of chicken breast)! Me ow!
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Here's the scoop on the unexpected (hey...he was willing, might as well run with it) mini curve:

AMPS 262 1.6u
+5 292 (may have still had food on board and only two hours since returned from vet)
+6 254 (no food on board other than shrimp bits from +5)
+7 306 (no food on board other than shrimp bits from +6) fed

Keeping in mind the possible 20% variance, there's no change in BG levels.

I am really tempted to do the no juice thing for a couple of cycles, if for nothing else than to rule out liver dumping to deal with insulin shots (not bouncing) and to gauge where he's really at BG wise.
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Teresa, if you have to put something in Poopy's eye, I always had better luck with my civvie who gets one eye with crud sometimes, to use the antibiotic ointment rather than the drops.
Sounds like Poopy showed everyone who the boss was today.
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Ointment may be the way I have to go. Won't be as bad as trying to do drops, true. Still won't be much fun, given what it's like to place a small dot of Vaseline on his nose, but well worth the try.

Thanks for the suggestion! :-D
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Thankfully, Henry is not too bad to give eye drops to since he gets them 2-3 times a day for Glaucoma. He doesn't like it by any means but sits still once I catch him.
My civvie, the Ragdoll, is a holy terror to try to give any medicine to including eye drops. He won't let me get mats out of him hardly when he has his spring molt.
He can twist himself into a pretzel and escape. He doesn't live up to his image as a Ragdoll that just flops over and acts docile :lol:
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Hate the poopster was giving you a hard time at vet. My other cat is VERY vocal at the vet and acts like a very mean cat. Really he is very lovey dovey all the time unless he is at vet's office. I always dred bringing him in for a visit. Got to get his shots this week coming. UGH. I'm sure the vet is saying, "oh not that cat again." He was just in there for ruputured anal gland and he wasn't a happy cat then.

Hope he settles down a bit for you now. Looks like his numbers show his stress today.
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Tonight I did not give Poopy his normal shot and plan on not giving him his shot in the morning. I will monitor his BGs tomorrow to see what effect the no insulin is having on him. I expect his BGs will either rise or stay the same. Either way will tell me he's not been getting enough insulin (rises) or it's not been working as it should (stays the same) and I can move forward from there.

On another note, Poopy was quick to fill DH in on his adventure today and how mean momma bean was at the vet's. DH didn't side with the Poopster so he picked on Mia (his civvie playmate), chased the dogs, and is now resting under the bed. Poor mistreated baby. :lol:

As far as the vet, I have to hand it to him. My old vet wouldn't examine Poopy without sedating him (something I wasn't thrilled with but had been going to that vet's office for years). This vet just took it in stride. :-D
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

True to past performance, Poopy's AMPS was 272, lower than his PMPS and without a shot. Can't wait to see the mid-cycle BGs.
 
Re: Poopmiester's weird BGs

Recap of yesterday AM cycle:

AMPS 262 1.6u
+5 292 (may have still had food on board and only two hours since returned from vet)
+6 254 (no food on board other than shrimp bits from +5)
+7 306 (no food on board other than shrimp bits from +6) fed

Today's AM cycle (and not having any insulin yesterday PM and today AM):

AMPS 272
+5 282
+6 292
+7 318

Given the 20% variance, Poopy's BGs seem unaffected by insulin. Anyone have any suggestions? Seriously up the dose? Talk with vet about switching to one of the Ls?

I was really hoping, after not having two shots and plenty of time for the insulin to be out of his system, his BGs would go up, showing he just wasn't getting enough. nailbite_smile
 
Wow. Ask the vet about both options... the L's and the "bam" dose. There isn't any prozinc lingering after that long without a shot...and no big deal to the Poopster. That's just weird.
One other observation on the vet visit...
Isn't it amazing that you can try to catch pee on a dipstick for days, and they'll avoid you and the LB like the plague? And then go to the vet, and suddenly their bladders produce gallons? :lol:
Carl
 
Awww man. If even Carl isn't sure of the next move I'm going to have to rely on the vet. While both vet's in the office seem to know a lot about feline diabetes, I'm not confident this is up their alley. Will find out tomorrow. :smile:

In the meantime, I'll give Poop a "normal" dose for tonight. Would hate for him to continue for too long without insulin...even if it isn't doing much for him.

And, yeah, considering how shy Poop is about doing any litter box action with me nearby, much less watching, he sure was quick to grace me at the vet's!
 
I think upping the dose is at least worth a try. One interpretation could be that he is not getting enough so the dose is not doing much more than no insulin would. Your numbers are not awful Teresa; I'd ask the vet about an increase.
 
I'm thinking of giving him 1.8 tonight. A bit more than he's been getting but hopefully not enough to send him diving down.

I'll chat with the vet tomorrow about insulin and dose since I'm still seeing dried crud forming in the corner of Poopy's eye, but no goop in the eye. Weirdness. But, hey, that's my cat for ya! :lol:
 
Sorrya bout the vet visit
They can be so much fun!
Glad he did not have to get sedated
one of my vets used to do that...I no longer use him
Good luck with the raise, I hope it works for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top