PMPS of 70 but full dose of Caninsulin injected

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes...
Do you have an idea of a satisfying BG to reach for now ?
You want a safe BG like 90 - 100. The 70 you got this evening was too low for a cat being treated with insulin. For now you need to keep feeding and testing. You want to see the BG start to rise. Then you can try not feeding then testing. If the BG stays level at a good number or rises without food, you can relax until the time for the next dose of insulin.
 
If he stays even around 70 for two hours without any food he will be safe. At this point he is still needing honey so thus may take awhile to happen.

When things settle down, perhaps tomorrow, it would be good to start a spreadsheet.
 
Yes I am, but fortunately you are here to tell me what to do ! I will go to work in 4 hours and something so it has to work now.
 
At + 8 (sorry, mistake just before) : BG = 82.8
He just ate 3 of his kibble as a reward.
What now please ?
 
Qt + 9 : BG = 68.4
With 3 kibbles as a reward one hour before.
Please tell me what to do now
 
Posted at the same time. I would give him more food because he's going down again. Test in a half hour if you can.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sif
His number went down but it technically is in the 20% variation that comes with human meters. But it's best to be safe and see 3 increasing numbers before saying it's safe to stop testing. It was mentioned 90-100 is a good number to see after a situation like this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sif
Is it possible to see a remission after just 2 weeks and a half of insulin + a control of the food portion ?
 
Might be best start a separate thread for this question...Or we could wait until emergency status is off. I do not know enough about remission. Some cats can be controlled with diet alone. Switching to wet food and controlled meals can keep a cat off insulin.
Have you posted how he became diabetic on the forum?
My cat was started with switching to only a low carb wet food and controlled feeding for about 3 weeks before going on insulin. Did you and your vet try this approach or go straight to insulin?
 
Last edited:
Is the emergency past now? If so can the OP please remove the "911" from the title. If the emergency still exists, leave it there for now but please remove it when the emergency has passed. Thx.:)
 
Is the emergency past now? If so can the OP please remove the "911" from the title. If the emergency still exists, leave it there for now but please remove it when the emergency has passed. Thx.:)
Not yet for the emergency... Or at least, the BG is not stable so I still need advices all the 30 min as I test my cat :(

At + 10 almost : BG = 72 but with food.
What should I do now please ? Food or not ?

@StephG : yes, we will see this in another threat :)
 
Last edited:
@Sif I'm familiar with the mg/dl but found a conversion chart online, that's around 72 mg/dl right?
How much food are you giving and is it still the dry kibble or low carb wet?
 
@Sif I'm familiar with the mg/dl but found a conversion chart online, that's around 72 mg/dl right?
How much food are you giving and is it still the dry kibble or low carb wet?
Yes sorry I corrected !
Dry kibble (20% carb), just 6-7 of each, each time, and they are small. Should I give him more of it ? Or those highly recommended by the vet but with 7% more of carb than the others ? In this situation it can be good to give them to my cat...
 
+8 82.8
+9 68.4 then I suggested a bit more food.
Waiting for next reading.
Keep testing and steering numbers.

The crystalline fraction of Caninsulin is at its peak right now. With numbers this low the crystalline insulin could potentially drop numbers further.

It is possible to see some carryover of BG lowering effect in Caninsulin so there is potentially a risk of this going on into the next cycle.

NB High preshot BGs after low nadirs like this can be tanked right back down again if even a small dose is given.

@Sif - I strongly recommend you speak to your vet again to discuss dosing before giving any more insulin. I worry that 1 unit may also be too high.



Mogs
.
 
You will see a bigger increase in numbers with the higher carb food.
You could try giving him double, like 14 pieces to see if he increases.
From what I read on cansulin on their stickies it seems like he should be running out of insulin very soon but with a large dose it could last longer than usual.
 
Keep testing and steering numbers.

The crystalline fraction of Caninsulin is at its peak right now. With numbers this low the crystalline insulin could potentially drop numbers further.

It is possible to see some carryover of BG lowering effect in Caninsulin so there is potentially a risk of this going on into the next cycle.

NB High preshot BGs after low nadirs like this can be tanked right back down again if even a small dose is given.

@Sif - If this were my cat I would speak to the vet to discuss dosing again before giving any more insulin. I worry that 1 unit may also be too high.


Mogs
.
Ok thank you. EDIT : for your last sentence : especially with the fact that the shot would have been done in one hour now...

@StephG : even if he is on the diet, I should double the quantity of food that I have to give him now ?
 
Ok thank you

@StephG : even if he is on the diet, I should double the quantity of food that I have to give him now ?
Just this time to steer his numbers. Not for every meal.
You gave him 6-7 pieces after his last reading. You could try increasing that number this time to see if it helps give him a boost.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sif
@Sif : Quel baptĂŞme du feu!


Diagnosed one week ago, first Home test, first hypo episode, first sugar dance in the same week!

Congratulations for the way you're handling the situation.

Given that you're awake for a long long time now, I would give to your cat the kibble recommended by your vet, with a lot of carbs. And I would also give more than 6 or 7.

Of course, I would also skip the shot of the morning, whatever the AM BG is.
 
Diagnosed one week ago, first Home test, first hypo episode, first sugar dance in the same week!

Congratulations for the way you're handling the situation.
That's also my fault, I did the shot with a low BG.... :(
 
It will happen... Don't be too hard on yourself. You're handling it like a boss!
I would skip the next insulin shot too and try to get readings in when you can do you can see how he reacts to his full meal and no insulin. (There are other factors that can influence the numbers after an event like this but I'll leave that to the pros to explain)
The caninsulin pros can help you more once they get online.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sif
Was his last reading of 72 mg/dl 10 or 11 hours after his shot? You said his shot was due in an hour when you replied to critter mom so that would mean his last reading was +11. Making it around 0830 when you got his reading of 72?
 
Was his last reading of 72 mg/dl 10 or 11 hours after his shot? You said his shot was due in an hour when you replied to critter mom so that would mean his last reading was +11. Making it around 0830 when you got his reading of 72?

+10. We were late when we did the last shot because I was wondering if I had to do it even if the BG was in the normal rate. Usually we do it at 8:45 am and 8:45 pm (Icelandic hours). So for me it was at 7:00 am.... and now it's 8:00 here.
 
Are you at home this morning? Or is there somebody else this morning who can watch your cat?
 
Have you tested again?
Please post his latest reading and how much food you gave him after his +10 reading.
 
At + 11 and something : BG = 68.

What should I do now ? Increase the portion of food or not ? Stop giving him food to see how it goes ?
 
And also : at this time (less 20 minutes) of the day, he's supposed to get 2/3 of his food for the morning. Should I do it like that ? (without the insulin 20 minutes after !)
 
I would feed him his normal amount of food that you would give on a normal day. Test after a half hour or an hour. Whichever works best for you.
Do NOT give insulin.
 
@Sif have you tested after his meal yet?
At + 12 and the half and after the normal meal : BG = 70 mmol/L

He begins to have a lack of space to test the blood and to be annoyed because of this long night of testing...

Next step please ?
 
He's only 70 an hour after you fed him 2/3 of his meal?
How much is 2/3 of his meal?
When do you usually give the other third of his meal?
Do not give insulin. I think you won't need it until at least his pm shot.
 
I know the situation with a irritated kitty with sore ears! You can use triple antibiotic ointment with pain relief on his ears to help him. I also put a bit of light pressure (light pinch between my index finger and thumb) on the test area after I get the sample to try to keep it from bruising.
You both have handled this very well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sif
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top