Pooper's Glucose

  • Thread starter Thread starter rbrumbaugh82
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rbrumbaugh82

Okay so this morning I took his glucose at 9am by allowing him to eat an hour prior to taking his BG. The results are in and his glucose was 138! He has been on a streak now of a day without any use of insulin! When his number does go up, eating is helping to get his glucose to go back down. So is that a sign that his pancreas may be waking up now whenever he eats to help keep his levels down to healthy range?
 
Absolutely!
Go Pooper! If he manages 14 days with no insulin, he'll be officially Off The Juice.
 
I am really hoping it continues. I know if it spikes to above 200, I will just let him eat and then test it an hour later to see if it drops well under 200. Its amazing how much his BG can drop just by eating. I don't think it was doing that just a month ago, so maybe now his pancreas is starting to heal!
 
Yep, that's how it started for Hank.

I noticed that food would bring down the numbers too. Take a look at Hanks SS. Look at the days before he started his treck toward OTJ.

Look familiar?

It sounds like his pancreas is definitely waking up.

Good job Ryan!

Keep tracking!

Kimmie
 
Giving a token dose if he is over 150 mg/dL - 0.25 to 0.5 units - may help support his pancreas healing a bit faster, too, if you're home to monitor.
 
Hey guys, what is your opinion to Blue Buffalo Wilderness Chicken formula to feed my cats?
 
I haven't heard from Sue in a while. I hope she is doing fine!
 
Is it wet or dry?

I read on here once that someone had a vet friend that was telling her clients to get off of Blue Mountain. Can't remember what it was about. Maybe someone could help me out.

Check to see if it's on the food chart if it is wet food. What is the carbs then?

Kimmie
 
Yea I am feeding Nutrisca dry cat food sold only at Krogers from what I know. It says its a low glycemic dry cat food with the glycemic index at 10. I have that as free feeding along with feeding them Fancy Feast Classic varieties minus the seafood brand. My boy's glucose was 235 this morning which upset me because he has been doing so well the last 2 days so I gave him more wet food along with .25-.5 unit of insulin so will check it in 2 hours to see where it is since I gave it to him around 9am.
 
Low glycemic grain free doesn't always mean low carb. I looked at the ingredients and chicken meal and turkey meal seem to be the 2nd/3rd ingredient. That doesn't usually translate into low carb. It makes such a difference - recently a ProZinc user went from dry to wet. The numbers dropped from 200 nadirs to a scary 46 in one day.

If he were mine, and he would eat wet low carb, I'd feed him that only. You can leave it out to free feed or use an automatic feeder to feed him at scheduled times. The sooner you can get him below the renal threshold consistently, the better chance you have to get him into remission.
 
Well he has been staying below the renal threshold the last 2 days. Hes been in the 100s the past 2 days but this morning he was 235. I am going to check it soon and see where he is at.
 
Well is any of the Blue Buffalo Wilderness good then or Wellness dry food? I am feeding wet cat food mostly but they don't gobble it all up and leave alot in the bowls throughout the day and come and eat when they feel like it. Tired of trying so many foods. So basically just feed FF right now the classic kind.
 
I guess I am looking at my glucose for Poopers all wrong because compared to Kimmie's cat SS, he has a lot of numbers below 100 and yet I am thinking anything in the 100s is awesome. lol Not compared to numbers below 100 for Hank(Kimmie's cat).
 
As long as they are getting enough food, grazing on it all day is very good for his pancreas. FF classics are a great choice. The only ones I have heard that are okay low carb dry are Evo and Young again. You might search the forum for discussions on dry low carb. I feed FF wet so have no experience (except with Science Diet Dry which I think gave Oliver diabetes in the first place:()
 
Hank went OTJ. He is the perfect example of dry vs wet. She tried every kind of dry low carb but until she got him converted to wet, his numbers stayed higher. If you check the last couple of weeks on her ss, she had to start shooting small doses at lower preshots and chase numbers to catch him before rising. It's a time intensive process. You have to test and be around when they start to rise.

That ultimate range is 40-120 so the 100s are the higher range of what you are looking for, without insulin. Think of the process as a moving target. First you are trying for regulated (under 250 preshots, 100s or lower for nadir). Pooper's there. Then you try for tighter - 180-200 preshots and above 45 nadir, watching carefully for hypo numbers. Then you start chasing and your shot target can go down to 160 or so AS LONG as you can monitor. With those kind of preshots, you are shooting drops.
 
As to your question for the Blue Buffalo wilderness......Dry.....DEFINITELY not! I'm almost positive this is what pushed Hidey over the edge to become diabetic. I even had him on the weight control and that did no help.

Blue Buffalo canned, from what I recall too high but don't remember the %
 
Yeah, I am feeding Nutrisca dry cat food sold at Kroger's. It appears to be a low glycemic cat food without potatoes or any unwanted carbs. The glycemic index on this cat food appears to be around 10. Today just hasn't been a good day for my poopers. After having 2 days without any insulin, today he has been in the low 200s today. Numbers shown! His lowest point today so far was 163. Don't understand why all of a sudden his pancreas wants to take a break again.
 
I can't get my laptop to paste from Dr. Lisa's website but she says this:

"chicken meal is technically muscle meat.... but the meal denotes that it has been cooked for a long time at high temperatures.

She feels that any food with meal as ingredients is most likely high carb.

I'd get him back on wet, low carb dry and give a little insulin as long as he runs in the 200s. Remember the pancreas isn't suddenly back. It's an on/off deal until it is full healed.
 
Yea I know but it was nice seeing him be in the 100s for 2 days without any use of insulin. :) With the dry cat food debate, I didn't realize "meal" formula was high in carbs. I figured anything deboned or meal related would be healthy and fine to feed. I think Wellness uses deboned chicken and turkey. The ONLY low carb dry cat food I have not tried yet is Evo. I tried Young Again and none of my cats ate any of it. They would go over and sniff it and then walk away. I think I had one eat like 1 or 2 kibbles and that was it.
 
I am feeding wet cat food as well. Fancy Feast Chopped Grilled classic along with every other classic kind except for the seafood and fish kind.
 
His glucose is getting very frustrating for me. I wake up to test his glucose with AMPS of 241!!! I do not know why his pancreas wants to take a crap on me right now when just a few days ago he was doing so well staying in the mid 100s but now he wants to be in the low to mid 200s. A few days ago he wasn't eating all the time but his BG was testing in the 100s but now when he isn't eating much they want to stay in the 200s. I guess I thought he was getting better but not so sure right now given he is hitting the 200s all over again. :(
 
Okay I may got a little more than I bargained for. I gave him 1 unit of insulin at 9am this morning due to his 241 number. +3 hours later it is 59! Should I be worried? I know on the chart that is really good as long as it stays above 50. However, I am going to have to leave here shortly and won't be home until after 5pm so I won't be able to test him. :(
 
I won't be here for the 4 1/2 hour test. I have to leave in 10 mins. Just incredible how he can go from 241 to 59 in 3 hours. I know he was probably eating wet food during the 3 hours too
 
Leave out food. Ask a neighbor to check on him?
Looks like Mr. P joined the party. The inconsistency of the pancreas at this stage in the game makes dosing hard.
 
Yeah it is hard. I will check it when I get home in an hour and a half or so. Food was left out. I wish mr. P would stay alive all the time so I wouldn't have to give insulin.
 
+6 hours later since its the earliest I could do since being gone his BG is 166. I will feed him and then check it again an hour later!
 
+2 hours and its 181. Put the wet food in front of him and he ate some. Will test an hour from now.
 
People say going into remission is the second hardest part of this dance, after those first few days when you are learning so fast.

One thing you could consider is to be a little more aggressive when you will be around (like at night). So, if you get a 181 and it's sure rising, give .5 and see what it does. When you are going to be gone, maybe be more cautious. Definitely today one unit was too much for the 200+.
 
+2 hours later and its 137. So hoping the eating helped his pancreas work to bring it down.
 
Yeah just freaked me out with the 241 because he hasn't been that high for a good while. Then the 59 was a freaking out because he hasn't been that low from what I can tell. Anyone other time he was around 200 and I would give him 1 unit of insulin he glucose after +3 hours the lowest I seen was 95.
 
Hi Ryan,

So Pooper' s keeping you on your toes!

I had Hank on Wysong Epigen dry food for a short time but just as a transition food. I ordered it online. Hank loved it! It's low carb but nobody seems to know how low. It was recommended to me by someone on this forum.

As soon as I got Hank eating wet food, I stopped feeding him the dry. Wet is best.

I usually put a couple of tablespoons of warm water on the wet food so that it doesn't' t dry out if they don't eat it all. I call it "cat food soup". Hank loves it!

As for the higher pre shot numbers and the 59, that's the Novolin. It wears off early and can drop real fast sometimes before a +4.

I agree with Sue about just all wet diet and no dry. Hank' s numbers started going down more after taking the dry away.

Hang in there. :)

Kimmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top