? Pooper's glucose need advice

  • Thread starter Thread starter rbrumbaugh82
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

rbrumbaugh82

Am I doing something right? Pooper's went down to 72. This is at +3 since I last tested him at 223. I gave him his usual dose. I just fed him food but he seems perkier. Just hope this could be the start of something good but then again he was in the blues the other day before going way up.
 
nice! It's the 3rd consecutive cycle on this dose, so I would say this is the dose doing its job. Since you're following SLGS, that also means Poopers has earned a dose reduction for going under 90.

Since +3 is early in the cycle and the insulin might just be starting to kick in, I would feed him something and retest in 30 minutes to be sure he isn't still dropping. Since he has already earned his reduction you can feed a higher carb wet food to try to get him bumped up a bit.
 
He went to 69 30 mins after I tested him and he ate. However, this morning he was in the low 300s. Same dose again.
 
He went to 69 30 mins after I tested him and he ate. However, this morning he was in the low 300s. Same dose again.

Keep in mind that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (the lowest point in the cycle), and is generally not based on the pre-shot values. As Libby said, with the SLGS protocol since Pooper fell below 90 on this dose, he has earned a .25U reduction.

If you did shoot a non-reduced dose today, please keep a close eye on Pooper's BGs...he proved that he can get pretty low on that 5.5U!
 
I will DEF make note of that tonight. So I will give him 5.25 units then.
 
Nice to see Poopers get some green numbers for you! :D For future reference though, you really can't leave a cat for the night who's dropped that quickly over the first 2-3 hours of a cycle and then continues to drop. Chances are that they'll go under 50 if they're unmonitored and then you're risking a hypo. The late nights do get tiring, but people will stay with you and keep you going and offer advice if he does keep dropping - you'll be told when to retest and when it's safe to leave him. The 300 this morning could well be a bounce from him going into green last night and as he was still dropping at your last test, he might very well have gone even lower than the readings you got - he was probably an hour or so away from nadir when you got that 69 reading. And better to be tired in the morning than take a chance on a hypo, right?
 
this is good!

For your reference, here is the link to the Start Low Go Slow Approach.

The bounce (high numbers) you are seeing this morning is a normal reaction when they get into lower numbers than they are used to. That can last up to three days, especially for cats that are seeing low numbers for the first time. Shooting the higher dose (the 5.5) one last time when they are bouncing is fine. We call that "shooting through the bounce." I would not recommend shooting the higher dose more than one cycle. Reducing the dose when you shoot again tonight is the right idea.

If you want to do a little more reading, this sticky on the Insulin Depot might help shed some light too. Now that Pooper's numbers are starting to move, this might make more sense to you than it would have even a few days ago.

So, now we know Poopers doesn't need 5.5 units anymore, at least today. It's time to try the next lower dose (5.25) and see how that works. Sometimes reductions don't stick and we have to increase again, but due to the bouncing and the insulin depot you really do need to give it a few of days to see if the numbers will settle back down on their own with the lower dose. I think you have looked at Lucy's spreadsheet. You can see there that if you do have to increase again, it's still no big deal. Usually they will break through again, they just might need a couple of "practice runs" before they are ready to hold onto the reduction. Or some cats just fly down the dosing scale like crazy. Poopers might fall into that category, especially because his dose is a little on the higher side and because you worked up to it in large increments. We'll have to see. Keep testing! I'm glad you tested before bed last night. Otherwise you would have seen the preshot in the 300s this morning and you probably would have thought he stayed high all night.

I'll be out the rest of the day, but I'm glad Poopers showed you some good numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top