PMPS IS 188, Stalling....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay. You've had some lovely blues and greens, and now it's dose time and Ninja is at 188. Good job on the stall. Just checking, you did stall without feeding, yes? If he's above 200, I'd be tempted to reduce his dose by at least .25, I think he's telling you he's ready for a lower dose. But post your post-stall number and let us go from there. There are several options.
 
Okay. You've had some lovely blues and greens, and now it's dose time and Ninja is at 188. Good job on the stall. Just checking, you did stall without feeding, yes? If he's above 200, I'd be tempted to reduce his dose by at least .25, I think he's telling you he's ready for a lower dose. But post your post-stall number and let us go from there. There are several options.
I have not fed him yet. We were trying a dose increase this weekend as after being on 1.5 for about a week the thought was we could get his numbers a bit lower. We started the 1.75 on Saturday.
 
Sometimes the bump in dose gives the pancreas a chance to continue healing. And one pre-test under 200 isn't necessarily a sign to reduce dose now, but it may be a sign to reduce dose for tonight and see where he is in the morning. Have you restested yet?
 
266 is great. Rising and plenty high enough to inject. I'm not a dosing expert, but with Prozinc, you don't have to worry about a depot, so that makes it simpler. If it were me, I'd err on the side of caution and go with 1.5. And I would try to get a test in at about +3 from injection and check on how he's doing.
 
Oh, and when you can, edit your title and take the 911 off, as he's not in danger right now, but it was fine for you to use it, as that got my attention.
 
Ok. I’ll do 1.5, but tomorrow I work all day and won’t be home to monitor him. Not sure if I should go the 1.75 in the morning. How do I remove the 911?
 
See what his number is in the morning. If it's in the 200s, you might want to go with the 1.5 again. Make sure you can leave him some food out while you are gone. Cats will naturally eat if they feel their blood sugar is going a little low. If his number is higher, it's a judgement call. Since you will be at work, 1.5 might be safer, on the other hand, he was doing well on the 1.75. I'd wait for his morning BGL and go from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top