PMPS is 9.2 (a few minutes ago) Unsure if i should stall or shot.

Mariaana and Milo

Member Since 2021
My vet has advised me to not shoot if my kitty's Pre dose Readings are below 10.
His BGL has been quite high in recent days. What should i do? I have stalling right now.
Thanks for any advice!
 
Will you be able to monitor if you shoot?

With Lantus, you shoot low to stay low. Your SS doesn't say if you are following TR or SLGS. With TR, you shoot any number above 50 and with SLGS any number over 90.

We normally ask new members who don't have enough data on their cat not to shoot below 150. But the idea is that with time you gradually lower your no-shoot number.
 
Hi Bhooma! Thank you for responding, I did not give Milo his insulin but tested again 20 Min after
original test and it read 8.2 mmol/L so even lower,Fed him and will monitor.When should
i test agai to be sure he is not going any lower post his food
 
Hi Bhooma! Thank you for responding, I did not give Milo his insulin but tested again 20 Min after
original test and it read 8.2 mmol/L so even lower,Fed him and will monitor.When should
i test agai to be sure he is not going any lower post his food
Yes, without food they sometimes continue to drop when stalling.
Without the shot he will probably start going up at some point in the cycle. If you can get a test or two in, it would make sense to shoot.
 
Yes, without food they sometimes continue to drop when stalling.
Without the shot he will probably start going up at some point in the cycle. If you can get a test or two in, it would make sense to shoot.
He has finished all his food now, so when do you think i should retest again? Every 30 min? 15 min? So if his BGL goes up at what number is it safe to shoot then? (mmol/L) Also IF shooting his insulin "quite a bit later" this evening..how do i adjust his AMPS /Shooting Time/? Thanks.
 
He has finished all his food now, so when do you think i should retest again? Every 30 min? 15 min? So if his BGL goes up at what number is it safe to shoot then? (mmol/L) Also IF shooting his insulin "quite a bit later" this evening..how do i adjust his AMPS /Shooting Time/? Thanks.
You can shoot right away. How long is it since your usual shot time?

Get a test 2 hours after you shoot.
 
PMPS usual shooting time was at 22 :00 Hrs. Its now 23:18 hrs here. So 1 hr and 18 min late.
Ok...so his~ * BGL was 10.6 mmol/L at 23:15 Hrs * ~ and i shoot his usual dose of 1.5 Units of Lantus at
23:30 Hrs. *1 hr and 30 min later than normal* . Question: How do i adjust back to his regular AMPS/PMPS/ Times please? And i will do a +2 BGL for sure! Thanks for all your help!
 
How do i adjust back to his regular AMPS/PMPS/ Times please?
You can advance by 15 minutes every cycle. If you shoot at 23:30 tonight, shoot at 11:15am tomorrow morning and 11:pm tomorrow night and 10:45am the next morning and 10:30am the next night and so on.

Not sure why you waited so long to shoot :-)
 
Thanks again Bhooma, i guess that i have heard it so often from my vet that i should never
shoot if kitty's AMPS or PMPS are below 10...and i have followed his instructions a few times.
I'm still learning so much from all of you here on FDMB and the fb group. In my mind i am
really terrified of Milo having a Hypo Episode and so that makes me afraid of shooting at below 10 mmol/
if that makes sense.. I will do the 15 min increments in each cycle,thanks.
 
You are most welcome, Mariaana! :-)

The no shoot below 10mmol advice given by vets are for caregivers who do not test. As long as you can monitor and have enough strips and HC/MC food, you have the tools to keep Milo safe. Skipping doses leads to the Lantus depot getting disrupted and that could mean several cycles in higher numbers.

The normal numbers for cats are 2.8-5.5 mmol on a human meter. The more time Milo spends in these numbers the more his pancreas heal.
As long as you can monitor, I would urge you to shoot any number over 6 mmol!
 
Back
Top